We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Went with friends. Stayed here for two days. Totally value for money. Decent room with AC, microwave, water, shower, parking and wifi. Staff were very friendly. They recommended what all we should do while we were there. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RohitG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    72
    33
    10
    17
See reviews for
53
68
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

i was flying in nov 2 shortly after the storm sandy, there were flight problems in philadelphia so i never made it to the hotel i also knew there was no refund because of such a late date but the hotel tried to offer me a different night if i was there but i was taking a cruise and didn't have any other nights planned, but i thought it was fair of the hotel to try to make it work and since the price was not that expensive it made it easier to accept the loss, if i go back to puerto rico i will definitely look at booking at that hotel again

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mmm088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A comfortable, secure place to stay, with very friendly and helpful owners and staff. Secure parking is across the street. This is not a street where you expect to find a hotel, so pay attention to the address!

The wi-fi didn't work well in the bedroom, but it was fine in the kitchen/living room. It is completely different from staying in, for example, Condado. It is located a short walk from the main entrance to the University, and also is near the walking street with the mercado. And it is only two miles from the airport. There are lots of local transportation options.

The only downside for us was a lot of nightclub noise on Thursday night. But for any other night, a good choice if you want a different perspective on Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phototactician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good Value for Money..........very central location, restaurants and Walgreens nearby....not far from Las Plazas de Ameicas...Staff very helpful and the surroundings are safe....would stay there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelAex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The staff are very friendly and hotel was very clean. The area was a little off. If I was younger it would have been better. The area is very entertainment oriented with many clubs nearby that play music into the wee hours of the morning. Not great for sleep.

The nightly rate was very fair with trade offs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_Arcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After searching for a few weeks before we finalize our travel plans,which pricing of a hotel was paramount, we came down to three,in the last week before travelling the Dreams Hotel got the edge and we have no regrets.This hotel is clean,friendly staff and is surrounded by a walgreens, restaurants and bars to suit your every need. We (wifey and myself) visited Plaza Las Americas, Santa Rosa Mall, Plaza Carolina and visited Old San Juan by using the subways and buses. All of this was made possible by the precise and accurate directions from the owners and the very friendly staff employed there,in these tight economic times and PR is your choice of destination,this is the place to stay, i don't think our experience was a one off one,these folkes are genuine people,so if we were going back to PR tomorrow this is where we will stay again and again.

Room Tip: Our room was 206 and we had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As I mention in my first review of the problem that arose which made me look for a place to stay for my last days before heading back which with help I was able to stay at Dreams Hotel in Puerto Rico, this hotel was just right for the price. There were lots of places to see and shop within walking distance and there also was a university near by. Within walking distance from this hotel there a street that was filled with stores and even a farmers market where a person can buy stuff and souvineers to bring back home. There were restaurants like the ones in Connecticut, example; Burger King, Mcdonalds, Subway ect. The rooms were clean and the personal were friendly and helpful even the owners which I met on one of the days staying at the hotel. If I make plans to travel to Puerto Rico again I will definitly make arrangements to stay at Dreams Hotel.

Room Tip: Nice hotel to stay in for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funchuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.4 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#16 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
3.8 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Casa Condado Hotel
Casa Condado Hotel
#31 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#39 of 46 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico

Property: Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Address: 109 Ave Universidad | Paseo Jaime Benitez, San Juan 00925-2424, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem for the budget traveler. Centrally located in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Not in the touristic area.Very clean, comfortable and recently renovated rooms. Nearby Int'l Airport, University of Puerto Rico, Plaza las Americas Shopping Center, VA Hospital, Paseo de Diego, Piers. Old San Juan and Puerto Rico Convention are 4 miles away from us. Exceptionally warm, friendly and professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing