We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, best bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inaru Restaurant

Inaru Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 992 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Best Sangrias in old San Juan! The Soul of the Puertorican Cuisine. If you want to experience the true Puertorican Cuisine made from scratch with fresh ingredients, you cannot miss our Culinary offerings.We are practically new in the area We put our heart and soul in what we do so our guests can have a wonderful time in my island. Once you enter our Restaurant you will find history, our three races, which are the Taino "native indians", Spanish and the African. Thanks to this three races is where our food and history comes from. In each wall you will find a piece of Puerto Rico We welcome you to experience a piece and heart of our island in my Restaurant.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
“Great food, best bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Tonight we had a tender and juicy salmon. The Butifaras excellent. Inaru have a great bar and the bartender make you enjoy the drinks . Excellent place to have a great meal and have a good time

Helpful?
Thank Domingo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    115
    29
    18
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,886 reviews
1,143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
“Exceptional again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our group of 12 had made reservations here for dinner on the night before we left for the cruise. They setup a special area for us on the side, service was outstanding. The food was exceptional as always. 1 person in our group was a vegetarian they provided a special dish for him that was not on the menu. Everything could not have been better, the Monfongo is to die for, we will always have a special place in our hearts for this restaurant. It deserves a much higher ranking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wick1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best first stop in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

With our two friends we landed on Oct.31 from St. Thomas for our first visit in SJ. After a tour of Castillio, we were parched and hungry. I happened to notice it in all the busy areas and we were all impressed with the food, service and happy hour all day! Upscale for many of the places we dined at in our four days there, we really wanted to get back but did not. Quality local food and sourcing, the staff were very attentive yet not obvious. When you go to the Old Town, put it on the to do list.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TopSarge41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent drinks at affordable prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here during a quick day in San Juan for drinks. They have $5 drink specials (all day happy hour) that are really good. We tried a mango, papaya, and traditional sangria that were all generously poured and delicious. Service was quick and courteous. Highly recommended for their bar alone. However, we cannot comment on the food since we did not try anything.

Helpful?
Thank AndrewUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The one next door is too touristy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

DW and I have walked by Inaru many times of times and failed to give it a try for no good reason. It's always when we find Raices too full and the wait too long so we just keep on walking to our other favorite restaurants in Old San Juan.

Well, one night we finally went in and when we left we kept berating ourselves, why didn't we did this sooner?! Did we prefer to wait for a table at Raices over this?! That's the price we pay for being monsters of habit.

The first time we went in we just did tapas and drinks at the bar. The bartender is great as was the food. It was late for us already so we left promising to be back soon. We did one week later and took along two relatives with us. They are all self-appointed food critics, and brutal ones at that. If they don't like a place they curse it for eternity, never to return. Well, they liked it and they liked it a lot!

We each ordered different items, and everything was great. I'm not going into details of what we ordered since they change the menu on a weekly basis. But suffice to say that it is all very good Puerto Rican cooking, but not like the canned fare of next door. It is more like home style cooking than big batch restaurant fare.

Yes, it is a little pricier than Raices, but the food is far better and the place is more beautiful and doesn't feel like a tourist trap.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AoSPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inaru Restaurant also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Inaru Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing