We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”
Review of El Prado Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Prado Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Don't do it”
Reviewed August 24, 2005

We were in a room that was obviously a converted storage shed. It was far removed from the other rooms and did not seam secure. At night we felt like we were sleeping on the street it was so loud. When we complained, the manager said that “it was a Friday night thing". It wasn't. We checked out because no other rooms were available and agreed to pay a one night penalty. After we left El Prado charged our credit card $350 additional dollars. We, of course are disputing the charge and were dismayed when El Prado wrote a letter to our credit card company saying they offered us a free upgrade to another room. A total lie. I recommend that you don't stay where the policy has nothing to do with comfort and everything to do with sucking out all of your money.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    7
    4
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 9, 2005

We didn't like the hotel. The management itself held us up with the most mundane aspects of checking in and out, and gave us plenty of attitude. We were given a room where the a/c wasn't working. When we asked management about the a/c, we received attitude, as when we asked about the very loud noise from next door. When the power goes out, the back-up generator at the building next door fires up in with a huge, sustained noise. Nevertheless, the working staff of the hotel was friendly. At night, there were american college students partying in the hotel's little pool -- so bring your own beer & order a pizza. Lovely. I wish we would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2005

We just returned yesterday from our weeklong trip to Puerto Rico, where we spent our last four nights in San Juan at El Prado Inn. We are convinced that this wonderful little place and it's owners and employees are the main reasons that our stay in San Juan was such an amazing experience. The Inn is located on the edge of a lovely park, just a block or two off of the main Condado strip. If you are a beach person, the beach is a quick and easy walk. Nearby are many wonderful restaurants, nifty shops (some quite upscale), and easy access to the busline. Also nearby is La Placita de Santurce, which quickly became our favorite spot to eat, drink, and party with the locals. The room was spacious, bright, and nicely decorated, and we just loved the mosaic frame around the mirror in the all-blue bathroom. The room also had a very comfortable bed, a safe, a large ceiling fan, a TV, and an air conditioner. If you need anything else, and I mean just about anything, the people at the hotel are happy to provide you with it--beach towels for the pool, a styrofoam cooler, a corkscrew, etc. Every morning, there was a very good breakfast with local fresh fruit, cereal, pastry, toast, and coffee, which was included in the price of the hotel (it cost us a very reasonable $105/night.) The pool was charming, clean, and refreshing, with gorgeous tropical plants surrounding it. The very best aspect of this hotel was the people. Everyone was so helpful with lots of information about places to go and things to do. They were so friendly and kind, and were happy to answer any questions we had. We learned a great deal about the language and culture of Puerto Rico while visiting with the owners and staff. They took time with us, and they are a large part of why we fell so much in love with this beautiful island.

Helpful?
8 Thank MNKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2005

My friend and I stayed at El Prado for 3 nights in room #0--yes 0. I thought the hotel and our room in particular were beautiful. The room was large, with 2 double beds, and opened through two pretty double doors onto a large patio with cute furniture and styled iron bars. I think in part the reason we loved El Prado is because we had our expectations properly in line before arriving. You are in Puerto Rico. Go to experience the culture. Stay in a place with some character and be flexible. Eat authentic food in a cheap diner for an evening. Also, it can be crowded there. The city is old, the streets are narrow, the buildings are old as well. If you don't appreciate these things, stay in some American chain cookie-cutter hotel and utilize a taxi or valet. My only speculation for those that did not enjoy is they were perhaps unlucky in some way, or expected a regular-style American hotel. This is not a high-end hotel. It is a smaller, restored property with character. I found the desk staff to be wonderful--thank you Eunice and Michael! We interacted with a total of 4 desk personnel and none gave a hint of attitude to us. The place is very affordable, it is in an dynamic, fun, and safe neighborhood that is about a 5 minute walk to the beach. Also, you can take a 25 cent bus from nearby to Old San Juan and avoid driving (crowded streets, difficult to park in Old San Juan) or save your taxi fare. There are fun bars nearby El Prado with live music and good shopping. The hotel pool is a bit on the small end, but the ambiance of the deck and seating area surrounding is lovely, and hopefully you didn't come to use a dipping pool when you are minutes from a beautiful beach anyway. Someone wrote the pool smelled of bleach, however I detected nothing of the sort. If you have kids, I noticed there is a rocky reef fringe near a small part of the beach (the one thats the closest walk from El Prado) that creates a sort of naturally sheltered pool for safer swimming in the ocean. The continental free breakfast is simple but fine, mainly consisting of coffee, juice, cereal, some cut up fruit, and small pasty squares. Go. Try it. Ask for Room 0. Enjoy!!


  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 22, 2005

I was one in a group of ten college students who stayed at El Prado for spring break. We believe that were taken advantage of for our youth. Our entire experience was ruined at checkout, when the owner backed out of a 5th night free guarantee promised by staff and advertised on the website. She also tried to overcharge us for items we never utilized. She refused to give us copies of the original pricing we signed for at check-in, so that we had no proof of the increased price! After a three hour nightmare of trying to sort out the bill, we were even reluctant to leave our bags there while we spent our last few hours in San Juan. Not to mention that our sheets were never cleaned and we had no water in our room for two days. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for these reason.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

This is a very nice guesthouse in a quiet San Juan neighborhood. The uncrowded beach (during weekdays) is three short blocks away and is convenient to several good places to eat. It has free parking on site ($25 extra if you have a second vehicle), be sure to get a small car as it is tough to maneouver in and out of the small spots. The staff gave first rate recommendations for restaurants and activities. The rooms were neat and clean. We were in Room 16, a suite with kitchenette. No insects of any kind appeared during our stay, but this might be a seasonal thing. They are concerned about theft of property (as everyone is in PR, notice the barred windows and guards on every corner) and require refundable deposits for remotes and hairdryer. Make sure that you keep track of and return towels, as they do check for them. It was nice having a pool, the ocean was a little rough. Much better area to stay in than Isla Verde which is crowded, filled with high rises, and too near the airport. You can walk and explore the residential area, it is very pleasant. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank RobertM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2005

My wife and I and another couple stayed at a big resort before our cruise,
and 3 days at El Prado Inn after our cruise. We liked El Prado better! We sat in the lovely pool patio sipping our drinks, wondering “why did we ever stay at --- in Isla Verde, when we could have been here?” For one thing, the area of Condado where El Prado is located is much more upscale, with more interesting things to do within walking distance. The very accomodating staff will give you wonderful recommendations about where to eat and what to see and how to get there, and the owner was gracious and very knowledgeable about art galleries and concerts. The rooms are clean and comfortable with fat towels and plenty of pillows. No, we didn’t see ants in the sugar or in the luggage or anything else to mar our delightful stay. For the price you just can’t get any better.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
Canario Boutique Hotel
Canario Boutique Hotel
#21 of 29 in San Juan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Andalucia House
Andalucia House
#11 of 29 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mont Caribe Guesthouse
Mont Caribe Guesthouse
#15 of 29 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Isabel Bed & Breakfast
Casa Isabel Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 29 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Prado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Prado Inn

Property: El Prado Inn
Address: 1350 Calle Luchetti | Condado, San Juan 00907-2014, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
El Prado Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing