We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in San Juan so far”
Review of La Jaquita Baya

La Jaquita Baya
Ranked #50 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We focus on reviving forgotten dishes from our delicious puertorrican gastronomic culture. We sponsor "lo nuestro" You should do it too. Eat local, Eat fresh!
austin, tx
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best meal in San Juan so far”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This funky little local restaurant features Puerto Rican cooking with a twist. Fresh, flavorful dishes, killer Sangria (red or white) and a few tasty (free) appetizers is just what the doctor ordered, especially after a day of twelve hours traveling. Friendly servers & staff add to the experience. There is a small bar if you have to wait for a table, and a very small parking lot. All the appetizers are exceptional, so much so that we made a meal out of them. Located in a residential neighborhood, it is not exactly in the tourist area, which is no small part of its charm. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank trawicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    66
    18
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York,NY
Level 6 Contributor
561 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, nice decor”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon. Seated immediately and were greeted and helped by our courteous server. Food was phenominal. Especially the dumplings. Server was hard to find on a couple occasions. Only regret, not coming back for a second meal while in town. But def would eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We went there last Friday (March 28) and we're seated and ordered drinks and appetizers. Our server was pleasant and we joked around some. Drinks came fast but the appetizers took a while. It all went downhill from there. We ordered before the appetizers arrived and the food took more than an hour and a half for it to be brought out to us. When it did come it was so disappointing. The lamb shank plate came almost half the size of the two we had seen previously come out and served to our table neighbors. The snapper wasn't even 3/4 of a puns big and was fried!!! This was a problem because it was offered and ordered grilled! At this point we were so hungry we just had to eat whatever was served to us. What made the experience utterly unbearable was that after we asked our server what was taking so long he avoided us like the plague, only coming to our table to bring plates or take them away. Not once was an apology even uttered and the bill came without even a discount or at least a dessert offered to compensate for their terrible behavior. It's sad that these experiences aren't attested to and corrected. Puerto Rico is an island that prides itself on being a tourist destination, however customer service and the hospitality industry is the worst I've experienced in a long time. And the saddest part is that these establishment don't care and have a stuck-up and snobbish attitude when someone complains. This is a place I will not be recommending. For even better food and much nicer service, go to Jose Enrique at the Placita de Santurce. Now that's a place worth returning to!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank Mercedes Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood place!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Where the locals go! We enjoyed their rice and beans and their amarillos (maduros - sweet fried plaintains).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Out of the way but delicious!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed our meal here. They don't take reservations so it was almost an hour wait but the hostess sat us at the bar immediately so we could eat there instead. The bartenders were friendly and helpful. Our food came out as it was ready which was fine because we decided to share a bunch of things. I really loved the calamari-the sauce was good and it was tender. The conch with the stuffed avocado was interesting but not my favorite. The pork and plantain appetizer was my favorite because the pork was moist and flavorful. It definitely was not a tourist place but I was glad we went. It also wasn't overpriced like some other places. FYI, neither the bellman at our hotel or our cab driver knew where it was but I showed them on google maps.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skimmilk70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Jaquita Baya also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Jaquita Baya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing