We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pizza night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Masafina - CLOSED

Masafina
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Caribbean, Seafood, Mediterranean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Masafina features an innovative pizza concept, taking the eating experience to the next level by bringing local Puertorrican ingredients to the table. You may find a pizza with filet mignon and fried sweet plantains and mustard greens, or the well know pork "lechon"- flavored chicken with "arañitas" (shredded green plantains) with caramelized onions. For vegetarians there is pizza with the Puertorrican version of the Italian caponata or fresh fish pizza with batata or "sweet potato." This menu, paired with a wide selection of beers, including imported and domestic, as well as a complete wine list will give you a once in a lifetime opportunity to try the only Puertorrican pizza place in the Island. We are minutes away from the Condado and Viejo San Juan tourist areas. Free valet parking. Open Sunday 12pm-6pm, Tuesday-Thursday 11:30am-3:00pm and 6:00pm to 10:00pm, Friday 11:30am to 10:00pm, and Saturday 1:00pm to 10:00pm.
Bayamon, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
“pizza night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was very happy to experience the unique and delicious pizza they offer Was wonderful. Although... we had to complain about the "loud" and unappealing music while we were eating. We had to keep raising our voices and could not hear each other as well as the choice of music was not appropriate for this amazing food. The staff stated that the music kept going up on its own and had to keep adjusting it... Hmmmm... don't know about that and it should not have to be constantly adjusted as the music gets loud.. Other than that... might try again and see how the music is as the food was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnStravecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
276 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Almost missed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Masafina is located at the bottom of Miramar neighborhood in San Juan. You have to be awake to find it. Once you do, it is fantastic for gourmet pizzas, salads and other plattered dishes. One positive aspect about the pizzas is that one may choose between regular and whole wheat dough. The choice of toppings is great. One added feature is the free valet parking available at all times. Go ahead, turn on your GPS and try Masafina.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Found this place for brunch and its amazing, planning on returning for pizza and draft beer soon, nice staff as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorado, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a bad concept but has a lot of room for improvement.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The variety of the pies as well as main dishes on the menu is pretty decent. Flavor was ok but it did not justify a more than $100 tab just for thin crust average pizza. It was a Saturday night but only three tables occupied and our food took forever. Nice artisanal beer selection but most of them were not available. May give it a second try but not expecting much. Valet parking was a great asset since it is a small place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weyoun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Creative Pizza and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Don't even remember how many times we've visited this place. It's one of our favorite places. The pizza is creative and delicious including homemade sauce as well as many other yummy things in the menu like tripletas and burgers. They always have a special pizza of the month that we always consider as we'll. overall a great place with a great atmosphere to relax...almost forgot...try their sangria!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masafina also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing