We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Livin - CLOSED

El Livin
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I went for the Puerto Rico Restaurant Week and our experience was incredible! What a creativity this people have to turn a simple dish into a culinary experience. I had chicken rice, that sounds like a simple dish but they just made the most incredible version of chicken rice! The service was incredible too. We will go back for sure!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arnaldostripdiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the perfect alternative for the Caribe Hilton guest who wants a little local flavor without getting in the car or exceeding per diem. It's less than a five minute walk from the hotel grounds in a beautiful park setting. The open atmosphere is tastefully decorated and immediately inviting as were the staff. The Carnetas de Cerdo and Puerto Rican fish and chips were both delicious. You know the food is authentic when the majority of the clientele is local.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank halehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the employees”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is awesome, really Caribbean and really beautiful BUT the employees damage the place so hard that you don't want to visit again. They are located inside of one of the Parks and you need to pay for that parking inside that park. Well, all the employees seems so discourage and unhappy that it doesn't invite...

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TaniaRichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The service and food are excellent. It is located in the Luis Muñoz Rivera park. The atmosphere is very nice and is well decorated. Is a little expensive, but the food's worth it. Recommended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HMVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere , great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a really great place, the environmetn is really really great, perfect for a romantic date, or just to celebrate a party, they have live music, jazz an bohemia and it excellent, well the prices are a bit expensive, the chepaest plate costs 18dollars. This place is located in old san juan. The decoration is awesome, perfect darkness, the terrace is excellent to celebrate birthdays. The service also is excellent. I ate a churrasco with a side dish of smashed yautia ,it tasted great, i order specifically that i wanted my churrasco(steak) well coocked, and it was served just like i ordered. Recommended 100%.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Livin also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing