We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a bohemian atmosphere”
Review of Santaella

Santaella
Reserve with OpenTable
Santaella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Placita de Santurce
Transit: Stop #19. Bus lines: A5, B21, M3, B16
Description: Chef José Santaella has trained with some of the best chefs in the world, including Ferrán Adriá, Eric Ripert, and Gary Danko. His apprenticeships and successful catering career paved the way for Santaella, his signature restaurant in Santurce's La Placita Marketplace. The decor is rustic yet elegant, with exposed walls, Edison light fixtures, an interior garden, and a sparkling bar. Chef Santaella fuses local and international ingredients to perfectly execute Puerto Rican nouvelle cuisine. The menu is dominated by tapas, which you can easily make into a meal. Favorites include the ahi tuna skewers, goat cheese quesadilla, 'alcapurrias' topped with crab, and foie gras terrine with fruit jelly . The cocktail bar is one of the best on the island, so don't leave without trying one of the concoctions by Santaella's mixologists. -Fodors
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a bohemian atmosphere”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Santurce is a gritty San Juan neighborhood that is attracting students, artists, and restaurants in search of low rents. Santaella is a funky, youthful restaurant with industrial and tropical touches of decor, a pleasant wait staff in jeans and sneakers, and an innovative cuisine that features the freshest ingredients and intense flavors. The crab meat I had there was the freshest and most favorable that I have ever had. Many of the dishes have a subtle sense of humor. Go for a visit to find out what that means.
My wife and I rated this restaurant second only to Marmalade in San Juan.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank WCTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back here at Santaella for some more crab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    118
    29
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are a foodie you must visit Santaella. It was probably the best food we had in our 2 week holiday in PR. Try to go Thursday- Saturday, as the plaza is livelier and you can walk around. We were there on a Tuesday and the restaurant was busy but it was dead outside. Dont miss it! Its a great break away from mofongo! :) RSVP.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Io A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back here at Santaella.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Trendy, Great Service, Creative Drinks”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Chef Santaella has delivered a masterpiece. Quality, creative cousine surrounded by a trendy and inviting atmosphere. Full house on most days, be sure to make your reservations and arrive early. Must do.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank albert0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review and recommendation! We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“One of the best if not the best in San Juan”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Perfect service (world class), cozy and warm ambiance, nice cocktails (we tried the signature water mellon mojitos), nice wine list, great and refined food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chayato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back here at Santaella for more 'Sandia Mojitos'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Dining Experience and Awesome Staff”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you are looking for a place that have great food, drinks, and atmosphere then Santaella is your place. I went with a group of 13 people for my weekend birthday celebration and the food was awesome! From the time we walked in until the time we left the staff accommodated all of our needs. It's definitely my favorite restaurant in San Juan!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back here at Santaella for more birthday celebrations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santaella also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Santaella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing