We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Santaella

Santaella
Ranked #18 of 1,007 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Contemporary, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Placita de Santurce
Transit: Stop #19. Bus lines: A5, B21, M3, B16
Description: Chef José Santaella has trained with some of the best chefs in the world, including Ferrán Adriá, Eric Ripert, and Gary Danko. His apprenticeships and successful catering career paved the way for Santaella, his signature restaurant in Santurce's La Placita Marketplace. The decor is rustic yet elegant, with exposed walls, Edison light fixtures, an interior garden, and a sparkling bar. Chef Santaella fuses local and international ingredients to perfectly execute Puerto Rican nouvelle cuisine. The menu is dominated by tapas, which you can easily make into a meal. Favorites include the ahi tuna skewers, goat cheese quesadilla, 'alcapurrias' topped with crab, and foie gras terrine with fruit jelly . The cocktail bar is one of the best on the island, so don't leave without trying one of the concoctions by Santaella's mixologists. -Fodors
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My first visit but certainly not the last one! Since the moment we arrived they greeted us with a warm welcome. Food was great, although if you do not like very seasoned plate combinations maybe you will find that particular plate just a bit over-seasoned ( filet mignon w/ parmesan potatoes, truffle oil) for me was great! We ate three appetizers: 1. quesadillas and 2. orzo risotto *favorites and the 3. cheese empanadillas were good! Dessert super delicious: nutella sandwich, although is just 2 breads w/ Nutella it was out of this world, the waiter told us it had a secret!! The other one was a dark chocolate cake w/ coconut ice cream delicious too! Alejandro our waiter was very attentive and nice, he even step out of the restaurant when we were leaving to say good night and provide us a fond farewell! Good job, Alejandro! Definitely, we will return! Very expensive, but worth it!! :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDpenaperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back here for some more Nutella Sandwich. Maybe you can decipher the secret! ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    117
    27
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Everything all around was beyond words. Juan Carlos our waiter was great and really helped with describing all the amazing food choices. Would eat here everyday if I could.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mooreapples81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back here at Santaella. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
482 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I, invited another couple, to this excellent and trendy restaurant in Santurce. From the appetizers all the way to the mouth watering desserts, everything was delicious, well prepared and presented. The restaurant is very nicely decorated and the service was outstanding. The empanadas, croquetas and malanga fritters were scrumptious. My hubbie and his friend, ordered the arroz con pollo, a special of the day, our friend's wife ordered the mesclum salad with salmon and I had the shrimp with garlic and mofongo. All were to die for...nicely presented and executed. The desserts were the piece the resistance...I am still savoring the nutella sandwich and the bizcochuelo. Of course, the flan (custard) was a favorite of some.
The restaurant offers valet parking, which we found useful. The background music was conducive to conversation and a complement to the fine food. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We're glad you had such a great experience. We look forward to having you back. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good-deserving at least one visit”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First, make sure you take a cab, do not try to walk even if you are close. The area is not great. Secondly, if you are wanting a lot of food, you won't find it here. You will find great presentation, good but limited menu, would suggest tapas rather than an entree so you get more variety.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larry_kak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. Since your visit we've greatly expanded the menu and look forward to having you back. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I made reservations on June 7th the restaurant was packed, we waited for about 15 minutes at the Bar, we had the most amazing mojitos ever, after 15 mins the waiter showed us our table. I ordered the most amazing lamb shank!! It was seasoned to perfection my wife ordered Los clarinets al ajillo and it was also amazing!!! Service was great and the ambiance was really good to.. I will defintely go again!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genaro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to having you back for some more Mojitos. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santaella also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Santaella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing