We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy Indulgence”
Review of Santaella

Santaella
Reserve with OpenTable
Santaella is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: La Placita de Santurce
Transit: Stop #19. Bus lines: A5, B21, M3, B16
Description: Chef José Santaella has trained with some of the best chefs in the world, including Ferrán Adriá, Eric Ripert, and Gary Danko. His apprenticeships and successful catering career paved the way for Santaella, his signature restaurant in Santurce's La Placita Marketplace. The decor is rustic yet elegant, with exposed walls, Edison light fixtures, an interior garden, and a sparkling bar. Chef Santaella fuses local and international ingredients to perfectly execute Puerto Rican nouvelle cuisine. The menu is dominated by tapas, which you can easily make into a meal. Favorites include the ahi tuna skewers, goat cheese quesadilla, 'alcapurrias' topped with crab, and foie gras terrine with fruit jelly . The cocktail bar is one of the best on the island, so don't leave without trying one of the concoctions by Santaella's mixologists. -Fodors
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dreamy Indulgence”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

How wonderful it is to have Santaella as part of the rising food scene in San Juan. You will be surrounded by a team of professionals who care about you and love what they are creating. From the knowledgable mixology, a vibrant bar scene, fantastical decor that makes you smile and finally the main event, inspired food lovingly prepared. They even take reservations so you can have an anxiety free night out and focus on the pleasure of dining. Thank You Santaella for creating a culinary oasis.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank art4adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you for your amazing review! We're glad you find pleasure in what we have created here, we're very proud of it. We look forward to having you here again soon. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    118
    29
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overall excellent”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We ate tapas style, food was amazing!! Drinks are creative and delicious we could have stayed there all night. Service by Pedro was very good and attentive, also johnny in the bar can make you great cocktails. Overall excellent night!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adebizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We're glad you enjoyed our cocktails by the great master mixologist Jonathan. We look forward to having you back soon. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San juan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deliciously good in many ways...”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent atmosphere, quite eclectic, great servers, and an amazing chef! The menu is very delicious and so is the energy at the bar! On the comfort level don't deny yourself the cheesy risotto... Yummy :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back soon and enjoying another Risotto. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very very good food. Loved the lamb and the fish. Awesome mojitos. Excellent service and trendy local crowd. We went on a Friday night and the Saturday a week later. Seems like Friday is the happening local night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarissaEichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you guys liked it enough to come back twice. We look forward to having you back soon. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

great ambience, food and service! Angus beef sliders, Quesadillas with goat cheese or tuna skewer a MUST! :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PMTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktoro, Owner at Santaella, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We look forward to having you back at Santaella. ¡Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santaella also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Santaella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing