We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Mango's at Ocean Park
Ranked #184 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cafe, Grill, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

San Juan is filled with mediocre and frankly quite disappointing dining options, many overpriced with lousy service and less than stellar food. But Mangos in Ocean Park really is a wonderful place for casual dining, creative cuisine, friendly service and reasonable prices. Even their pizzas and burgers have a distinctive Caribbean edge, and their local dishes are wonderful, too. Eat outdoors or inside, enjoy their signature sangrias and many seafood options. It's really a nice change from the chains and the local " gourmet" restaurants. I highly recommend it, even if you're not staying in Ocean Park.

Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    121
    55
    24
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MA, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reliable and reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We found this was a good place for our friend who eats no red meat or chicken. We ate here 3 times in 4 days. Enjoyed the beans and rice, seafood creole, and the vege pizza. ( mofongo became palatable when dipped in the beans)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoxAndPats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“relaxing atmosphere, good food, great staff”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We just spent six days in Puerto Rico in the Ocean Park area. Mango's is a wonderful laidback resturant/bar that appeals to everyone and was in strolling distance from where we stayed. It was great to be able to relax on one of their outside couches or walk a few steps and be under the canopy. Watched both championship football games there and enjoyed many delicious foods and drinks. The cerviche is excellent and not too citrusy.The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the prices are reasonable. Glad that Mango's is in Ocean Park, and I hope they stay around, because we'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank netnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed, fun, great food and bar!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We visited this on the recommendation of our hosts at Tres Palmas. Turned out to be a wonderful way to start our Caribbean vacation.....it was a 15-minute walk from Tres Palmas, open "under-roof" seating as well as indoors, relaxed atmosphere with a diverse menu. The service was excellent, we ate outside, had the back-wrapped chicken, delish! Looks like it turns onto a hot spot as it gets later.....we ate a little earlier in the evening. If you're looking for a good restaurant frequented by locals, try this one!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizpovar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The nite at Mango's is great for a drink,hang oout and meet new people. Loved the drinks and service

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Breeze G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's at Ocean Park also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Mango's at Ocean Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing