We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location- Wonderful Staff”
Review of The Palace Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palace Hostel
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Location- Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

we stayed at this Hostel for 2 nights, it was in a very strategic location, the staff were very nice, and the kitchen was equipped enough stuff to get ya by. I also loved the little information posters they had in the bathrooms about Puerto Rico LOL. The only thing i didn't like in our room was the loud VERY LOUD noise the air conditioner made I literally have to use ear plugs and on top of that the staff could not open the locked window ( i guess they misplaced the keys). So avoid that room on the second floor middle to your left.. i think it was 2D ..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaliaToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    31
    15
    15
    24
See reviews for
6
27
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

A clean hostel to stay in with friendly staff around at all times to help with any of your questions. It was a little difficult to find at first, but we called the hostel when we were lost and Andy came outside to find me and my friend and walked us back. We also received a lot of help in planning our travels around the island. Other than that it is a nice affordable hostel - spacious, good location, and comfortable - just bring cash to pay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbrandeisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I've stayed at many hostels in the US, South/Central America, and Europe. I enjoy shared living environments and appreciate the value they offer. I would say that, in terms of my travel profile, I'm somewhere beyond "shoestring hobo traveler" but I'm hardly Hilton material. I found the Palace Hostel disappointing. I'll list a few of the many reasons why:

The place needs a good cleaning. Hairballs everywhere. Generally gritty.

We stayed in a private room. A prison cell style light bulb lit the room. No place for any clothes/items storage. No place to hang any wet or dry clothes. So easy to improve. So little done to improve it--a general theme of the place.

The advertised kitchen space has a grand total of about 2 forks, 1 very dull knife, and a cup. Go. If you come here, plan to keep your cooking very, very basic.

The pancake breakfast is over-rated. One pot of coffee is made and when it's gone, apparently, it's gone. All supplies are from the wal-mart down the way. Not very inspired--which is the general trend of the place.

All of the staff seem to be somewhere in between "not happy to be there", "treading water", and "depressed", giving the place a dampening vibe.``

On the plus side:

It is near to lots of useful places.

PR accommodation isn't really cheap, so this is an option.`

Speaking generally, it was kind of disappointing to just imagine how easily this place could be improved, but how little was being done to pursue it. Stay here if you're really looking to save the dinero, but if you came to Puerto Rico to relax and enjoy yourself, this place won't contribute to that vibe. We ended up leaving early and heading to places further out from San Juan and were very happy to be leaving the Palace Hostel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurespiritvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Palace Hostel before we left for our cruise in April. It was my first hostel experience, and it was that bad, but it could have been a lot better. When we arrived from a full day of traveling, the taxi driver had the hardest time trying to find the place, which we had to call the hostel so they could talk to the driver to get us to the hostel. They did not accept credit cards, so we had to go down road the bank for the ATM to pull out cash. Which is right next to park, and looks a lot shady. We picked the double bed private room which was alright. The owners were never around, which is fine, whatever, but we did not receive the greatest help from the 'staff.' We wanted to know the best way to get to Old San Juan, and they said the taxi place across the street was our best bet. None of the staff knew which bus line could get us down there. Other questions we would ask we would just get an unsure answer. Giving the guests maps or other information would be a lot of help. They provide a breakfast of bread and peanut butter/jelly and maybe bananas, which was nice. One morning none of the staff came back to clean up so my husband ended up putting all the food away and washing up the dishes since the ants were getting to everything, and he did notice cockroaches in the downstairs kitchen. It is the Caribbean so we understand about the bugs. Also with the place being a hostel there is a lot of people coming and going and it can get pretty loud at night. Overall, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay, then do it, otherwise, I'd pass.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

There is nothing specifically wrong with The Palace. However, it doesn't have that special vibe that makes you want to come back.

Pro's:
-price, good value
-decent location, 15 minute walk to Condado, 10 minutes to La Placita
-hot showers
-knowledgeable staff
-clean
-air conditioning in room, the 6 person dorm room had a unit, not sure about other rooms. (a big plus, it's pretty stuffy without it)

Con's:
-no breakfast, the advertised breakfast consisted of a box of pancake pre-mix set out on the table in the morning
-limited planned activities, not a lot a facilitating by the staff
-subdued atmosphere, I'm sure the atmosphere changes with the guests that are staying, but when I was staying there I spent most of my time hanging out with people from Island Time Hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prindle150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great people, good location, i had a blast!! The shower was bigger than some hotels I've stayed at. They held my baggage after I checked out till I left later in the day. Can't say a bad thing about this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiemersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After 24 hours in airports and flying, we arrived in the middle of the night and first emotion was "oh crap we have to live here 10 days". But next morning we woke up and we started to change our first impression. First of all, its a hostel, so if you are looking glitz and comfy, then you should definitely stay away. But if you are looking people from whom to learn best spots and with whom together explore the island, then you are in the right place. The staff is very friendly, almost every night staff brings all the guests together and you have amazing opportunity meet people from around the world. Hostal itself is quite small, 2 kitchens, where you can cook and use fridge. One common room, but most of the life happened in the outdoor patio. Hostel is near to bus stop and also the main bus station is near. We usually walked about 15 minutes to the beach. By bus the old town was just 5 stops away. There are few supermarkets around, the best one was in our mind Pueblo, good selection of fresh and other stuff. Beds were surprisingly comfy and big. Room was quite small. Altogether hostal has 2 shared bathrooms and one toilet, so in the morning can happen that takes time to get to the shower. With fellow guest we visited old town and did some bar hopping, danced salsa, sat on the beach until 5 in the morning, visited culebra island, rainforest, the beaches, cooked together, sat on the patio and talked until early mornings and had midnight picnic on the roof:) We never would have this amazing holiday if we have stayed in the hotel or apartment, and yes the money we saved from staying there allowed us to rent a car, take daytrips around the island and have a good holiday.

Room Tip: If you dont mind the spartan conditions to meet new people then this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Regiina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
3.7 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 47 in San Juan
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#7 of 47 in San Juan
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hostel

Property: The Palace Hostel
Address: 666 Calle Suau, San Juan 00907-3617, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Palace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most people come to a Hostel to do 2 things which are SOCIALIZE and SLEEP! For that reason we have the LARGEST hostel in San Juan with the MOST Public social space to mingle and meet fellow travelers! And for your Comfort and Sleep we Have Memory foam Beds and A/C in Every room! We are the Closest Hostel to Condado, which is the most popular Beach/surfing/swimming area in all of San Juan! We are also the closest hostel to Miramar which has Eateries and a movie theater. For your Beverage convenience we are located within 50 Meters of a Beer and Liquor Store! And for your transportation convenience we are across the street from A Taxi Station! We have 3 SEPERATE outside social areas to meet fellow travelers! Your stay includes: FREE Hostel Breakfast! FREE linens & towels FREE Wi-Fi in all of the rooms FREE usage of our Security Lockers FREE Board games FREE Memory foam beds (only hostel in San Juan that offers quality Bedding!) FREE 24 hr Local Calls FREE Coffee and Tea FREE Luggage storage FREE Air Conditioning in ALL bedrooms! When choosing your Hostel be careful to choose a hostel Located in a central Location! Not one that is located near one attraction that can be covered in one day! Which makes traveling to the other more 'island' type Activities such as Beach activities somewhat difficult. We are centrally located to beautiful beaches, supermarkets , restaurants but away from noisy touristy places so you can sleep Peacefully! Your Comfort is our # 1 Goal and our entire hostel is designed around this concept which most hostels around the world drastically lack! We are the only Hostel in Puerto Rico with a State of the Art Video Surveillance system and 24 hour a day Locked security gates and windows! Credit cards now accepted! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Palace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing