We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different”

Waffle-era Tea Room alias La Waflera
Ranked #4 of 28 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

The food is very nice at this small restaurant with a beautiful view... The appetizers were more than good (red peppers filled with goat cheese and pesto wrapped in salmon, wow) and I the best waffle I had was filled with feta cheese tomatoes and prosciutto, excellent.

The only down side... be prepared to wait... and wait.. everything is done at the moment so of course it takes a little more time than usual to get everything ready. Just FYI, don't go on a hurry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RestLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    73
    21
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Oh what a beautiful morning, oh what a beatiful breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We had been waiting for a time to visit this well recommended place and decided to invite one of my wife's former neighbor in Old San Juan and right when we started walking to the place, my son called to inform he was around and he(lucky one) got invited also. He got there first with instructions to get good seating and his selection was perfect: a corner with an impressive view of the bay and the optimal breezy location for a sunny saturday morning. So we all sat comfortably, were nicely treated by the waitress who brought an album (the menu) with good descriptions and even photos of dishes. We had a great and enthusiastic breakfast get together with brisk and interesting conversation. I had a mango nectar and we all ordered small waffle portions (except my son who ordered a combination of salty and sweet waffles!). Coffee drinkers had generous admiration for the brew they had, and what we ate was catalogued as tasty by all. What we all liked most was the combination of atmosphere, intimacy, views, breeze, service and leisurely pace of our breakfast experience, with a very attentive owner. I am certain we will repeat our visit as long as they remain where they are and the way they are.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Infinitegusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Cozy; Good food; allow extra time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is in Old San Juan off the beaten path. There was only one couple when we got there but it was a Thursday at 11 AM. If you sit in the front room, you get a view of the ocean and harbor. We sat in the upper room which was a little breezy but empty and quiet. Service is slow so plan extra time.

I hadn't had a cup of coffee yet so I ordered that and my wife wisely ordered tea. When you go to a place with 23 teas on the menu, you should order tea. The coffee was "ok" but definitely wasn't the best I had in PR (That title goes to PR Cola Coffee in Old San Juan). I later ordered an Earl Grey that was excellent as was my wife's Darjeeling.

You can order waffles with a variety of sweet or savory toppings. The smaller sizes are actually decent size so you better be hungry if you order the full size. My wife ordered the salmon wafflito and I ordered the Laura's wafflito. Both were good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“your waffle WONT need syrup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

this was really a great spin on waffles, let me tell you!! they first time i came i ordered a waffelito from the savory side of the menu. mine came with shredded chicken with mozzarella and diced tomatoes!!! omg soo good. the second time i ordered mine with greek yogurt and cucumbers. it was different!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lizz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great Waffles, very cozy place. I go to Old San Juan all the time and had not been to this place yet. Is very different! A must go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AidyGutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waffle-era Tea Room alias La Waflera also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Waffle-era Tea Room alias La Waflera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing