We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Location is fantastic for Old San Juan. The two bedroom we stayed in was top notch!! Beds were comfortable. The unit was huge. Breakfast was cooked to order. Parking is free, indoors and the area is well lit and spotless! The customer service is wonderful. The manager sees her job as if it is her child, if there is anything that you need, just let her know and she will make it happen. I would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Brit C,

It was an honor for us to have you and your family as our guests. We want to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your visit to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team, and manager exceeded your expectations with great service. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast with us and that you found our hotel spotless and well lit.

We are very glad to read that you will be staying with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Ciqala Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 883 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is off the beaten path, but if you need a lot of space in your room then this is the place for you. The staff was great. Very helpful and very willing to answer any questions you might have. They provided me with maps to anything that I had questions about. Everyone was friendly and professional. We stayed on the 5th floor in a Presidential Suite. We had 2 bedrooms, although there was a 3rd bedroom (door locked) if someone booked for more people. Two full bathrooms, one being in the master bedroom. We only stayed 1night, before our flight home. Close to airport, so that was convenient. I would say you would definitely want a rental car if staying for more than a day and planning to go many places (we had a car, since we traveled to other parts of the island). Parking is indoors, right in the building- very convenient to the door that enters into the hotel and elevators to rooms. So a short walk to take your luggage upstairs! Parking is tight! Rent a smaller car and be good at maneuvering/parking. We had a van and everyone got out before the driver pulled into the space. But this is a small issue considering the CLEAN, up to date hotel you are renting, and the BIG rooms you have. They do have a shuttle to the beach, we did not use this service. The area around the hotel is not pretty - does not have the Old San Juan 'feel' to it. It is just an average neighborhood. Would not suggest walking it at night- and too far to walk to the nightlife, beach, etc. So this is something to consider. The breakfast included was great. Lots of choices: fruit, muffins, yogurt, cereals, etc and then a menu is also presented to order freshly prepared eggs,waffles, pancakes. Those items were terrific! Some people in our group spent time in the evening on the SubPenthouse floor. This is like a large lobby but not ground level. Modernly decorated place to hang out, watch the big screen, relax. Also an outdoor balcony area, you can see out over the city. This is also where breakfast is served in the morning. If you need to get out of your big hotel room, you can always hang out for a bit there..... Overall, I was very pleased with our stay. The kitchen and living room were BIG, CLEAN and comfortable. So were the bedrooms. Only draw back is that its not in the middle of the action, if that's what you're looking for. But otherwise, its a relaxing place to come back to after touring San Juan. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 502 and it was great! No noise to speak of and everyone slept great. High enough to get...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lovetravelplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Lovetravelplaces,

Thank you so much for your time taken to share your experience in this review. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your short visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are very happy to read that you were able to enjoy of all services included and more than honored to read that our team exceeded your expectations with great service. Customer service is our main commitment. In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic zone in downtown San Juan, as part of our history all buildings and structures are kept as original under proper restoration. The local police constantly monitors the area. We are located within 5 minutes from the beach and all main local attractions.

We are happy to read that you will be staying with us again and we look forward to continue welcoming you back home soon!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Well, the first thing I can say is that included in my reservation was a free dinner, but when I got to the hotel, hungry and exhausted the first night, I was told that there was no more dinner left (although it was probably 8pm at the time), so I guess my first impression of Ciqala wasn't great. This is really more of an apartment rather than a hotel, but the rooms are very nice, spacious, and clean, and their breakfast is really great (as is their staff!). As I said, this wasn't much of a hotel experience, but it was alright!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Natafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Natafer,

We appreciate you taking of your time to share your review. As written in all marketing materials and websites, our dinner is served on Tuesday and Thursday from 6:00 pm – 8:00 pm; if your arrival was passed this time, that’s why we did not have any more dinner to be served. We are sad to read that this was your first impression; we would have loved to serve you as well as with all other guests; all guests are very important to us and customer service is our main commitment. Thanks for your comment in regards to our team members and Suite.

We look forward to having the honor to serve you again soon. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Ciqala Luxury Suites provided one of the best vacation stays I've ever had!

The Room:
Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite was huge and immaculate. The beds were comfortable with fluffy pillows. The kitchen was fully stocked including a microwave, stove top, fridge, blender and a toaster. It was like being at home! We were on the 8th floor so the views were nice.

Food:
Breakfast in the morning was great. You can sit indoors or outdoors in their lounge area. You just order from a menu, so I had omelets, waffles, and pancakes over the 3 day stay. They also had continental options available like cereals and yogurts. On Tues and Thurs they cook dinner and offer drinks including wine and beer. We had chicken and rice with a mushroom sauce with a light Puerto Rican beer. It was all really good.

Parking:
24 hour secured parking. The parking stalls are small, but the parking never filled up so it was fine.

Cons:
The surrounding area is not the best, but all the offerings at the hotel more than make up for it. There is currently construction to build a roof-top infinity pool so it's loud during the day. But if you're in PR, you probably won't be in your room during the day anyway. Also, the staff told us about the construction immediately upon check-in and even had an advance letter of apology ready for guests. Also, my master bath shower never really had warm water. Good thing we had 2 full bathrooms!

Perks:
They arrange for free shuttle to Condado Beach at 10am (you must request this), and return trip at 3pm. Also, if you choose not to utilize housekeeping for 2 days, you earn a $5 credit off your mini-bar tab which is pretty cool since most of the items are $1. Oh, and there's a 24hr market next door for any other small needs.

Overall:
I highly recommend Ciqala and I look forward to staying here again. The staff was extremely accommodating. They printed directions for us to places we wanted to drive to and even made calls for us to get info on kayaks and such. Erica who checked us in also recommended a fantastic restaurant nearby (1/2 block away) called La Jaquita Baya and their food was BEYOND superb!!! So try out Ciqala. You'll have a great stay. I sure did!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrownUp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear GrounUP123,

It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad to read that you loved your unit selection, the views from our 8th floor and that you were able to enjoy of all services that we have included to enhance our guests experience. In regards to our area, Miramar is the second historic zone in downtown San Juan, as part of our history, all buildings are kept as original under proper restoration. The local police constantly monitors the entire Miramar area. It is always an honor to read about our team members exceeding our guests expectations as part of our commitment and that our Erica assisted you with everything that you needed. In regards to hot water, our showers are very tricky and probably was hard for you to manage it; we apologize for that inconvenience. The mini bar credit was created as part of our Eco-friendly experience, we are glad to read that you liked it.

It is an honor for us to read that you strongly recommend our hotel and that your stay was one of the best experience that you ever had. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My husband and I visited the Ciqala for our honeymoon hideaway in June 2014. We were there for a week and it was perfect! The staff was amazingly nice and very helpful. Everyone made us feel like VIPs! Our room (401) was absolutely beauitful and so clean. I loved that the hotel gave you the option on the clean green card: you place the card on the outside of the door the days that you dont want room service and for every night you use it, you get $5 worth of credit off the mini bar tab! The bed was so huge and comfortable and because we were on our honeymoon, they suprised us with putting real rose petals all over. It was very romantic. The hotel has complementary shuttle to and from the Condado beach, breakfast every morning and a puerto rician dinner on Tuesday and Thursday nights. The Courtyard San Juan Miramar, which has a variety of restaraunts, shopping and a grocery store, is walking distance from the hotel. My husband and I walked back and forth almost every day. They are working on installing a pool and we cant wait to come back and see it!
I could just keep going and going about our amazing adventure (thanks to the Ciqala staff), but I dont want to spoil it for you all. Take my advice and stay at Ciqala Luxury Home Suites, you will be swept off your feet because it is home away from home indeed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brittany1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Brittany1014,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience, all of our guests are considered VIP and it is our commitment to make you all feel at home. We are very honored to read that you loved your honeymoon surprise, it was a detail from us for selecting our hotel for your honeymoon hideaway. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy of all services included to enhance our guests experience as well as that you were able to explore around and notice that we are very closed to many different local attractions. We are very happy to read that you were impressed by our team’s hospitality, we always love to work to extra mile to exceed our guests expectations.

Thanks so much for recommending our hotel to everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Ciqala in February and had to stay here again. The breakfast? AMAZEBALLS!...The staff? AMAZEBALLS!...The bed? So freakin' comfortable!...and the room? Quadruple AMAZEBALLS!. We stayed in the presidential suite and let me tell you...It was pretty presidential. Spacious, cozy, AC worked like a charm, and we had 2 bathrooms. As a couple on a vacation..sometimes going to the bathroom all of a sudden becomes a weird event...trying to keep the sexy alive on a tropical island with no privacy to go #2 is hard work :-). They also have dinner/cocktails on Tuesday and Thursday night and it was mucho tasty... I just love it here and will return in time to see the pool.
Thank you to everyone at Ciqala for a wonderful stay....I wish you years of success and hope you open many more hotels around the world.

Room Tip: Presidential room!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Micaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Micela1010,

We are truly happy to read that your experiences with us were both amazing. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visits to Puerto Rico and are very honored to read that you will continue staying with us during all future travels. We are happy to read that our entire team made your stay very enjoyable, all customers are very important to us and it is our key commitment to make sure that you all feel at home.

We look forward to welcoming you back home and to having the pool ready for your enjoyment. Thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a family vacation, my husband, granddaughter, daughter and self. We were here for 5 nights. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as if we were the most important guests they had and it did not stop. Atmosphere, accommodations, service and breakfast were outstanding, We rented a car so the central location was a perfect location for our activities. The new pool should be ready any day now. We will definitely be coming back to PR and the CIQALA.. Thank you Sandra and the entire staff that made our stay so pleasant from beginning to departure..

Room Tip: Room 402 was exceptional, great views from all rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Albus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Albus123,

Thank you for making CIQALA your home during your family vacation in Puerto Rico. It is always an honor to read from our guests about them feeling at home and even more to read that your overall experience from arrival to departure was outstanding. We are also happy to read that our Sandra and the entire team work as a team to make sure that all details on your stay were taken care of. It deeply a pleasure to read that you will be staying again with us and we hope to have our pool ready to completed your new experience.

We look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits. Thank so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $121 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing