We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff EVER” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciqala Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
New York,NY
Level Contributor
555 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Best staff EVER”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've stayed at alot of places and this place had the BEST staff EVER. I would say we encountered about 10 of the staff and all made us feel so welcome and seemed like they loved their job. Free breakfast made to order was always delicious. Only thing i didnt like was the shower. But who can complain about that when in beautiful Puerto Rico. I would so stay here again. Thanks Ciqala!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefMillz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear StefMillz,

We are very honored of being the hotel of your choice during your visit to our San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is very rewarding to read about the services that we are delivering as a team, we do love our jobs and value our guests, this is why we enjoy creating memorable experiences making them feel at home. There is no better reward for us than a satisfied and happy guest. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast every morning.

Our biggest happiness is to read that you will be staying with us on your next visits and we truly look forward to welcoming you back home soon!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    184
    52
    24
    21
See reviews for
149
343
20
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I was responsible for booking a room for two NFL players being their manager. I come from New Jersey, one came from San Diego the other player came from Denver. The pressure was on but the Ciqala suites made me look like a genius. We arrived and was greeted by the most amazing staff. The General Manager Lola is a great leader and her warm welcoming energy is carried out throughout her entire staff from Sandy, Daniel (front desk), housekeeping, cooks were willing to do anything to make sure we enjoyed our stay. This was our first time in Puerto Rico the staff offered suggestions and made our reservations anytime you can do no work on vacation is a plus. The rooms are very clean, spacious, everything you will need is in there.

Today we are leaving and we wish could extend our stay. We love the room we love the staff and we will be staying here again when we visit PR. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxed environment with an amazing staff and beautiful rooms. Thanks to the Ciqala team we appreciate everything and we are beyond pleased!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akeem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Akeem C,

Thanks so much for sharing your review, we appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your first visit to our island. It is deeply an honor to know that you are beyond pleased and that you are very satisfied with your selection. It is always a pleasure to read about our team exceeding our guests expectation and mostly recognizing the amazing service delivered by our General Manager Lola, team members Sandy and Daniel.

Thanks so much for your fantastic recommendations, we will be waiting on your return to welcoming you back home. Once again, thanks so much for sharing your review on this page.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a terrific stay here. From the moment we pulled up and the opened a private garage for us, to the fantastic service at check-in, to our pleasant surprise at the beautiful suites we rented. The suites were large, very clean, and well equipped. They looked fairly new as well. We were in a suite on the penthouse floor (802). Great front desk staff - very professional, but the woman who checked us in was very cheery too!

My BF loved the minibar options -- great prices (mostly $1) on snacks.

The young woman at the front desk had a great recommendation for the restaurant across the street when we were in search of an evening snack. Great local Puerto Rican hangout, and the restaurant itself (La Jaquita Baya) gets great Tripadvisor reviews!

We loved the complementary breakfast both mornings of our stay -- great variety, great service. Others have complained it took a while to make, but since everything was made to order, a 10 minute wait seemed reasonable (and it's served hot and fresh!). Eating out on the breakfast area patio was a lovely way to start our mornings. We were also there on a free Puerto Rican dinner night (every Tuesday) -- the food was ok but I can't complain because it was free!

We had a rental car and weren't trying to stay on the beach, so this was a perfect location for us. We really appreciated the free (pretty secure) parking.

Our only minor nitpicks (mentioned only because I think the fantastic staff would try to improve upon the things they can control!):

- We returned to Ciqala twice and found no staff in the front desk area. The first time we were just walking in (front door unlocked), so that created some security concern that ANYONE could walk in and go up the elevators to the guest rooms. The second time we were driving, and we had to wait about 10 minutes for someone to come open the garage doors for us. This was a bit inconvenient -- no one answered the phone when we were trying to call for someone to open the door.

- Walls are a bit thin. Our room was right off the elevator lobby (I think most of the rooms are) so we could hear the "ding" of the elevator and voices of other guests in the lobby at all hours. The second night, an incessant car alarm was going off outside and even though we were on the top floor, it was still quite audible. This isn't Ciqala's fault -- but just a heads-up for others staying here.

- The weight machine in the fitness center was broken. But it was nice to have a fitness center!

- The air-conditioner in the room was relatively noisy turning off and on, but it was very effective at keeping the room quite cool (even though we had it set at a relatively moderate temp).

- The linens on our bed had a quarter-sized hole front and center on the comforter... but the linens were otherwise super-soft, cozy and comfortable!

Other than these minor issues - we loved our stay and would stay again in a heartbeat - highly recommended. We got a GREAT value on our stay by booking through Hotwire.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Bluepig1,

It is an honor for us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us from the moment you pulled up and we opened the parking gates to your arrival to your Suite. Our property is two years old under constant maintenance to keep it as new. It is always great to read from our guests about our service delivered and as part of our commitment, we work the extra mile to make our guests to feel at home.

We always try to keep our minibar prices equal or lower compared to stores outside. We always recommend our neighbor restaurant as they serve great food as well as provide an excellent service. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner with us, we have added these and other services with the intention to enhance our guests experience.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused on your return due to our staff member was not at the front desk, sometimes guests require assistance with the in Suites equipment and they go to assist. We have spoken with our housekeeping team to make sure that they don’t deliver comforter without deeply inspecting them as usual. The weight machine in our fitness center is working properly, our guests just need to let us know when they want to switch routines as it is tricky. We are in the process of adding carpets to avoid noises from outside of the units.

We are happy to read that you will recommend our hotel as well as will be staying with us on your return to Puerto Rico; and we look forward to welcoming you back home. Thanks so much for sharing your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent a week at Ciqala and enjoyed every moment of it. The staff, Daniel, Natalia and Itzia, are amazing. They made us feel so welcomed and happy to do whatever they could to make our stay more comfortable. They always greeted us, asked us if everything was okay with our room, cheerfully called cabs for us and told us how long our cab wait time might be, gave directions as needed as well as tips of the better times to visit sites, and gave great restaurant recommendations. The rooms were very large and always clean-housekeeping did a superb job. The bed was one of the most comfortable ones we have ever had in our travels. The breakfasts are equally as amazing. The menu includes, omelets, bacon, sausage, the most delicious oatmeal, pancakes, and more. Breakfast always tasted good and eating it on their open air patio area was a wonderful wait to start our day in Puerto Rico.

One thing we did learn in telling cab drivers about the location of the hotel, is that you need to specify it is in the Miramar area. I believe the hotel is less than two years old and not all cab drivers knew of the location by name alone until we specified Miramar.

The hotel is next door to a convenience store, so we could run next door and pick up a few basic odds and ends as needed. However, the refrigerator is nicely stocked and prices are quite reasonable. While we were visiting, my husband was celebrating his birthday. The hotel offered a birthday package-cake, balloons, a bottle of wine, a banner, and confetti and they set it all up while we were out for the day. It was great seeing his surprised face when we returned. The staff did an outstanding job making it all look festive.

Two other perks we enjoyed while at Ciqala. We did rent a car while in San Juan and parking in Ciqala's very secure garage is included at no additional charge. Also free Wi-Fi.
We fell in love with Puerto Rico and will be staying here upon our return.

Room Tip: We had a Presidential Suite (Room 401). It had 3 bedrooms with great views. There are 2 bathrooms. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaBusyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear LindaBusyLady,

It was an honor having you as our guests, thanks so much for choosing CIQALA as the hotel to stay during your one week stay with your husband and friends here in Puerto Rico. We are truly glad to read that our Daniel, Natalia and Itzia made your stay wonderful with excellent service and recommendations. All customers are very important to us, it is always a pleasure to assist and make them feel as at home. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed breakfast, your accommodation provided and all others services included to enhance our guests experience. Breakfast at our SP Terrace with the lovely view of Miramar is always a must do and we are glad that you loved it too.

In regards to your comment about our property, you are right, our hotel is two years old and not all taxi drivers know about our hotel.

We are truly amazed to know that the birthday celebration for your husband was a total success. Our team always managed to assist in everything our guests need keeping in mind that all guests must have a memorable experience with us. We are glad that everything was as perfect as expected, thanks so much for your trust. We are also happy to read that you will be staying with us on your return and we truly look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Once again, thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review and for choosing our CIQALA as the hotel to stay during your visit. See you soon!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Saludo,

My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Ciqala Suites while in San Juan. We were in the two bedroom Presidential suite on the 5th floor. It was ridiculously large, offering excellent views of the city and a great floor plan. The only small negative was that the balcony door was locked for "insurance purposes" and not accessible. The master bedroom has a whirlpool tub with its's own TV. Now that's the life. The kitchen is large and nicely equiped, including a well stocked mini bar at reasonible prices. The American style breakfasts in the mornings was good, and an added bonus, along with beer and wine served in the evenings on the sub-penthouse floor.

Located in a nice part of San Juan, the property is close to some awesome restuarants; we felt very safe walking at night. It is a short cab or bus ride into Old San Juan for some sight seeing. Do not miss seeing the fortress. The Spainards built one hell of a fort over five centuries ago. Old San Juan offers some beautiful architecture and shopping as well.

Every staff member at the hotel was exceptionally nice and helpful. This is the Ciqala's main asset in my mind. If I return to San Juan, with no doubt, I will stay at the Ciqala Suites.

Hasta luego

Room Tip: Upper floors offer views. Street noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear SailorDrew,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share you review. We are truly honored to be the hotel of your choice while visiting San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is simply fantastic to read that you and your family had a wonderful stay with us, that you were able to experience all services that we have included to enhance our guests experience, walking around at night and notice that our location is safe, but most important that our team delivered an exceptional service being nice and helpful. All customers are very important to us and this is why we work that extra mile as a team. We are very proud of our team and we deeply agree with your comment about that they are our main asset.

We are glad to read that you will be staying with us on your return and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I just returned about a week ago from a much needed vacation at this lovely hotel and feel as if I left my heart at this place. My fiancé and I genuinely enjoyed our stay there. We had a large suite with a separate tub & shower, large closet ,kitchen & laundry room. Everything looked just like the pictures. No disappointments. I only wish we could of stayed longer. The staff was really nice and professional and went out of their way to make the stay pleasant. Natalia (concierge) at the front desk was nice enough to send me an email with info prior to our stay after I called with some questions. Daniel was also very helpful the few times I had to call down . There was also a tanned girl with black hair (sorry didn't get her name) that worked nights that was very nice. She was came to our suite after my fiancé couldn't figure out the stove LOL. The cooked to order breakfast was very tasty. I miss their omelets already :) The hotel is in a residential area so it is a distance from the more touristy locations but my fiancé and I had no issues walking around. As such we got around to see the attractions fine. My only complaints is I'd wish they'd offer a option to check out later. On the last day check out was at 12:00 noon but we had hours until our flight home. Unfortunately I wasn't feeling the greatest and would've like to sleep in a little more but when we called down they were booked up and the room was needed for the next guests. They did however hold our luggage and after a short trip outside we hung out in the upstairs lounge till it was time to call our cab to the airport.
Also on the Thursday they serve dinner we witnessed other guests that arrived shortly after us for dinner being told they'd run out of meat for the taco dinner. I guess they need to plan that better. Otherwise my opinion is this is a great place to stay & I would gladly return and hopefully will one day real soon. I hope they remember us fondly.

Room Tip: We had a large presidential on the second floor and it was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarStealinGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Bre,

Thank you making CIQALA the hotel of your choice during your very much needed vacation in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was truly an honor to have you and your fiancé as our guests. We are glad to read that our team members as well as Daniel and Natalia exceeded your expectations with great service, and also to read that you loved your Suite. We are also happy to read that you were able to walk around within our location and notice that we are very close to all local attractions. We apologize for not been able to extend you a late check out, our property is small and get sold out very quickly, we would have been more than happy to provide it to you if we weren’t completely booked.

We are glad to read that you will be visiting us soon and we truly look forward to welcoming you back home, we will remember you!

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We had a great stay at the Ciqala Luxury Suites. All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the front desk associates. The free breakfast and free dinner were also very tasty and the service was excellent! (Please do not forget to leave a good tip!) A gentleman in room service was also terrific! We enjoy staying in a residential non-touristy areas so the location of Ciqala was a good fit for us. The only small complaint I have is that the mattress in our room was too soft and a bit high off the ground. However, our stay there was good and we would highly recommend Ciqala Luxury Suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISB5829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear CHRISB5829,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are very happy to read that you and your couple enjoyed your stay with us and all services included. We appreciate being the hotel of your choice during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. Our location, Miramar, is the second historic zone in San Juan and at only 5 minutes drive from all local attractions. We are glad that our location was a good fit for you.

Thanks so much for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back home soon. Thank you for taking of your time to share your experience in this review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Property: Ciqala Luxury Suites
Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing