We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One downfall; never want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

It is our second night staying here and I must say there is plenty here to impress anyone. We were pleasantly greeted by staff and then were given the key to our presidential suite. The room was no disappointment from the pictures and even better than we were hoping. We had breakfast this morning which was made to order and super delicious. The penthouse had a great view and a nice view to start the day. We left for a couple hours and came back to a made bed and new towels. Really looking forward to the dinner on Tuesday and can't wait to see what else the hotel has to offer. Recommended for any family :)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Marisol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Marisol D,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your review, we appreciate your choice of hotel during your visit to our enchanted island. It is a pleasure having you as our guests and to read that you are enjoying your stay, that you love breakfast with us and that our staff and Presidential Suite exceeded your expectations. For dinner we usually have international cuisine with a touch of our native Puerto Rican cuisine, we hope you love it as much as breakfast.

We genuinely look forward to your stay to be a memorable one and look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits to Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 896 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked this hotel as our second choice based on all the positive reviews. It is difficult to find and we arrived by taxi. I was happy I had printed the confirmation with the address. When we approached the tax stand he looked at the paper and gave us a price of $17 for my husband and I and four pieces of luggage. I had tried to pre book with Metro but never heard from them. In hindsight, I would have asked for them specifically. When the driver asked us where we were going, I again gave him the paper and he then had to make a call. When we arrived at the hotel he told us $21. Rather than argue, we just didn't provide a tip. The front of the hotel has a few steps. Not alot, but enough that getting four pieces of luggage while trying to keep the door open was a challenge. Neither the driver nor the front desk attendant helped in this regard. We arrived around 5 pm and our room was ready. We stayed in Room 704. Our room was on the same level as where they serve breakfast and the smell of bacon permeated the entire floor. We were also worried the noise would wake us in the morning. Neither proved to be a problem. The room is set back far enough that you couldn't hear anything at all. The room itself was lovely and we instantly wished we had come in a day sooner. Quite spacious and ample room for the two of us. There is a mini bar which has GREAT prices!!!! We met friends for dinner in Old San Juan and so didn't spend much time at the hotel our first evening.

As past reviewers have posted, I wouldn't feel safe to walk around. I'm certain it IS safe, which is what management is going to reply BUT my husband and I discussed this and I think it has alot to do with the fact that most people don't live in cities anymore. If you are from NYC or Chicago and you are used to walking around cities, you may come here and not have any issues with walking around. I personally would not. We took a cab to Punto de Vista which is right by the cruise terminal to meet some friends. The cab ride was $16.

The breakfast in the morning proved to be anything but positive. I had read mixed reviews but mostly they were positive. We knew another couple staying there and by the time we met them, they had already placed their order and had been waiting about 15 min. 45 minutes after they placed their order they still had not received their order and had to leave. After about 30 min after placing our order and two other tables arriving after us receiving theirs, we went in and asked about breakfast. We were told very curtly, it was coming. We waited another 10 min and another table arriving after us received their order. This time my husband bypassed the rude waitress and went to the chef (it's an open kitchen) and sure enough, our order was had been misplaced. We weren't in a hurry and said no problem. When the order finally came out, my "cooked to order breakfast" of waffles, turned out to be frozen EGGO waffles!!!!!! I was furious. I would have happily grabbed some yogurt and croissants if I had known that. By the time our breakfast finally arrived it was a little after ten and they had cleared the bar of all the grab and go foods. My husband's omelette was good and he was kind enough to share. I would never have breakfast there again.

After breakfast we brought our luggage down and checked out. The front desk clerk called us a taxi and this time we were assisted with our luggage.

In hindsight, I would have stayed closer to the terminal because the cab fares are very high! If I were staying in San Juan for a longer period of time I would consider staying here again but renting a car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nyagnandagn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear nyagnandagn,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to Puerto Rico. Our hotel is not known by all taxi companies due to it is a new property, we have made visits and announcements on the local newspapers, but it takes a little time till everyone gets the awareness of our hotel. All taxi companies are regulated by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company and they all have a flat fee plus extra charges which has being established by the previously mentioned government entity. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay, we took notes of them to make sure that doesn't happen again. It is an honor for us to read that you were happy with your room accommodation and its location as well as with the mini bar.

In regards to our location, you are completely right, Miramar is the second historic zone in San Juan and for people who are not use to walk around or live in cities, may not feel safe. We deeply apologize for the long wait for your breakfast order and also take this opportunity to explain that our breakfast is freshly made every morning and upon request.

We strongly encourage you to visit us again on your next visit to our island and allow us with the opportunity to serve you again. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites – San Juan
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Ciqala for one night prior to a cruise. The hotel was nice, we were in a queen room, nice décor and amenities. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom very nice. We had the opportunity to go see one of the bigger suites and were surprised at the size. The only issue we had was after we ordered breakfast, we waited 45 minutes, never got it, and were told they lost our order, we never did eat as we had to leave to meet someone else for sightseeing. Other people we met from the cruise, told us the waffles they got for breakfast seemed to be the frozen type and just heated up. It was a quiet, residential type neighborhood, and it was a quiet area. About the same cab fee as going to the Condado area.

As far as comfort and room size and amenities, yes, I could recommend it, but not for the breakfast service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Scott K,

Thanks so much for taking of your busy time to share your experience with us. We glad to read that you were happy with your accommodation and that you were able to see one of our Presidential Suites. In regards to your breakfast experience, we truly apologize for that inconvenience. Our breakfast in freshly made every morning upon request, it is the first time we read a comment like this about our waffles.

We encourage you to honor us with your visit again and provide you the opportunity to serve you as well as to make sure your stay is a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Once again, thanks for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

-Friendly and helpful staff
-Clean and modern rooms
-3 bedroom suite is very spacious
-Free breakfast and dinner on certain nights was nice
-Comfy beds
-Free parking
-Reasonably prices for the food, drinks and alcohol stocked in the fridge

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear TommyHaley,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience in this review. We appreciate your selection of hotel during your visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are glad that our staff exceeded your expectations and that you were able to enjoy of all services that we have added to enhance our guests experience.

We look forward to see you again soon at your home away from home here in Puerto Rico. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did a ton of research before choosing this hotel. This hotel was perfect for us and the type of vacation we planned. First of all, we rented a car because we wanted to see the island (they have FREE parking). If we wanted to lay around by the pool or the beach, we would have stayed at a resort. Some people go to just spend all their time in Old San Juan, which is wonderful, but you need to stay in a hotel there. Our room was beautiful! We had a 1 bedroom presidential suite that was 1300 square feet! This is a great place to stay for a group of couples or a family with adult children.
Every morning they have a complimentary made to order breakfast. Michael and his interns were wonderful and truly a big highlight of our trip. After breakfast everyday we would then go down to the front desk and Glenn would print out maps for us. We already knew where we were going for the day and Glenn provided supplementary information. She is wonderful and another huge asset to Ciqala. Just to let you know how much we travelled, we went to: Ponce, Old San Juan, Guavate, Arecibo, the caverns, El Yunque, Luquillo, and Fajardo (we stayed 6 nights there). We used our iPhones as the GPS in our car and it worked really well.
We were only able to attend one of the dinners and it was pretty good. I cannot attest to the cocktail hour because we were too busy seeing the island and eating with the locals.
I saw that some people had some concern with the location and walking, etc. We liked that it was in a residential area, it was quieter and less burdened with tourist traffic. Puerto Rico is a beautiful country but it's not a first world country like the U.S., Canada, or the U.K. So, I think that maybe some of these reviews are from people that have not travelled outside the U.S. much or they are just used to resort only vacations.
Lisa is the manager and fixed any issues we had from the inoperable tv remote in our room to the printer being out of ink on the SP floor. Lisa, Glenn, and Michael are fantastic! You should visit them, they will make you feel welcome and cared for.
Bottom line: stay here, see the island, park for free, start the day off with a great breakfast, and sleep in comfortable luxury!

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravellingFoodie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear TravellingFoodie77,

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to Puerto Rico and for taking of your precious time to share your experience in this review. It is truly an honor for us to read that our hotel was just perfect for your vacation and exactly what you planned, we are also glad to read that you were amazed by our spacious Suite. We are glad to read that our Glen and Michael exceeded your expectations by delivering an excellent service as part of our commitment. We always work that extra mile to make sure our guests experience is the best.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy breakfast and dinner with us. It is also great to read about our Manager Lisa and our staff being able to assist with our guests needs. We are happy to read that you were able to explore within our location and see that it is a safe and quite area. You really had what we call the best vacation experience ever as you were also able to explore other areas outside San Juan.

We look forward to welcome you back home in a very near future. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Suites
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Cyqala Suites (3 nights) for the last part of our trip, which included Luquillo beach and the island of Culebra. The hotel is located in the Miramar area, not too far from the action offer by Old San Juan but without the hassle of the cruise ships. The rooms are exquisite if you opt for a suite; however, the standard rooms are okay but on the small side. Breakfast and nightly happy hour are included in the rate. In addition,two nights a week, dinner is provided free of charge. The employees are polite, welcoming and very professional. I would definitely return to the Cyqala Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CesarJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear CesarJimenez,

We appreciate your hotel selection during your visit to our island. It was an honor to have you as our guests. We are so glad to read that you were able to stay at other areas of the island, Luquillo and Culebra are very beautiful. It is a pleasure to read that you also had the opportunity to enjoy all services that we have included on our rates to enhance our guests experience. Miramar is part of San Juan, it is the second historic zone and it is at only minutes to Old San Juan and it’s attractions.

We are truly honored to read that you will visit us again and we strongly look forward to continue welcoming you back home on your next visits. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We loved our experience. We had a Studio apartment. Parents if you want privacy, get an upgrade. It was plenty of sleeping room for us. But considering it was a studio. There wasn't any mommy daddy private fun times. Walmart is walking distance. But do not walk at night. Eat at Los Pinos it was great and inexpensive. It's walking distance as well. Better area than the Walmart. Don't take taxi, take city bus to Old San Juan. Only 75 cent and easy to find your way. Breakfast at Ciqala was the best!!!! Jorge, Glen, Sebastian and the manager (don't know her name) were all very helpful. We caught courtesy taxi to beach. But a pool would have made this place like ice cream with a cherry on top. I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottoday-people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Nottoday-People,

Thanks so much for choosing our hotel as the place to stay during your visit to our beautiful island. You are absolutely right about your comment in regards to the mommy and daddy private fun time as this unit only has a black out drape which is basically a curtain. For couples traveling with children we strongly recommend our Two Bedroom Deluxe Suites or our Presidential Suites as they have separated rooms for more privacy. The bus ride is 75 cents to the Isla Verde area as well so you can enjoy the full experience of our local area in a cost effective way. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as breakfast. Thanks so much for your suggestions in regards to a swimming pool, that is a detail that we have under serious considerations for the future.

It is always to read about our staff exceeding our guests expectations, we always work the extra mile to make sure our guests have a memorable experience. We truly look forward to continue welcoming you back at your home in Puerto Rico on your next visits. Once again, thanks so much for your review.

Warmest regards,
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
850 reviews
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.3 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#9 of 47 in San Juan
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $192 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing