We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait To Return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our stay at Ciqala Suites is due to an impromptu trip to escape the cold in NYC. We scored a great rate and was very happy I decided to stay here instead of a traditional hotel. My room was on the penthouse floor. This was a room and not a suite as my trip was for two days. However, the room more than met our needs...queen size bed, flat screen tv, large bathroom, two large closets, fridge & microwave, great mini-bar which was very reasonably priced, and awesome toiletries. Made to order breakfast is complimentary. Complimentary beer and wine is served on Monday evenings, and complimentary dinner on Tuesday and Thursdays. I did get a tour of the suites, which I LOVE. Upon my return, I will definitely book a suite and bring family and friends along. The suites are huge, full kitchens with granite countertops and high end stainless appliances, a large living and dining area, great bedrooms, and contemporary furnishings. I also must make mention of the sub-penthouse floor where meals are served. ..this is a great dining, lounge, and social area. I can't say enough good things about this place. I have no hesitation recommending this property.

A few helpful tips...the property is in a residential SAFE neighborhood. You may want to rent a car which is the best way to see the island anyway. Do book a day/overnight trip on Culebra or Vieques. Explore some of the other beaches outside of San Juan. I really enjoyed Luquillo.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 5daygetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear 5daygetaway,

We truly appreciate taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you and your companion here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also glad to read that you noticed that our location is safe. Our Suites are excellent for parties of 2 to up to 6 guests; it will really be a pleasure to welcome you and your friends and family again at our hotel.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
There are newer reviews for Ciqala Luxury Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 883 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arrived after midnight, but were still very warmly welcomed to Ciqala Suites. This was the attitude during our three night stay - all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our suite was HUGE! We reserved one bedroom, but our suite had two other bedrooms and another bath locked. There are only two suites per floor. We had an enormous living/dining room combination. The kitchen was beautiful with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. Included in our room was a laundry with a washer and dryer. The bedroom was big with a large walk-in closet. The bath was separated into a toilet/bidet/shower room and a jetted tub with two sinks in the other room. Complimentary breakfast and Thursday night dinner were an added plus. The dinner was pasta, chicken, and salad with wine or beer. The breakfast was made-to-order and delicious! The location is not ideal, but it is very workable.A convenience store is right next door, although the mini-bar prices are very fair here. The hotel has a free beach shuttle to Condado Beach. There was construction on the penthouse during our stay, but it did not detract from our enjoyment. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to all!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear LmCubs,

Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico; we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you and your couple here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed while staying with us and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also happy to let you know that we have completed the construction on our PH floor and it is now ready for the enjoyment of our guests.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is great. I stayed for two weeks and they always treated me as part of the family. The rooms are huge. Great for a family stay. The breakfast and dinner were very good as well. The kitchen has top of the line appliances. I was able to do my laundry in the laundry room located in the room. Not too far from the hotel is a movie theater, plenty of places to eat, and a grocery store.

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor and was nice and breeze.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Plcmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Plcmar,

We really appreciate your review. Thanks so much for taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guests and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed your stay and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are also happy to know that you also enjoyed visiting the fantastic nearby cinema café as well as the large variety of restaurants and shops within our area.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Quite honestly I had high hopes for my stay at Ciqala. If I could give a 3.5 rating I would. The room itself was clean and comfortable (we stayed in room 802 which is the Penthouse level). Little did we know there was actually loud construction right next to our room from 8:00am to 4:00pm during our stay. Most of the day we were out exploring, however it would have been helpful to know this upfront or receive a discount for the inconvience. One night we walked up to our room and saw a recently built door on our level (we felt like we were in the Twighlight Zone!). As prior posts have mentioned, the mini bar is reasonable and the service was very good. The breakfast was also a nice touch (banana pancakes were tasty).

What I didn't realize was the extent of how bad the location was. I knew it was not ideal from prior reviews, however I thought the location was horrible. We walked about 4 blocks east (past the convienence station) and the scenery began to look seedy (a park filled with homeless people). When we asked about nearby restaurants, the concierge recommended a restaurant across the street a block away, but never tried the restaurant himself which I thought was strange. I would recommend Ciqala to people that have large groups as there is plenty of space for parties of 4 or more, but due to the location, I wish I would have booked a hotel for my husband and I in the Condado area and took a taxi to OSJ to explore (we ended up driving to OSJ and Condado during our stay). I definitely recommend splurging for the GPS on the rental car (or buying one before coming to PR). I have an iPhone5 and my husband has a Galaxy Note and neither one of our GPS apps on our phone worked.

Also, note that upon check in, $50 is charged to your credit card for incidentals and is refunded after your stay. Not a big deal, but something I hadn't encountered before.

Room Tip: I do not recommend the penthouse floor. It sounds like a nice level (we only saw two rooms on this...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CappaccinoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Ms. Cappaccino,

Thanks so much for your review. Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan, Puerto Rico; this area keeps its buildings as original as when they were built back in the 1800’s. As part of our history, Miramar was declared as an official historic area and most of the buildings are conserved in their original structures. Also not to forget to mention that our famous international actors Jose Ferre lived here, Benicio del Toro still calls it home and one of the leading music conservatory in America is located here in Miramar. To help you better understand the structures, we truly encourage you to watch a video that we created to educate our visitors about our location, you can watch it by copy pasting this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9V2UdtO5Jz8&feature=plcp or by simply going to our website and clicking on the YouTube icon on the top right on your screen, the name of the video is Our location - Miramar.

By the time you were visiting us, we were scheduled to have the ongoing construction from 10:00 am to 4:00 pm as explained on the letters distributed to our guests and that is why we agreed on moving our guests to an area away from the construction to avoid inconveniences by noises. Thanks so much for your comment about our breakfast, this is one of the many valued added to our guests experiences and one of the most enjoyed one.

We are truly surprised by your comment as you were one the guests who extended nights to your stay. As all worldwide hotels, we require a method of payment as guarantee for any incidental charges and yes, it is refunded on check out time. Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be honored to have you as our guests on your next visits to our enchanted island. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel is magnificent! The rooms are top notch, the free underground parking, the made to order breakfast, the location, and most of all the entire staff is so friendly and will bend over backwards for you! We have had a wonderful stay and will certainly stay here again when we visit again and recommend it to everyone we know!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vtnataliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Vtnataliya,

We really appreciate you taking of your time to share your experience with us and other travelers who are currently in a search for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was an honor to have you here as our guest and are more than happy to know that you as most of our guests enjoyed your stay and all values that we have added to enhance our guest’s experience, we are so delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations as well as that you will continue staying with us on your next visits to Puerto Rico.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We will be more than honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Good- nice hotel. Converted from a condo building. Extremely spacious and clean. There is a mini bar in the room which is not overpriced like most hotels. The service was remarkable and the breakfast was awesome. I called the front desk several times during my stay and they were very helpful. The price was very reasonable.

The bad- location sucks, sucks, sucks! We did not rent a car initially because we thought we'd be within walking distance of most attractions, NOT! We ended up renting a car but be prepared for the awful roads and lack of direction on street signs.

The Ugly- The view from the room was not an attractive one!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Moni5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Moni,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and review with us and other travelers who are currently searching for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our services as well as amenities. In regards to our location, Miramar is the second historic area here in San Juan; as part of our history, the buildings structures are kept as original. Some of the attractions are within walking distance as well as others are within minutes driving such as all the main attractions at Old San Juan.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service and stay for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to continue visiting us on your next trips to Puerto Rico, we will be more than honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

WOW!!! It's a tiny private hotel that must have been coverted from a upscale lux condo building. Stayed there 3 days and couldn't be more surprised and impressed. Huge room just like the photos. A bit too big in fact. Breakfast was amazing with cook to order from real chef. Very secure building with gated garage. But it is quite quirky probably because it's a converted condo building. High end fixtures and ultra high end soap/shampoo. Very quiet in the hotel. Outside very loud especially on weekend night due to neighborhood goings on. Hotel is right beside a small 7-11 type store and bar/cafe for better and worse. Neighborhood is solidly residential middle class which if you know the caribbean is really upper class. Felt safe enough but at night streets are totally dead. Short short drive to all the usual touristy spots. Would have been shorter but PR roads are inexplicable and got spun around every single time I went out. Free parking and wifi and breakfast. Super high end building at a great value. Doesn't get much better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mattandhelen6006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes L, Guest Relations Manager at Ciqala Luxury Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear Mattand Helen,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and review with us and other travelers who are currently searching for a place to stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. We are very happy and enjoyed reading your review, especially that we exceeded your expectation and that you were completely impressed by our services as well as amenities. In regards to the store next door, most of the locals who live in this area gather there in the evening just to talk and share.

Our team is committed to providing the highest level of service and stay for our guests and this is why we love to deliver the best quality of service in San Juan. We also take this opportunity to invite you to continue visiting us on your next trips to Puerto Rico, we will be more than honored to welcome you back at your home away from home in San Juan. Once again, thanks so much for your review!

Warmest regards,
The Management Team
CIQALA Luxury Home Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciqala Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciqala Luxury Suites

Address: 752 Manuel Fernandez Juncos Ave. | Puerto Rico, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#3 Family Hotel in San Juan
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#8 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $121 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ciqala Luxury Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you call for reservation to your arrival, we make sure that your stay with us is more like visiting family members as we deliver personalized service at all the time and take close attention to details. Whether you are here on business or pleasure, our suites are carefully decorated with your well-being in mind providing all comforts of home at your dreamed destination. We assist you stay on track while traveling with our fitness room, business center with computer access and a printer. You can just relax and enjoy your favorite drink at our rooftop pool bar while overlooking the breathtaking view of the city and Bay. Start up your day at our SP Floor with our complimentary breakfast buffet as well as made to order full American Breakfast freshly prepared by our chef who is ready to greet you with a smile every morning as well as our team members who are delighted to take your order. From fresh pastries, fruits and juices to very well deserved hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ciqala Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciqala Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing