We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious pizza and the best SANGRIA I ever had!”

Pirilo Pizza Rustica
Ranked #16 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant:Pirilo is a rustic pizzeria in which we prepare, with dedication, delicious classic Italian and international dishes; always using the freshest local products. The space is designed and decorated by combining the typical Italian trattoria with the emblematic colonial architecture of Old San Juan, creating a picturesque and warm environment. The Pirilo bar has a wide selection of drinks, exclusive to the restaurant and a variety of more than 50 handcrafted beers.Hours: Pirilo is open every day and offers lunch and dinner during the following times: Sunday 12:00 pm- 12 amMonday 12:00 pm- 12 amTuesday 12:00 pm- 12 amWednesday 12:00 pm- 12 amThursday 12:00pm- 2:00amFriday 12:00pm- 2:00amSaturday 12:00pm- 2:00amReservations:Pirilo welcomes guests on a walk-in, first-come-first-served basis.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza and the best SANGRIA I ever had!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Very cozy place, friendly service, yummy pizza, but drum roll please......the best sangria I ever had. And let me tell you, having lived in Spain before and making my own awesome sangria at home, it takes a lot to impress me. Sangria snob, anyone? :) The unique thing about the red sangria I had here was that it came with ginger, sesame seeds, and crushed almonds on top. Weird, right? But, the flavors were out of this world!!! You simply must try it!! Please have one for me if you are there - I'll be in vicarious heaven with you!

Cheers!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsEnchumbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    348
    63
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

After sitting at the bar and enjoying some appetizers, our group was seated at table. We ordered a variety of appetizers that were all delicious. We also tried 4 different pizzas since they allow you to mix and match halves of pizzas even if they have different sauces. One of the people in our group also ordered the butternut squash ravioli with pink sauce which was amazing as well! The only thing we did not like was the sangria with the almonds and sesame seeds. It was too gritty for a drink, but the waiter took it back and brought something else. Overall, a great place to eat and socialize together!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We tried to go here for dinner the previous evening but there was a long line out the door, so we came back for lunch. We were able to get right in without waiting this time. We were just about to sit in the crowded downstairs area when someone mentioned the upstairs area, so we walked up to check it out. Don't drink too much or you may have trouble navigating the stairs on the way down! The upstairs dining room was much airier with high ceilings and windows - much more pleasant. We ordered a large pizza - 1/2 cheese and 1/2 papi (asparagus, tomatoes and basil). The pizza was excellent, as was the crust. We were wondering how we would be charged for the pizza since cheese was the least expensive and papi was the most expensive. Well, they charged us for the whole more expensive pizza plus $1. This was great pizza and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food bad smell”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I don't want to steer you wrong but there was a seriously bad odor when we ate here. I'm not sure if the trash needed to be taken out or if the sewers were backed up but 2 of our kids wouldn't eat because of it. So you are asking yourself, then why eat there? Honestly we had been trekking up and down Old San Juan and we were starving. The place had good reviews and everyone in our group liked pizza so why not? Once we got over the smell, the food was really very good. I had the empanadilla sampler and it was to die for! The place filled up very quickly once we sat down and my hand enjoyed the 'secret door' ( see if you can spot it). The small pizzas are big enough for two so don't be fooled into ordering a large. I'm betting the odor isn't there all the time so we would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bcwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best pizza on the island!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Have visited this restaurant on several occassions and it is consistently excellent! Great service and atmosphere with extensive international beer list.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmbdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirilo Pizza Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Pirilo Pizza Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing