We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous pizzas”

Pirilo Pizza Rustica
Ranked #16 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: The restaurant:Pirilo is a rustic pizzeria in which we prepare, with dedication, delicious classic Italian and international dishes; always using the freshest local products. The space is designed and decorated by combining the typical Italian trattoria with the emblematic colonial architecture of Old San Juan, creating a picturesque and warm environment. The Pirilo bar has a wide selection of drinks, exclusive to the restaurant and a variety of more than 50 handcrafted beers.Hours: Pirilo is open every day and offers lunch and dinner during the following times: Sunday 12:00 pm- 12 amMonday 12:00 pm- 12 amTuesday 12:00 pm- 12 amWednesday 12:00 pm- 12 amThursday 12:00pm- 2:00amFriday 12:00pm- 2:00amSaturday 12:00pm- 2:00amReservations:Pirilo welcomes guests on a walk-in, first-come-first-served basis.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous pizzas”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Sat at the bar; ordered a Mendalla and a white wine and a pizza to share ( toppings split half and half) - it was huge. But delicious all the same. Great atmosphere

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennis_karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    931
    348
    63
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pizza in San Juan???? - Yes!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Who would have guessed it... pizza in San Juan...excellent. Not me. I never even searched for pizza restaurants in San Juan so while folks there might read this and think "duh, yes, we have good pizza in San Juan" it never crossed my mind. And yet there we were, walking on Fortaleza (I love that street), wondering what we were going to eat when out of the corner of our eye we saw beer, lots of it, all lined up in a row, just sitting, waiting for walkers-by to come in and enjoy. So we took a look at the menu and found ourselves entering. We were seated right away, enjoyed a couple of those beers and had one of the best pizzas we've ever had. Now, we're from Chicago, and we know great pizza here, (yes, New Yorkers, your pizza is yummy, too), and this was surprisingly delicious, flavorful, meaty (we got the meat lovers - not sure that was the name), with just the right amount of sauce, and cheese, and a crispy, airy, bubbly crust. YUM. If you need a little escape from the island cuisine then head over here! You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quietlycool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayey, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great ambiance, amazing pizza (all the ones I've tried), love the "Lazos de Pan", different types of beers and drinks, good service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kt3re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockville, md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved this pizza came back twice, it's like eating a piece of heaven. There is also many other different types of food. Oh man is was GREAT would go there everyday

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarnieMetzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catharpin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapas meets NY Pizza!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Was looking for a locals restaurant for lunch, found a great one at Pirilo! It was good friday, and we new to get there early. We got there by noon, and within 15 minutes the place was packed and a huge line out the door. The sausages, and empanadas were just amazing. At $3.50 ea the local beer, Medalla was a steal.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirilo Pizza Rustica also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pirilo Pizza Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing