We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, Great service”

Pirilo Pizza Rustica
Ranked #17 of 1,034 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $26
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The restaurant:Pirilo is a rustic pizzeria in which we prepare, with dedication, delicious classic Italian and international dishes; always using the freshest local products. The space is designed and decorated by combining the typical Italian trattoria with the emblematic colonial architecture of Old San Juan, creating a picturesque and warm environment. The Pirilo bar has a wide selection of drinks, exclusive to the restaurant and a variety of more than 50 handcrafted beers.Hours: Pirilo is open every day and offers lunch and dinner during the following times: Sunday 12:00 pm- 12 amMonday 12:00 pm- 12 amTuesday 12:00 pm- 12 amWednesday 12:00 pm- 12 amThursday 12:00pm- 2:00amFriday 12:00pm- 2:00amSaturday 12:00pm- 2:00amReservations:Pirilo welcomes guests on a walk-in, first-come-first-served basis.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food is really good, honestly one of the best pizzas that I have ever tasted. Service was great, our server Diriel was awesome. The place is really clean and well decorated. Only bad thing is that the place was very crowded and we had to wait over 45 minutes to be seated, but don't worry there is a place next to the restaurant that has many pool tables so time flies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juanmi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    359
    62
    24
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hot Springs, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best pizza ever”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

You guys pizza is the best. Me and my wife visited Old San Juan on our honeymoon last last may, and fell in love with what I believe to be some of the best pizza in the world. Thank you guys for such a pleasant and satisfying experience. Chris and Destiny Rodgers

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great pizza, long wait times”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Always crowded!!! Service is slow. Pizza is great!!! Try carbonara or la pampa. Calamari is delicious but small serving size in my opinion. Geneva salad & fresh lemonade are highlights. Atmosphere is loud like being part of a big italian family.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conquistador14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2 shops down from the Milano hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I hope this is the right place. I went to Pirilo Resturant last night, my last night in old san juan:( I loved it, my husband and I went there after a recommendation from the front desk at the hotel we were staying at. It was 2 shops down from the Milano on Fortenza. The food was amazing we got a pizza and empanadas and drinks. Our waitress was Camila, she was very friendly made us feel right at home. The bartender was Jose' (Pollito), very nice and makes great drinks. The prices were great and the food was as well. Thanks Jose' and Camila for a great experience!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Impressive pizza and appetizers, if you can get in and have the time”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Pirilo's occupies a very narrow two story house in the middle of Old San Juan, with enough room for about 30 patrons in their downstairs tables and bar stools; more in their upper floor if it happens to be open, which it was not the two times we visited. Their pizzas are quite good, with a mix of toppings you likely won't find anywhere else, and their empanadas are exquisite, although not the same as the real Argentine empanadas they are supposed to be. The menu is a mix of Italian, Argentine, and Spanish cuisines all folded into a pizza pie. It works.

The first time we tried to eat lunch here, it was 12:30pm (they open at noon), and there were 15 people in line outside the establishment waiting to be seated. They told us it would be about a 40 minute wait, we figured it'd be 90 minutes or more, and decided to try another day. We would have been right if we'd waited. The second time we tried for lunch we arrived at 11:55am. We were the first in line when they opened at 12 sharp. Within 30 minutes the same line had formed outside, and this was on a Sunday, where the local business patrons aren't even there to compete with for table space. Our lunch took two hours; when we left some of the same people that had arrived at 12:30 were still waiting to be seated.

Service is slooooooow. Or, I should say, the waiters are always present and ready to assist, but the food takes forever to come out. We ordered beef empanadas and spinach and cheese empanadas along with a wine soaked Spanish chorizo as appetizers. We were also going to order a few pizzas at the same time but the waiter asked us to wait, and order them after we'd finished our appetizers. Wise choice. The appetizers came out in about 20 minutes. They were all very, very good. We then ordered the pizzas, which you can get as a standard pizza or folded into a calzone. The most decadent is the pizza "el pecado", or the sin, which has, among other things, churrasco, Argentine and Spanish chorizos, bacon, ham, manchego cheese, and ground beef. Delicious, and likely to reduce your lifespan by about 6 months. The pizzas took another 40 minutes to come out, so by now we were some 80 minutes into lunch. We decided to try dessert, which was ok but with a bit less "wow" factor than the main meal. That added another 20 minutes to our stay, which combined with getting and paying the bill added up to a most enjoyable but lengthy two hour lunch.

Some notes:

Pizzas come in two sizes, personal and family. The personal pizzas will satisfy, but they are quite pricey, running up to $18 per pizza. Family ones are a better value somewhere around $20 to $25 per pie.

There is no waiting room inside. You may provide your name and wait outside if they are full. If the weather looks like rain, bring an umbrella, wait in the store next door (which they likely do not like), or pick another day.

They are open every day, including holidays, though I would inquire about Christmas season and around Lent, as most everyone closes during those two timeframes.

The inside is, as mentioned, narrow. That means enough room for two tables wide, and about four tables deep, in the downstairs. It's not elbow to elbow, but it can get cozy.

The stairs leading to the upstairs room, which we did not enter, are very steep. Not for those with knee issues or difficulty in movement.

As with most of Old San Juan, there is no real parking. If you are driving there, park in the Covadonga or Doña Fela parking lots close to the cruise ship piers and walk the four or five blocks total up toward toward Fortaleza street and then left toward Tanca.

Should you go? An emphatic yes. Just make sure you get there early, preferably before they open, and thus for lunch. I can't imagine how crazy the place must get for dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallenitaAzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirilo Pizza Rustica also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Pirilo Pizza Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing