We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and way to experience San Juan!”
other travelers have booked this property
Studio apartment's queen size bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Studio apartment's queen size bed
One of our Studio apartments' outdoor seating area. View of Condado from our beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
53 reviews
Studio apartment's queen size bed
One of our Studio apartments' outdoor seating area.
View of Condado from our beach.
Studio apartment detail
One of our Studio apartments' outdoor seating area.
Beautiful sunsets.
View of Ocean Park Beach at the end of our street.
Ocean Park Beach steps form our property
One of our Studio apartments' kitchen.
Studio's kitchen
One of our Studio apartments' kitchen.
One of our Studio apartments' bathroom.
Studios' outdoor seating area.
Studio apartment. Queen bed. Always fresh linens and bed covers.
Studio apartment. Always fresh linens and bed covers.
Studio apartment detail.
Studio bathroom with shower. Fresh towels.
Kitchen with all the amenities.
Studio bathroom detail
Beach access steps from our building.
Our building on the left. Palm trees line beach at the end of the street.
Elena Street is only a block long and ends at the beach.
Kite surfing on a cloudless day in Ocean Park.
Early morning on Ocean Park beach
Kitesurfing at dusk
One of our Studio apartments' outdoor seating area.
View of our beach from Condado. We are located right after the buildings.
Sunset in Old San Juan, 15 mins by car.
Farmers market, Plaza de Mercado en Santurce. 5 mins by car
Plaza de Mercado en Santurce. 5 mins by car
Location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jheintz10
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and way to experience San Juan!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent our honeymoon in San Juan in this studio and couldn't have been any happier with our choice. From start to finish Maria made everything extremely easy (including returning our security deposit before we even boarded our plane in San Juan!) and Javier who does maintenance was wonderful to meet and get to know. Because we stayed for 10 days, having a kitchen made everything much cheaper than it would have otherwise been, which is in addition to the already low cost of the studio compared to hotels in Condado, Miramar, or Isla Verde.

Okay, so what did we like the most? The beach! We spent at least a couple hours everyday at the beach because it was literally three houses down from us. Needless to say the beach itself was beautiful and never overcrowded. Even better? Because the studio is in Ocean Park, which is more residential than the super-touristy areas, we didn't have to contend with hoards of vacationers and instead most of the people who use that stretch of beach are Puerto Rican. Also close by were several local restaurants (including the now famous Kasalta bakery famous because Obama visited there in 2011), convenience stores, Walgreens, and fast food restaurants.

In terms of getting to Old San Juan and the more central parts of the city, the T5 and C53 buses were only a 5 minute walk away. That said, the buses can be irregular and it's safe to assume a 15-30 minute wait for them. After you're on them though it's about a 20 minute ride. With rental cars there isn't a designated space to park but there's parking along the streets around the studio and the one night we had to do that it wasn't a problem.

We thoroughly enjoyed visiting PR and in no small part because of where we stayed. For those not looking for a 5-star hotel and prefer not to always be around tourists, from our experience you can't go wrong with this one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2013
Hi John: thank you for such a detailed review. This is a great tool for our future guests. It's great to read, first hand, what the neighborhood is like and all the things you could do in the area. We are very happy you chose to stay with us for your honeymoon. Hopefully you can return for an anniversary!? Best from Javier and all of us at Arenas Beach Apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Headk70
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A gem that adds brightness to the area!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Property is just as advertised. Maria was a perfect hostess and Javier was available if the need arose. The information and the color coded map of dining, activities and retail was excellent. Everything you could need is within walking distance, and Old San Juan a 10 minute car ride. Location is also 10-12 minutes from the airport in the opposite direction. Security deposit was returned the same day I checked out. I will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the beach!!
Liked least: Street parking somewhat tedious on good beach days.
Traveling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2013
Hi Ken:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It really helps future guests get acquainted with our property. You were a great guest and we look forward to your next visit. Best from all of us at Arenas Beach Apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris
Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaniEM
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Less than a block from the beach”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Right from get go, the rental Co was prompt in responding to queries and addressing concerns.

Location was very convenient. Close to Old SJ and yet, not within Old SJ. Beach was 3-4 houses from this unit. Unit was adequately furnished. Instructions to access the unit were very clear. Lots of helpful info provided about the neighborhood, where the pharmacy/grocery store were, etc

Parking is on the curb but it is not a problem to find space and more importantly, very very safe. Within days after vacating, the deposit was returned promptly.

Very happy overall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its location and how safe it was. Close to Old SJ, the main freeway and next door to the beach.
Liked least: Water pressure on the shower
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City (Queens)
Reviewed November 22, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 22, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We have revised the detailed map we supplied you. It now says SuperMax Supermarket 24/7 instead of Super Max 24/7.

Per our conversations we were unaware you were interested in daily cleaning. That could have easily been arranged for an additional fee.

Regarding the $500 apartment your friends mentioned I'd like to clarify -for the benefit of people considering short term rentals in PR- these monthly rents are based on a yearly signed contract. A property at this price would not be as close to the beach, probably much less inside the controlled access area of Ocean Park. They would also be unfurnished, without appliances, linens, towels, plates, glasses and utensils. Most importantly it would be without cable, WiFi, water and electricity.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
T K
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location, Small place but perfert for 2 people.”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed in San Juan the end of July. I booked this property with Maria after reading lots of good reviews. I was hesitant about paying upfront but everything was perfect. Our deposit was returned after our vacation. We paid $600 for a week.

The place is a small bachelor. But there's everything there that you need to cook and clean. There was toilet paper, paper towels, soap, beach towels and beach chairs. Everything was clean. The place is a 30 second walk to the beach. Just like the pictures. It's very nice. The area seems very safe, there's a guard 24/7 who checks cars coming into the area. There are cops around.

There are a few things I could recommend for improvement. A screen door would be nice so mosquito's don't get in if you want to keep the door open and a garden hose or something like that to wash yourself off after you come from the beach.

For the area. I highly recommend trying pizza cone's, directly north of when you come out of the compound across from the gas station. If you turn left on Mcleary coming out of the compond there's a very tasty mexican burrito place. Kasalta isn't bad either. Stay away from the beach restaurant though, it's ridiculously expensive and the food isn't that great.

For the island. We rented a car for a couple days and went swimming under a waterfall in La Mima falls in El Yunque (free) also we went kayaking at night to the bio luminescent bay on Laguna Grande north of fajardo ($40 per person). Very cool. If you show up at 6 without booking it seems like you can find a company that has a cancellation, but they seem really busy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing