We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slow service”
Review of Cafe del Angel

Cafe del Angel
Ranked #49 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, slow service”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This restaurant was across the street from our hotel. The tostones and crab stew are excellent. Service was slow and the waiter only submitted half of our order for some reason, but the food was good when it arrived.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    325
    100
    22
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome cafe with real authentic flare”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great food great price great service. The food is amazing and authentic to what you will find in traditional Puerto Rican food .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Neat place, great atmosphere, VERY FRIENDLY STAFF”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The restaurant is located on the main strip of El Condado, San Juan. Their breakfast was great and at a reasonable price. I'm usually not a coffee drinker but watching everyone enjoy a nice cup of coffee with milk was too tempting so I gave in and ordered me one, so glad I did. The staff was super friendly, they refer to their customers as 'familia' or 'family'. The staff makes this place that much better...will return to this restaurant next time I find myself in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angel12vgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good takeout!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Great lunch spot. Eat in or take out. Mofongo good, rice with chicken absolutely delicious. Cuban sandwiches very good. Decent prices. Great place to go if staying in Condado. If we were staying longer we would probably go again.

Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“1st dinner in San Juan”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We decided on the restaurant because its location was directly accorss from our hotel. The Price was about average to the other local restaurants. We were seated immediately and our drink and food orders were taken pretty quickly but thats when everything came to a hault. It took forever to get our food. My parents loved the fried chicken and i forget what i ordered but it was ok. My wife ordered the Mofungo which came to her cold in the middle and if it were heated up properly would have been good.

My only suggestion to this restaurant is to higher more staff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottWanke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Angel also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing