We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe del Angel

Cafe del Angel
Ranked #51 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Like a lot of the reviews, we were staying at La Concha across the road. This does look 'a bit of a dive' but the staff are great, really friendly and helpful, and we went back several times to eat. Some of the places around were very expensive for what you got, but Cafe Angel was pretty good. And we did like the staff a lot. Try the canoa - a plantain stuffed with beef. Really good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MinnieBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    313
    96
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champion, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great grouper sandwich and reasonable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I loved the grouper sandwich daily for lunch with the red skirt, one of my favorite drinks of the trips! Don't expect anything quick.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanJPankiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Mofongo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday night in early October, around 5pm. The restaurant was faily empty. Later on, there was a musician. He was good but we left just as he started to play. Not because of him but because we had other things to do.

We checked in to our hotel at La Concha (across the street) then walked over to Angels to meet the rest of our party.
As we had beer after beer (happy hour!) we decided to just stay here for dinner. Good thing we did!!!
Before dinner a small loaf of garlic bread was delivered to our table. I was waiting on a huge dinner, so I didn't have any. By the way it disappeared, I guess it was good. We ordered a starter of calamari, they were nice and crispy.
For the main dish, I ordered the shrimp mofongo. My husband ordered the chuleta ahumadas, smoked pork chops with a side of fried sweet plantains.
The mofongo was the BEST mofongo I have had yet!!!! It was not dry, the gravy was very flavorful and the shrimp were cooked perfectly!
I would have finished my plate (and licked it) but I did promise to share it with my dear husband. His food was very good too- by the way!

I have never planned a hotel visit around a restaurant but I do believe I will plan my next stay within walking distance of Angels! (most likely at La Concha- see that review)

Serena, our server, was a dear! She knew the menu inside and out and offered helpful tips too. Our food was delivered fast and hot.

I would highly recommend this for happy hour and dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2IslandDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is great for the Puerto Rican standard food, but done really well! The prices are reasonable (unlike many of the others along this strip that are expensive). I recommend the homemade hot sauce!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bwfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALPHARETTA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food, Fun Staff, Awesome Drinks....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

If you want good puerto Rican food and a fun atmosphere, go here!! We went 2 nights in a row....and about to go back tonight. The mofongo and shrimp criolle is delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DF P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe del Angel also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing