We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed in La Terraza for 3 days after our Carnival Valor cruise. The hotel is located in Calle Sol, cobble stone Old San Juan vibe. I must say that all the staff in this hotel are super NICE..Sofia, Carmen, Naya and Princess!! They gave us a first class suite since the 2 QB room has no aircon..we stayed in room 122. The decor all throughout the hotel is exquisite. I love the cultural atmosphere. The breakfast in the terrace is a bonus! Who wouldn't want coffee on top of the terrace??? We ate in El Jabarito..La Cuerva del Mar..Cafe la Princesa..Parrot Club..good portions and affordable. Do not waste your money on Raices! It's not worth it, even their mojito sucks. Went to El Yunque via rental car and just returned it same day. The entrance fee to San Cristobal includes El Morro- trolley is available all day. Overall-- Old SJ is excellente..magnifico..awesome experience!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank splok_kv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 776 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

Our family had a great trip to Puerto Rico. We arrived at the hotel at noon and our room was not ready until 2:00 pm which was fine because "El Jibarito" restaurant was one block down and the lunch was so good. We were able to secure our suitcases by the gated entrance while our room was getting ready. Upon arrival we were greeted with an offer to a drink and pastries. We stayed in room 5 and it was perfect for our family, two bedrooms with a pull out sofa, two full bathrooms and lots of space. The kitchen was fully stacked with plates, pots, cups...ect. The first thing we did when we unpacked our clothing into our roomy closets was walk over to the supermarket. I will recommend anyone who is traveling with a big family and renting a car to bring a bag cooler like we did, it saved us a lot of money. We bought two cases of water for less than 6 bucks and kept iced water everywhere we went to save on buying drinks. We also did some trips to the beach, El Yunque, and ziplined at La Marqueza Park and made sandwiches for our adventures and it saved us money. The hotel is located in the middle of what I think gives you a feel of Puerto Rico, not far from El Morro and nice little coffee shops. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch, do not expect any hot breakfast, expect fresh fruit, warm bread, cheese, deli meat, butter, preserves, and coffee....enough to start your day with a smile. The room had adequate air conditioning and running water that does fluctuate on temperature but it is not too bad. The room had a big TV Screen which we used very little but it was nice to have. The rooftop pool is nothing to brag about but my daughters enjoyed the time spent together goofing around on top of a roof overlooking Old San Juan. Overall the trip was nice, food was good but oh so bad, especially their specialties which are mostly fried. Things you should bring with you are bug spray, sun screen, comfortable walking shoes and water shoes if you are going to El Yunque...no flip flops, a baseball cap, and some parking money because if you are renting a car good luck parking around the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

We started and ended our visit to Puerto Rico at La Terreza. We arrived late and found parking right in front of the hotel. We were greeted with smiles and a hot cup of tea as we checked in. Our first two nights stay was in an amazing room with several balconies and a beautiful room. We had breakfasts on the terrace upstairs and in the dining room. Both were wonderful. We were provided great recommendations for places to eat and maps to enjoy our days in Old San Juan. Our last visit we downsized our room and it was smaller but every bit as beautiful and comfortable as the suite we had previously. I have NO complaints about the hotel, it is in the perfect location, with incredible service, beautiful views of the city from the terrace and wonderful staff. We HIGHLY recommend staying here! Parking can be a challenge, but we didn't mind walking a couple blocks when we couldn't find a closer spot.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Our 10th year anniversary was amazing at this place. They will exceed your expectations! This is a must stay at Old San Juan. They only have 24 rooms and every room is unique! The staff is wonderful and very helpful. It's like a home away from home!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We loved this place - the staff, the location, the accomodations. Everything exceeded our expectations. Very comfortable rooms and bed was huge. Staff was incredible - always helpful and made us feel welcome from the start. They went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our visit. This was our first time to PR and San Juan, so we didn't know what to expect or how far in advance we needed to book certain activities. The staff, especially Princess, made extra efforts to find what we were looking for. We stayed at La Terraza for 10 days and hated to leave. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We went for the cheapest room and got room 125. It was very comfortable and the bed was huge. This r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jewlz-NWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. Staff was super friendly & always ready to help. The rooftop terrace had wonderful views. The lobby, breakfast areas, and rooms were all beautifully designed. A visit to old san juan is incomplete unless you are staying at La Terraza.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Such a cool place - not your standard hotel room. Absolutely loved it - quaint, clean, great location in old San Juan, super friendly and helpful folks. View from the roof top is amazing! Highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VirginiaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
974 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
894 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#31 of 47 in San Juan
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $314 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing