We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Husband and I stayed two nights in January 2014.
Best things about this hotel: friendly and sincerely helpful staff, good central location in Old San Juan for walking or trolley rides, breakfast was outstanding and the most delightful coffee was offered free all day, bed was very comfortable.
Things that we disfavored: balcony view was uninteresting and balcony too small to justify increased cost of room, bright light shone through transom of hotel/hallway door, shutters of balcony doors and bathroom window remained "open -aired" as in they didn't close allowing shower/bedroom noises to travel outside of room,
Stayed in third story balcony room not serviced by elevator at this time. I was particularly not happy with climbing 2 x 19 steep steps to get to our room. Somehow, I missed this information when booking room. All said, nice flair and unique hotel. In my opinion, this hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohlatxnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

625 - 631 of 781 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful piece of paradise. I stayed with my family from Germany, 3 of us in room #4. We each had an oversized large bedroom with a full bathroom. In addition to a fully equipped kitchen, we had a washer-dryer and a full size living room. Each of the rooms had separate air conditioning controls, so we were able to adjust the air conditioning to each of our comfort levels. Breakfast was served at our convenience, whatever time and whatever place we wanted our breakfast to be. The breakfast was a full continental with fresh fruit, a variety of pastries, hot coffee, tea and orange juice. Melissa and her team were absolutely wonderful to deal with. I felt completely at home, and completely relaxed into the environment that they had established. A quiet, relaxed form of efficiency existed everywhere; from housekeeping, to front desk, to all the other services we could possibly ask for. I felt as if I were at home. It was so safe and so comfortable. The decor was authentic, and yet totally modern. The location was central to d San Juan, but we slept in absolute peace every evening. And, after a busy days, peace, relaxation, and comfort was all we could ask for. Don't even hesitate if you're looking for accommodation. This is the place for elegant comfortable living.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent staff and service. Nice clean rooms with really comfortable beds and the best rain shower. Spectacular views from the rooftop terrace with a nice a infinity pool. Location, location, location. Restaurants and shops near it. Walking distance to all Old San Juan.

Room Tip: OMG room 324, views to die for!! spacious, brand new…. sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gus0862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed at over 300+ hotels around the world, both as an international flight attendant and a travel lover. I was more than pleasantly surprised to find the attention to detail, perfect location, spacious and gorgeous accommodations and attentive staff at La Terraza de San Juan. Wow. We were a group celebrating a friend's birthday and all stayed on the property where we were able to host an elegant party on the rooftop with amazing views and gentle breezes... just lovely. Morning arrived with a generous tray of aromatic coffee, warm breads, fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, jams, it was delicious! I recommend this place and know you'll have a great time.

Room Tip: I got a tour of the place, every room is different and they are all great, it all depends on the siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I could not have better things to say about Franklin and the entire staff at La Terraza. We went back and forth about staying closer to the beaches or in OSJ, but all week we were more than thankful for our decision.

The rooms are spacious and have plenty of character - the tile, canopy over the bed, incredible ceilings, we were taken away by how authentic they've kept the building and each detail over the years. We didn't expect breakfast to be prepared for us individually for us every day, but it was a fantastic touch. The staff always had great recommendations for lunch, dinner, excursions and everything in-between. After five days, we didn't find ourselves bored once. We will definitely be back in the future.

Be sure to take a trip out to the rainforest/bio bay for a day. Franklin even helped us book a car and had someone arrive at the hotel to drive us to the rental location - couldn't have been easier!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaitlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I almost don't want to write this because I want to be able to get a room there. We are a family of two adults and two teens and usually book two rooms at high end boutique hotels. At El Covento the cost would have been in the 600-700 dollar range a night for two small rooms. Here? In season, we paid $375 for a massive apartment-- had to be well over 1,000 square feet, two bedrooms, full kitchen with three small balconies looking out over the beautiful streets of old san juan with the ocean at the end of the street, full living room, two full baths. Gorgeous building, much of the original architecture retained with soaring ceilings, heavy ornate mahogany doors. Breakfast of fresh juices, coffee, rolls, fruit, meats and cheeses brought to your door. Beautiful roof top balcony, perfect location, walk to everything, friendly safe neighborhood. For us there was no downside, even when they forgot our breakfast the first morning when we requested it early (said they delivered it to the wrong room)-- too many pluses for this to matter. However, what others might not like is that other than breakfast there isn't really any service to speak of, generally no one at a desk, no one to ask questions of. Even though we were given a phone number, no one answered when our breakfast didn't show up. However, we are self sufficient, and had no problem reading the information left about the hotel and area, and finding our own way around, calling our own taxi from the number left on the fridge, etc. Definitely a place for independent travels, not inexperienced travelers who need hand holding. For example, at night, you get back in by using a code and there is no one there at a desk, you just lock back up and walk to your room. This being said, I will emphasize again, it is a lively, warm, safe feeling area and we never felt uncomfortable though I can imagine travelers like my parents would be lost without someone always at a desk.

Room Tip: We loved facing the colorful, historic street (room 5 top floor?) because of the mini balconies. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtLovingFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night and we wished we could have canceled out cruise. This place is amazing. The staff go way out of their way to advise and take care of you. The rooms and the decor are outstanding - please make sure to see the terrace We love old San Juan and here you are right in the middle of it all.

Apartment # 5 has 2 rooms a full kitchen and a washer/dryer.

Thank you for such a great stay

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 48 in San Juan
254 reviews
2.6 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#11 of 48 in San Juan
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: $257 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing