We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to Love It ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Terraza de San Juan
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wanted to Love It ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for one night on our way back home after 8 days touring other parts of the Puerto Rico and Vieques. I was really looking forward to it based on the reviews, and feel bummed to even write this, but it didn't live up to our expectations. In short, we were glad we were only there for one night.

Pros:

The location of this property is terrific - wonderfully easy to get around Old San Juan and easy to find. Feels safe and secure (you are given a gate code).

The proprieters of the B&B were extremely helpful, almost to a fault. While they spent a tremendous amount of time acquainting us with our environs and giving recommendations on places to eat and things to see, it was almost information overload and got to the point where we were politely looking at our watches, trying to subtly get out of there. The local guide that they e-mail you before arrival, however, is terrific.

Cons:

We stayed in a smaller one bedroom unit that can be part of a larger apartment (which we did not see). There is a common foyer that had very thin walls, so you could hear anyone outside of our door. This would have been annoying had we been there for more than one night.

While the room was nicely furnished, the linens felt somewhat cheap, and there were no windows (despite lovely tall ceilings - the history of the building is pretty neat).

The bathroom seemed clean, but just barely. The bathroom mat looked like it had had better days, and overall, the bathroom seemed to need a deep clean, rather than a cursory once-over between guests. Worst of all, we couldn't get any hot water during our stay, only barely lukewarm showers.

Breakfast was just ok - great coffee, but we didn't think the spread was anything special to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    122
    45
    19
    18
See reviews for
163
420
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked this room prior to a cruise. We stayed three days and found the room clean quiet and peaceful. I really enjoyed the way the room was decorated it was very comfortable. It's located in Old San Juan which let us explore on foot the entire area. The morning breakfast was good I enjoyed everything about it. The owner was very cheerful and willing to assist you with your needs. When I return to San Juan I will stay at the La Terraza it is that nice. Off all the places I have stayed this is one of the best if not thee best. If your looking for a great place to stay in San Juan this is it.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter which room I booked the double room as the others were sold out. It cost more but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westjordantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Perfect place to stay in Old San Juan! Walking distance (minutes) to the main strip of restaurants and stores in Old San Juan! Devon and Joe were extremely accommodating to our needs of staying one night (pre-cruise) for our family of 4. The hotel was very beautiful and clean. The balcony was great for looking out into the street. The roof-top terrace was great for taking pictures of Old San Juan. When we booked our reservation, Devon sent me an email with a concierge book attached with great ideas on places to visit and eat at during our stay. The continental breakfast served in our room was fantastic and quite delicious! Next time, we will definitely stay longer than one night!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Let me just start out by saying, that this, small charming hotel, is the warmest, most quiet hotel I have ever stayed. I have traveled to many places throughout the world, and stayed at some nice hotels, but this one, is just like being at home, but You are thousands of miles away. It's hard to pinpoint exactly why that is, but let me say it begins, by the friendly staff, fom Joe, Devon, as well as the rest of the staff. When You enter the hotel, it's subtle colors, make You feel right at ease. It has such an overwhelming clean quality to it, that it stands out above all other hotels in Old San Juan. This was my second time being in Puerto Rico, and I stayed at the El Convento, as well as the El Conquistador in Fagardo. While they were nice hotels, La Terrraza stands out well above them. From the freshly made breakfast, delivered to Your room daily, to the nightly pleasure of a bottle of wine on the Terrace, this is the best of the best. When Your looking for a hotel to stay, while in Old San Juan, do Your research, and You'll find out why so many people stay here, when they return. It is a convenient walk to anywhere in Old San Juan.....P.S. I stayed here for 10 days in early January, and am just finding the time to right this review. The good thing to know, is I try to get away every 3-4 months from work, for a relaxing weekend. I will be back in Old San Juan, staying at La Terraza in May.......Can't Wait!!!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a one bedroom, with no kitchen, and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Places2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend get away and couldn't have been more pleased. We have had multiple trips to Old San Juan and have frequently stayed at El Convento and have also stayed at Da House. Without question, this was our favorite hotel among the three! The hotel is a small boutique place that does not have the view or history of El Convento (but you can go walk through there and see it anyway during your trip without needing to stay there). There is morning breakfast and the breakfast is fabulous. For example if you need "extra" coffee or milk...they give it, free, quickly, no questions asked. The hotel itself is well kept up and beautiful and there is a gorgeous roof top terrace where you are welcome to take your own food or wine to. My only complaint if any would be that I did hear people in the room beside us a couple times but we just turned on a sleep machine and put ear plugs in and continued sleeping. However...there is no questions that the walls / doors could be a bit more sound proof. With that being said...this is the quietest hotel I've stayed at in Old San Juan! No "party" outside such as in some of the rooms in El Convento and in ALL of the rooms at Da House. There are satellite TV's and controllable AC in all the rooms along with at least a small refrigerator. We stayed in their smallest most affordable room and even that was great! I have no complaints. I wasn't there to cook so I didn't feel I needed the big kitchen or big space. Amazing experience and the people who work at the hotel couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Definitely will return and definitely will recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahcorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

if staying in Old San Juan, there is no better place to stay than La Terraza. It is located idealy and makes walking Old San Juan in it's entirity. Joe Uribe and his wife do an excellent job of making you feel at home and there apartments are spacious and neat. The roof top deck is very enjoyable and a great place to start the morning off with a cup of coffee or what ever. the breakfast brought to the is delightful and not lacking in quantity. We had a two bedroom/two bath unit with sitting room and kitchen. of the 4 places we stayed in Puerto Rico, La Terraza was the best.

Room Tip: we were in room 6 on the third floor. again it was spaceious, neat and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killians1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were only able to stay at La Terraza for two short nights but we will definitely go back and stay longer to fully appreciate and enjoy the hotel's civilized charm and ammenities. Beautifully decorated, spacious apartments, a big roof top deck for enjoying early coffee and cocktails, an incredible breakfast with killer coffee (always important). The hosts do everything possible to make your stay warm, easy.
Walk out the door into Old San Juan, an Old World gem. This is a great place to enjoy the buzz of a city with a serene place to escape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne123299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terraza de San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terraza de San Juan

Property: La Terraza de San Juan
Address: 262 Calle del Sol, San Juan 00901-1421, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Terraza de San Juan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer one bedrooms, one bedroom suites and two bedroom, two bathroom suites, as well as suites with balconies. Individually appointed rooms and suites with gorgeous personal touches. Romantic, yet family friendly environments are La Terraza's trademarks. Delicious, homemade breakfasts compliment a relaxing trip to sun drenched Puerto Rico. La Terraza is walking distance to Old San Juan's historic landmarks, a locals only beach and azure waters. La Terraza is San Juan's newest hidden gem, a spectacular boutique hotel with superlative service and the highest attention to each guest's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terraza de San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing