We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Terraza de San Juan
Nearby Hotels
$211
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$306
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$239
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$319
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
577
136
45
18
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
136
45
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracesmall infinity poolfull kitchenliving roommodern amenitiesquiet streetboutique hotelwasher dryercafe con lechefirst floorhome away from homebed was very comfortablethe location is perfectfew blocksparking garagesmall hotelcruise port
Filter
Updating list...
735 - 740 of 789 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This place was fantastic. Huge rooms, fully equipped kitchen, great location, beautiful decor. We had thought the kitchen would be a waste for us, as we had planned on eating out in Old San Juan, but in fact we ended up cooking three meals during our two night stay. As nice as a restaurant, though they really need to get a corkscrew in the kitchen!
It was a shame that the bar and restaurant aren't opened yet, but it will improve the place even more. VEry quiet at night, yet steps away from the hustle of Old Town. A great place with kids, as the parent's will get plenty of privacy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the beautiful La Terraza. It's a bit off the beaten path in Old San Juan, but the area is small, so it's easy to walk everywhere. I like that there was a full kitchen, after eating out for 2 weeks it was a relief to cook something simple, especially when traveling with kids. Joe the manager is very friendly and he lives across the street. There is no daily house keeping, so keep that in mind before you throw your towels on the floor. The roof top garden is beautiful, we dragged our spaghetti dinner up there to eat. We were a family of 8, including elderly and kids, so we didn't go out much at night. There are several bars close by that look to be patronized by the locals.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MattyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

My husband, parents, and 2.5 year old enjoyed our vacation at La Terraza Hotel at the end of May 2011. The apartment was clean, well maintained, and beautifully appointed. It was the right size for our family and was well equipped with laundry, dishwasher, air conditioning, etc. The location was perfect. We were close to good restaurants and sights, but far enough away that we did not have tourists trolling down our street at night. The rooftop terrace was closed the week we were there, but we were able to take advantage of it one evening. It really was very serene and romantic. It was a great experience and I would absolutely recommend La Terraza if you are staying in San Juan.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sr_maust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at La Terraza Hotel before and after our cruise in mid March, 2011. We were skeptical (at the time there were no reviews anywhere on the web) and we RELY on tripadvisor's reviews. If it wasn't for the "special offer" listed on tripadvisor we would have ended up somewhere else. Keep in mind that even though we stayed during the high season, the rates we paid were significantly less than La Terraza's website list.

The exterior of La Terraza is charming, the rooms were luxuriously appointed, the common areas are beautiful, and the location is perfect for anyone looking to explore what Old San Juan has to offer.

We stayed in Apt #4. We were blown away as soon as we walked it. The place was huge! The kitchen was nicer than ours at home (and we love our kitchen!). It had everything you could need. The living room was great. A 55" flat panel TV!? Wow. The bedrooms were just as nice. We had plenty of room and the canopy bed was a nice touch. There is more closet space than you would need if you lived there. The bathrooms may be the nicest rooms in the apartment. Each had architectural stone sinks, tile, and separate wet rooms. Needless to say, the apartment was beyond expectation. I do believe it was the nicest rental I have had the privilege of staying in on any vacation.

The rooftop deck was an added bonus. Within an hour of arrival we were enjoying a cocktail with other guests that had gathered to spend a wonderful evening atop the hotel. We met Kendra (who's also written a wonderful review you should read) and her husband and we all agreed how lucky we were to have taken a chance on this place!

Not everything was perfect. Not having a 24 on-site manager leaves something to be desired. We locked our keys in the room and waiting an hour to be let in wasn't ideal. When Szaritza was at the hotel she was WONDERFUL and helped us with any questions we had. There is still minor to moderate construction going on; nothing that would affect your stay. The elevator was a little too "authentic" for my taste, so I used the stairs. The cafe was not completed, thought what was done was very nice. There were a variety of stray animals in the area, mostly cats. None ever bothered us, and some were quite entertaining, but it was an off-putting just because of the sheer number around. Street parking is available, but difficult and scarce. Taxis are your best bet.

It's a 10 minute walk to anywhere in Old San Juan. There are historical site (El Morro, San Cristobal) 3 blocks from your door. The night life was fun and varied enough that a wide variety of tastes could find something they enjoyed. Never did we feel unsafe, however, I don't think I would have sent my girlfriend out alone after dark. The food! The food was fantastic. Fefo's was our favorite and we ate breakfast there several times. There is a bar just down the street that is perfect for an afternoon drink or a nightcap on your way home. The owner is from the states and he also offered great advice (and tap beer which is rare in OSJ).

My advice: STAY HERE! Try not to pay full price. Any of the full sized apartments are wonderful. I prefer the higher floors, but that a personal preference. Ask for a room with a balcony. Get a quote from your taxi driver before you get in, the rates have a funny way of changing. Bring a cooler so you can spend the day of the roof soaking up the sun. If you're staying before a cruise and need a taxi to the ship, be sure to plan a ride the day before. It is a hike with luggage. We managed without any problems, but anyone not in good shape should consider it. Tour one of the forts. Tour the cemetary. Don't expect to get off cheap in many places. Price are comparable to the states, and in some cases a little higher. Look for coupons and freebies in local papers/flyers. And Have Fun!

Room Tip: Top Floor, Room with a Balcony. Ask for 4A.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValueReignsSupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

La Terraza is a small hotel in the perfect part of San Juan. It has been beautifully restored and is decorated very stylishly. It's located on a quiet street, but is just a few blocks from the more noisy and bustling parts of OSJ. The rooms are very clean, the staff is extremely responsive and helpful (especially Saritza, who brings a lot of heart to managing the hotel), and the amount of space for a family is very generous (two bedrooms, two baths, kitchen and living room with sleeper sofa). Since the hotel is so new, there are a few areas that are still in the "needs improvement" stage, such as: the hot water and water pressure in the showers (repairs were being made as we were leaving, so this may no longer be an issue), and the fact that there is no valet parking even though this is listed as an amenity on the website (there is street parking if you can find it, and a parking garage a few blocks away). However, the view from the rooftop terrace made up for any glitches we experienced as a result of the hotel being so new! I gave La Terraza a "five" in all categories, but a "four" overall because of the few kinks that still need to be worked out to earn a top overall score, as well as the fact that the cafe has not yet been opened (there are plenty of dining options nearby). My family definitely plans to return to La Terraza and I look forward to upgrading my overall score to a "five" once the water and parking aspects of the hotel have all been fully worked out and the cafe has been opened for dining.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivefromfallschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews