We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locals Favorite Spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Manolin Old San Juan

Cafe Manolin Old San Juan
Ranked #24 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cafe, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals Favorite Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited this spot for lunch and the place was packed with tourists and Locals. We waited for about 10 mins before we got a table. The food was very good, and they have freshly squeezed OJ that was very good. I would Def recommend this place. Dnt forget to try out their shrimp mofongo.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emeka U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    243
    59
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cafe Manolin for Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great Café con Leche and fresh squeezed orange juice. Great prices. Extremely friendly staff. Packed with locals.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wingstomydreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Taste of Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I recently went to Puerto Rico for a quick stay for her birthday. One of our greatest pleasures while there was walking around Old San Juan. We wanted to eat some authentic Puerto Rican food so we went to Cafe Manolin. I must tell you that I am somewhat of a "diner" guy and the Cafe Manolin fit my needs perfectly. It had a wrapping diner type counter that was super cool and also tables. The look was great but the food and service were even better. My wife had a plaintain lasagna and I had the flank steak. The orders were based on recommendations from our waiter - I am glad we listen.

The food and service were exceptional, the value was exceptional.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Second time still great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Weve eaten breakfast pre cruise twice Here now 2013, 2014 and the food is good, cheap, and the fifties diner style is fun. would definately recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahahn063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“locals place near cruise port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

our cab driver recommended this place. we went for breakfast the next day and at first were skeptical as we were obviously the only tourists in the place. Breakfast was great and so reasonable. They have a juice machine at the breakfast bar they feed oranges into for fresh squeezed orange juice ($4 for more than enough for 2). My egg, bacon and wonderful toast (I thought Cuban toast was my favorite but I think PR toast may have replaced it) breakfast was $3.25 and my husband's omelet with everything you could imagine in it was $4.99. We left very happy. And shortly after we arrived the place filled up not only with locals but many other tourists who had also figured out to go here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Manolin Old San Juan also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Manolin Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing