We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the $$”

Cafe Manolin Old San Juan
Ranked #26 of 1,014 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great for the $$”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Breakfast was a bargain and was very delicious. Super cold AC for the hot San Juan climate. Great coffee, great breakfast.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kingmoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    262
    65
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manville, RI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

While staying overnight in Old San Juan before our cruise, we were looking for a good place to have breakfast. Our hotel recommended the Cafe Manolin and it was a great suggestion. It reminded us of diners back home. The menu choices were very reasonably priced (2 eggs and toast coast around $3). An orange juice was a little expensive at $3 per glass. Overall everyone really enjoyed their meal and it was a great value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clbrunetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were looking for the Puerto Rican equivalent of the great American diner for breakfast. We found it. This was the place for a great American breakfast, but also a great Puerto Rican breakfast. I rate this five star not because it is equal to a five star fine dining restaurant because it isn't. But it is a five star diner in Viejo San Juan. For a great breakfast or a diner lunch I do not think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HiltonHeadWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
186 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An old fashion diner”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Warning - do not sit close to the front door when flies are active. Oh my God, there were so many flies buzzing around until we didn't really enjoy the experience. The food was mediocre - nothing special and not very well seasoned.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
712 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 644 helpful votes
“Good choice for lunch”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stopped at the Café Manolin for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The restaurant wasn't that crowded but had a decent number of customers. The atmosphere is one of the old-fashioned lunch counters which I felt was a nice touch. There is a sign that states to wait to be seated, but you really get to choose yourself. The layout of the counter seats were in separate sections with each one having its own waiter.

The café serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. I decided to try the Puerto Rican Steak and onions. The steak came with rice, beans and plantain. The food was very good as was the service from my waiter. One thing to keep in mind which the menu doesn't tell you is that there are no free refills on drinks. This was not normal during my time in San Juan. However the waiter was nice enough to give me a free one nonetheless. It helps to be nice.

If you are looking for a place with good food at a reasonable price than Café Manolin is a good choice. It is a casual place so no need to get dressed up. It also seems to be popular with the locals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Manolin Old San Juan also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Manolin Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing