We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer, complete with beer snobbery”
Review of La Taberna Lupulo

La Taberna Lupulo
Ranked #66 of 1,007 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: LTL is the premier craft beer bar in PR! We have 50 taps and 100+ bottles of the best beer from all over the US and Europe! Our full kitchen serves eclectic and delicious pub all day and night. Beer brunch on the weekends and happy hour specials everyday!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beer, complete with beer snobbery”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great addition to the Old San Juan bar scene, and the new location is much better suited than the old, cramped space. This is THE place to go for craft beers in San Juan, and let's face it, you can't drink Medalla all week. The selection is exceptional, the prices reasonable and the staff fairly knowledgeable. And that may be the only drawback. Not only have they imported a great selection of beers, they've imported the attitude that comes with it. Really, these guys will tell you exactly what you want to drink and will chide you for it if you don't like it. Now, that is the sort of beer snobbery one comes to expect from any craft beer bar, but it may be a little off-putting to the casual tourist. Me? I love it! (Please, explain to me again what a true IBA is. Being from Milwaukee, I wouldn't know anything about beer...)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwckennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    81
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San German
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My Only Hangout in OSJ”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to go for craft beers in Old San Juan. Very good selection, be it draft, bottle or can. It is always crowded so don't expect a seat. If you love beer and don't mind sweating a bit this is the place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kajofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“So many beers!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Lupulo was recommended to us by our waiter while we were grabbing a bite to eat at Toro Salao, it was the perfect place to round out our night. My boyfriend could not have been more excited by the HUGE selection of great beers, he was totally spoilt for choice. The atmosphere was good - it was packed as it was a Friday night, didn't see the patio outside until the end but that looked like a nice spot to hang out. A fantastic pub!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBarefootAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEER!”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great beer selection and great little outdoor seating area in the back with lots of grafitti/artwork. Nice atmosphere. Doesn't open exactly at six, we were waiting desperately for a drink after a lot of walking in Old San Juan, but it was worth the wait!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great beer garden”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

They had hundreds of beers and some great home made chips and dip. We stopped in here after walking from the fort and the cold brew was excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joek0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna Lupulo also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Taberna Lupulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing