We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Old San Juan”
Review of La Taberna Lupulo

La Taberna Lupulo
Ranked #67 of 1,014 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: LTL is the premier craft beer bar in PR! We have 50 taps and 100+ bottles of the best beer from all over the US and Europe! Our full kitchen serves eclectic and delicious pub all day and night. Beer brunch on the weekends and happy hour specials everyday!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place in Old San Juan”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place has a great craft selection and an extremely friendly staff. Even though several of the taps kicked while I was there, they still had plenty more to choose from. They had 4 bartenders working on the Monday night that I was there, so they were more than able to keep up with the crowd. All were extremely friendly and willing to help whenever it was needed. My favorite place visited in Old San Juan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    84
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Huge beer selection”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful evening in old San Juan!

A local told me a lot positive think about this beer pub... He was right!

Situate in a hidden street, in a small corner! 151 San Sebastián street.

Small pub where you can drink around 25 different beer in draft and more than 150 different bottles beers around the world!

Strong in beers from California and good selection of Belgium beers!

Very good and friendly staff!

Really recommend you this pub to go with friends and enjoy good beers! Actually few couples where enjoying good beers to ;)

Don't wait to be served very cold beer with ice! But just the right temperature with the right pouring!

Helpful?
Thank Gastronomia1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pretty cool little spot!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dropped into Taberna Lupulo a couple weeks ago while walking around in Old San Juan. Atmosphere is classical "Old San Juan" with the old colonial-style venue. But the real attraction is the beer menu..that's right..a BEER menu. Dozens of styles and brands from all over. A little "pricey", but to be expected, I guess. If you want an authentic Belgian Trappist ale (for exampe) in Old San Juan, then this is the place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diputado99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Plenty of beer”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went there on a Sunday afternoon this past December to hang out and try out a few tap beers from different countries. It is on one of my favorite streets of Old San Juan, and you can sit down sidewalk cafe-style, and enjoy the architecture and street life of the area. Even though it's the first time I visit this kind of bar, I would say they have plenty of beers to try out. Prices were fair enough, as well as servings. I loved the Dacay Red Ale, and it's made here in PR, so you HAVE to try it! The place has a lot of people coming and going all afternoon, but at night it gets a little more packed. The only downside at the Taberna is that the tapas menu has only a few items and not very flavorful, so I would recommend to eat before getting there and maybe you can have a snack or two when you've had too many beers! Would gladly recommend it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveling_jeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great bears, great food, great staff, great music!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of my favorite bars in Old San Juan. I have been going to this bar since it was located in a small, crowded place in another street of OSJ. Even though I liked it before, I love it now in this new place, since it is more bigger, more staffed, and more comfortable. They have one of the best selections of artisan beers from all over the world and some of the best "bar foods" I've have. The staff is also very attentive and nice, they like to chat with tourist and are quick to take your order (though I prefer to visit them during weekdays, since it can get FULL during weekends).

Make sure to try their chicken fingers dipped in peanut butter sauce or their quesadillas,one of the best things I've eaten in OSJ.

-------
Este es uno de mis bares favoritos en el Viejo San Juan. He estado yendo a este bar, desde que era en un lugar pequeño, lleno de gente en otra calle del VSJ. A pesar de que me gustaba antes, me encanta ahora en este nuevo lugar, ya que es más grande, tiene más personal y es más cómodo. Tienen una de las mejores selecciones de cervezas artesanales de todo el mundo y algunos de los mejores alimentos de "bar" que he comido. El personal es muy atento y agradable, les gusta charlar con los turistas y se apresuran a tomar tu orden (aunque yo prefiero visitar durante los días de semana, ya que puede llenar los fines de semana).

Prueba sus alitas de pollo en salsa de mantequilla de maní o sus quesadillas, una de las mejores cosas que he comido en el VSJ.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Estrella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taberna Lupulo also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Taberna Lupulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing