We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hostal, yes, Hotel, no!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hostal, yes, Hotel, no!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked a private room, because even paying for 2 in the room was cheaper than a hotel room in OSJ. This place is definitely more of a hostel than a hotel. It is a small family ou go up in an original 1930's elevator to check in on the 6th floor. Private rooms are on the 5th floor. There is a full kitchen and a balcony overlooking the Plaza de Colon. THe location is pretty good, right next to the Fortaleza, and about 1 mile to El Morro, the farthest point in Old San Juan. It is a very walkable area.
Check in was easy. I was led to my room by the manager. The door to the room did not have a door knob, just a handle to pull it opened/ closed. You had to use the key to close/lock the door after you step out of the room. The room was adequate. It had an a/c unit, and also a window that opened to an interiorventilation shaft. There was a door within the room which I thought was the bathroom, but it was a closet with shelves, no hangers. There is a small refrigerator. There was no tv, nor a desk/ table to put things on.
There were 3 bathrooms on the hall, only one of which had a shower that worked. One had an old bathtub, and the other was just a toilet and sink. All three had all the original tile, which had been abused quite a bit. It was cracked, and actually worn down in places. I think it was somewhat clean, but it was difficult to tell from looking at it. The toilet area did look clean, at least. There was a basket of washclothes for people to use, as well as 2 towels in the room.
There is no a/c or other ventilation in the bathrooms. Make sure to use shower shoes! * Unfortunately, I did not take pics of the bathroom- probably a good thing for the hotel!
Oh, and there are advertised activities, but it really just depends if anyone shows up- on the days I was there, nobody else showed up to do the activities ( Bacardi Distillery, trip to a beach), so I was on my own.
If you are looking for a cheap hotel room, I would encourage you to spend a few extra dollars and stay in an actual hotel. This place was definitely more of a hostel than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanishParrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanfranciscodeasis, Owner at Posada San Francisco Old San Juan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
You paid the cheapest room we had $40 a night ( might I add we do have rooms with satellite TV for $5.00 extra ) And other review mention this . We are a super expensive Island but we can afford our prices because our whole family works for the business. You also booked through Hostel booking site which is specifically for hostels. This site says all common areas including bathrooms are shared; In fact the room you booked is called Budget Basic private with shared bathroom. That gives you the clue we are a pension/ guest house; Not a 2 or 3 not a 4 or 5 star place. Our Tripadvisor listing is on the specialty tab; meaning we are not advertising as hotel.

Yet Your whole review is based on how we are not a hotel; and things we are missing to be one. I think the best advice for you is that you should not shop by price but what you like.

And some people enjoy the relaxed; Homey feel of a Hostel / guest house with sleep privacy or Dorms where than can meet travelers from all over the world and keep a budget. You can save By cooking..as in Most restaurants a meal for 2 is more than a nights with us. People enjoy to group up and when they get along naturally......they travel together and share cost. I am sorry you were not able to make a group or find other guest that you liked to share this experience.

I also took time to read all your other reviews and noticed very rarely are you happy with your choice; unless a global brand several stars up hotels. So this should always be your choice.



We work very hard to have the rare budget place in Puerto Rico were all hotels exceed the $100.. We are very transparent with our place and always upfront about the type of place we are a simple basic ; clean affordable place in a Old Historic town with its quirks; We hope future guest that come understand this and dont just shop by price; because to be unhappy why even travel if you can do this from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    131
    29
    12
    14
See reviews for
46
158
84
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The ocean somewhere
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really cool hostel in the centre of Old San Juan. I walked everywhere, hassle free; beach, city, bus, castles and food joints. Hostel is clean, a really amazing view and cheapest I have found on the island. Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have only good things to say about this great find. Can't beat the location and the price is terrific, especially if you are on a budget. Accommodations were very clean and comfortable. This is a no-frills hotel, so don't expect a plush, five-star experience; what you do get is a great deal and loads of charm, even down to the old-style, European elevator. Special kudos to the mom and daughter team who run the Posada San Francisco; charming and efficient--who could ask for more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hostel over labor day weekend 2012. It was very easy to find since it overlooked Colon Square. We checked in early on Saturday morning, placing our luggage in the storage room. The owner recommended a cafe down the street for lunch and wa very helpful with recommending places for us to try. We came back later in the day when our room wa ready. We had a private room with a king size bed, a refridgerator and a flat screen satellite television. We didn't really use the tv, however the fridge was very handy. We were able to always have cold water this way. Also, the air conditioning worked great! I want to stress this is a hostel...there were others staying who were expecting the amenities of a hotel, and were not happy. I would definitely stay here again based on location and price!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phimugrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a beautiful place! We stayed on the 6th floor (private). Our room was simple, clean and had small touches that made it very comfortable. The common areas were perfect to enjoy a view of the bay and really get into vacation mode. The owners were so sweet and worked so hard to make the place run. The location couldn't have been better. It was only 2 blocks away from the main strip of restaurants, street food and cafés all around, and only 6 blocks away from a beach, directly next to Castillo de San Cristobal. When checking in, take the old elevator up to the 6th floor (you may need to call the owners if they are not at the desk). You won't be disappointed here.

Room Tip: 5th and 6th floors are privates, 4th is the dorm. The balconies are on common areas, not rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed in a private room at this hostel for two nights. It was clean and comfortable. The hostel is in a good location a half block from San Cristobal with restaurants on both sides. The building is very old and has lots of character. The community kitchen was great and the mini fridge in the private room was a money saver. Shared bathroom was never an issue. It was rarely in use and there is a second half bath down the hall. Negatives are that the elevator is old and slow. We opted to take the stairs six floors up for the exercise. The trolley for El Morro is right around the corner. I would strongly recommend not renting a car while in OSJ. Streets are narrow with no parking. You can easily get around by foot or trolley.

Room Tip: Stay in the private rooms with a/c, fridge and TV. It is well worth the few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PuraVidaSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Posada San Francisco in Old San Juan Puerto Rico is such a great place to stay. The staff is wonderful and accomodating, the rooms are spacious, and the location is impeccable. I would recommend that if anyone is going to Puerto Rico they should stay at this hostel. I am a young, single female and I traveled to San Juan alone. I stayed in the all female dormroom and felt completely safe and at home. I met a lot of different people and we had a great time watching fireworks from the balcony and venturing out to the local bars and clubs. I can't wait to go back and when I do, I will definitely be staying at this hostel. I must say however, if anyone is not used to sharing a space, they will not enjoy this hostel (or any, for that matter). It differs from a hotel in that you share the kitchen and bathroom space. I didn't mind it, since they always kept the spaces clean and people generally picked up after themselves. This is a great place to stay if you want to save some money, meet new people, and have a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling alone, it's best to stay in the dorms. You will meet new friends and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorganLJefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Terraza de San Juan
La Terraza de San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#9 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada San Francisco Old San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada San Francisco Old San Juan

Property: Posada San Francisco Old San Juan
Address: 405 Plaza San Francisco | 5th floor, San Juan 00927-5812, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada San Francisco Old San Juan 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great location for budget travelers that want to experience living in the Old Town. Emphasis on cleanliness and daily up keeping of all common areas. We are 15 min walk to the beach, 5 min walk to bus terminal and 10 min walk from Old San Juan pier. Very close to all historic sites and restaurants. The accommodation is overlooking the plaza Colon and bay. There are 9 rooms / 6 shared bathrooms. Prices fluctuate $45-$55 (per room, max 2). Newly renovated interiors. All rooms have AC and clean white sheets and comforters. There is a common kitchen and 2 common TV areas w/satellite. 2 balconies and wireless internet in the floor + the cafes underneath offer free wifi also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Posada San Francisco Old San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada San Francisco Old San Juan Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing