We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casita Miramar

Casita Miramar
Ranked #9 of 1,001 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Soups, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Winchester, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Ordered four meals of very different tastes and textures. All were excellent. Service was superb, the ambiance wonderful, and the costs reasonable. Was highly recommended by a guide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DOLadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    162
    38
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Lovely setting, excellent service, good value for the quality offered, adventurous Caribbean cooking with a very decent wine list.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank REFVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Casita Miramar was recommended by a San Juan resident, and it didn't disappoint. Food, although not trend-setting, was very good, and service for our party of seven was attentive, helpful and not obnoxious. We enjoyed chicken, crab, swordfish, dinner salad -- and the kitchen provided free cod fritters, plantain soup and after-dinner drinks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mainemojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
201 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great option for puertorican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you want to try classic puertorican food with an upscale feel, this is the place to come. The restaurant is in a beautiful house, very nicely decorated and with a homely feel. The menu is presented on a blackboard, such that the offerings can change daily, which is always a good sign. Service was very attentive. Visited for early dinner on a Sunday and was seated promptly.

The food was good, yet a bit pricey. We tried the yucca balls filled with crab (excellent), the chicken cordon blue (with manchego, prosciutto and mashed plantains, ok but not the best I've ever had) and the chicken stew (very good). The passion fruit sangria was very good.

i would recommend this place for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nytoparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I chose Casita Miramar for our first dinner in Puerto Rico based on a recommendation from a friend. We walked there so I can't speak to the parking and accessibility. However, we were thrilled with the food, service, and atmosphere. We were most impressed with all of the local flavors and ingredients. It was a perfect restaurant to sample local cuisine (with a twist). I had the best coconut cake of my life - WOW. To put this dessert into perspective, my husband has a strong aversion to coconut but (at my insisting) he tried the cake and even he loved it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Miramar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Casita Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing