We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for comfortable budget travel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Hostel San Jorge
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The staff at Hotel San Jorge were extremely helpful, hospitable, friendly, and kind. They made us feel at home from the moment we arrived and clearly made a large effort to make is feel comfortable. The building itself has just been renovated and is in great shape! Our first room was equipped with one king sized bed, a fridge, and a large flat screen tv. It was small but perfect and so affordable! For the second half of our trip we decided to stay at San Jorge although our plans were originally upon arriving, to relocate. The second room we had was equipped with two twin beds, a small tv, and did not have a fridge. It was fine but not as nice as the first room. The hotel also has a large balcony on the second floor that has wireless internet. Everything in the hotel was extremely clean. Its location is perfect for spanish-speaking tourists because it is not located in a tourist area! When i return to PR I plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: rooms on the second and third floors have wireless internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 49 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel is nasty; even the locals joked about it when we told them where we were staying. They called it a, "roach motel."

The staff was extremely unfriendly and receiving any type of hospitality or courtesy was nearly impossible. The staff seemed more focused on receiving as much money as they could from you with doing the least amount of work possible.

I have been to many places, and this has to be one on my list to never stay at again. On the other hand, it was in a convenient location. That is really the only positive thing I could say.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I took the bar exam in puerto Rico in march. I planned to start renting an apartment and vacation in may with my sister and her boyfriend. I was going to stay in hotel San Jorge and they were going to stay in a hostel. I did not want to stay in the hostel, alas I rented a hotel really close.

My sister did not feel comfortable leaving her stuff at the hostel so she asked to leave it with me, as I had the rental car. The hotel, however, has a policy where you may not allow anyone else in your room without their permission and then they may only be on the balcony- not in ur room. Not in their contract or mentioned during check in.

Then the Worker ordered me to leave the key with him every time I left. If I smoked I had to leave the key. No guarantee that someone would be there, however. Easy for them to steal my belongings.

Went out with a local friend, also well educated, and he was gonna take us to a nice bar in bayamon. Well, went in to get the key, my sister went in with me cause we were all going to the bar, and he ordered her to stay downstairs. I explained myself and said I was the only one sleeping there. He could feel free to check in at the middle of the night. But no. Instead their unwritten policy is no guests. No key when you leave. And to treat you like crap. Indeed, him and I yelled at each other quite a bit and then had my local friend come in to help me with my stuff and left. Told him to call the police if he did not like it. The police were never called, and I went and stayed in the radisson, which was only 30 dollars more, had a free drink ticket and gambling ticket, and they actually respected me.

Moral of the story: this hotel is from a land down under. If they charge me a dime, I am suing them. It's the lawyer in me.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Quelcanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelsanjorge, General Manager at Hotel & Hostel San Jorge, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2011

Dear Customer "Quelcanon:"

We regret any inconvenience regarding your stay our hotel in Puerto Rico. Hotel San Jorge wants to clarify some of your allegations.

In regard to safety, we can assure you that the room keys are safe at the front desk counter. The main reason why guests cannot take the room keys out of the hotel is with the intention of protecting our guests' belongings inside the rooms. The hotel is wired throughout with surveillance cameras and our staff is highly trained. Due to our insistence on asking for our clients' room keys when they leave the hotel, we had never encountered any incident regarding lost luggage.

The hotel policies regarding guests' visitors were in fact explained to you by the front desk staff when you first checked-in. We want to remind you that you paid for a one twin bed room meant for 1 person. Contrary to your story, the truth was that you attempted to have 3 person stay overnight in the twin bed room. Your intentions were never to stay by yourself in the room. This is purely unacceptable and a clear violation of hotel policies.

Worse of all, you verbally assaulted our employee who was simply following hotel policies.

Here at Hotel San Jorge, we value our customer's comfort above all else. Our goal is to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable and satisfying as possible
Sincerely,

Management of Hotel San Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Date: August 2004 and August-September 2005

This is our 25th time in visiting the wonderful island. We had booked with different hotels: To name a few: Hotel Miramar, Hotel Toro, the now demolished Hotel Central, Soy Ikebanna and a private House. Of all these my family and I have stayed with, the maximum of ten days, we found that Hotel San Jorge has an outstanding staff and the customer service is excellent. Though not a five star, this hotel proves to be more than just excellent. (This is just my point of view: different back grounds, different opinions.)

I just wanted to mention that, because I don't really see any ratings or reviews on any of these hotels mentioned. Perhaps they have not signed up with the website or probably advertised the way I have been linked to them, by word of mouth or business cards.

The payment is not too bad: $75.US per night for a double room that occupies up to four persons, and extra for a fifth person. I must add, even though it was our first time visiting at Hotel San Jorge, the manager found it fit to give us a discount. What a warm welcoming.

Here's to:
HOTEL SAN JORGE
1700 PONCE DE LEON PDA 25
SANTURCE PR 00909

I recommended it to all my friends here in Barbados and they loved it!!!!

PS
I going there again this September and when I made my booking I had already been given a discount and a choice of two rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Filmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mamonth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donnasamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
Thank Gaspar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.2 mi away
Casa Santurce
Casa Santurce
#3 of 24 in San Juan
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mango Mansion
Mango Mansion
#1 of 24 in San Juan
95 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
1.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Hostel San Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Hostel San Jorge

Address: 605 Calle San Jorge | between Ponce de Leon & Fernandez Juncos, San Juan 00909-2301, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in San Juan
Price Range: $71 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel & Hostel San Jorge 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel and hostel in San Juan's Arts and Culture District. Bus stop across from hotel for Old San Juan, Convention Center, or Condado. Walk to Urban Train for Plaza las Americas bus. Hotel has private rooms with full (double) bed, air conditioning, cable TV, private bathrooms. Hostel has dorms with bunk beds, shared bathroom, lockers and large terrace hang-out area. Shared refrigerator and micro-wave in lobby. Free coffee and tea every morning. FREE WiFi in all rooms, dorms and public areas. BBQ available for group activities with advance request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Hostel San Jorge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing