We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Puerto Rican Food”
Review of Cafe Puerto Rico

Cafe Puerto Rico
Ranked #40 of 1,006 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Puerto Rican Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wanted to have a Puerto Rican lunch and went to Cafe Puerto Rico. This place is small but the staff is very fiendly. Food is delicious and prices are very affordable. They have the coldest beer on Old San Juan. Great place. Highly Recommend it!!! Would go back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chef726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    363
    100
    54
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local food”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This cafe was recommended by the host of our vacation rental as his favorite and boy was he right!
It is small but has a full bar. the drinks were well made and reasonably priced. The appetizer of spanish sausage in wine sauce was truly good. My friend had shrimp and said it was among the best she ever had.. we're from coastal Texas so we've had LOTS of shrimp. I had a pork dish that was also very good. The pace seemed full of mostly locals. The waitstaff were both friendly and attentive. They were also bi-lingual which helped

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank terris991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place for local food.”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This place is excellent if you want to try local food. The service is super and the atmosphere is very relaxing. Ambiance is casual.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ugly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best In Old San Juan”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Was taken here by a local when I asked for the best and most authentic Puerto Rican food in Old San Juan and certainly did not disappoint!

Restaurant was full, so we decided to sit at the bar which I always like because it's fun to socialize with an out of town bartender. He said you're in Puerto Rico so I'll make you some real mojitos and BOY DID HE! Best mojito I've ever had and trust me I've had plenty. It's got a distinctly different taste than the ones in the states.

Of course I was here for mofongo, but the bartender also recommended the sausage in wine with the chipotle sauce and let me just say wow. The wine gave it great flavor, but the sauce was out of this world.

The best part of the meal was however the Mofongo. I was recommended shrimp, but am a big beef fan, so went with the steak yucca Mofongo and as you can see from my picture, it didn't last long. Steak was cooked perfectly and as tender as can be! My local friend said this is authentic excellent Mofongo.

We ended our meal with tres Leche cake and while I like it at home, I loved it here. Was very moist and delicious and the best one I've ever had.

My best meal in PR..I'll be back for the shrimp!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CTGuy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic taste in Old San Juan”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

loved this little local place. Food was delicious, service outstanding wish I could remember my waiters name who was so helpful in choosing the food, he made our drinks and then gave me a recipe for a xmas drink to make at home, Go there for delicious Puerto Rican food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Puerto Rico also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing