We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Puerto Rico

Cafe Puerto Rico
Ranked #41 of 992 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arnprior, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food Fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch here. The food was great and the staff were amazing! We wanted to try some of the local cuisine (especially Mofongo) and the staff were excellent at helping us choose appetizers and entrees. The food was flavourful and plentiful. The menu is so extensive that it was hard to choose. There is something for everyone and a lot of vegetarian options as well. This café was recommended to us by a local shop keeper and we were not disappointed. It is a small place but cozy and in a prime location. Highly recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    361
    100
    54
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great find!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Having an extra day in San Juan after a cruise, we searched TripAdvisor for a good place to eat. We decided on Cafe San Juan and were NOT disappointed! A small establishment, the servers are the asset here! So friendly and accommodating! Initially seated inside, the host soon came and asked us if we still wanted an outside seat. We were moved outside right away.

The location cannot be beat! It is right across the street from Colon Plaza and in the heart of Old San Juan. After dinner we walked all around Old San Juan and it was very convenient.

The food is delicious! I had the crab mofongo and OMG it was so good!! My husband had the chicken mofongo made with the white garlic butter sauce and a yucca bowl and it was also incredibly delicious!

If I can offer one tip, either go early (we went at 5:30PM), or make reservations. This restaurant is small and can only seat a few people. It is also apparently very popular so plan ahead so as not to be disappointed.

The ambiance, service and food make this one an absolute winner!! We will be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VanessaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fun but pricey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are staying in Old San Juan close to this spot, and I recognized it from TripAdvisor when we stumbled upon it past 10pm on a Sat night. It's cute and casual, with a small outdoor seating section on Plaza Colon and bar inside plus maybe a dozen tables. The menu is large and Puerto Rican, and the staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful. It was emptying out when we arrived, and we closed the kitchen down at 11:15 or so when our meals came. We ordered a good variety of dishes and enjoyed them, but I wouldn't say it was great food. The sangria and non-alcoholic fruit punch were also ok but not great. We did love the desserts, two kinds of flan plus cheesecake. The total was high, what we usually pay for more of a fine dining place. I didn't regret it but at that price would look elsewhere whether than return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious mofongo! Friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a small, popular restaurant in old San Juan. We arrived early and were able to be seated without a wait. At our server's recommendation, I tried their mofongo de camarones (shrimp), but made from yucca instead of plantain - and it was delicious and not as heavy as those made with plantain. I'd definitely order it again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PTCtravelerJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Puerto Rican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We enjoyed the food and service the first time we went back a second time. This place was recommend by a taxi driver. It's way from the tourist area. I recommend a reservation, stop by or call and speak with Omar. Wine is server by the glass. This is where I had my first sip of Barrilito Rum, room temperature, no ice. The mojitos are great. I had the steak and the fish. Appetizer are great. Worth visiting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Puerto Rico also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Cafe Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing