We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family dine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar

Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #18 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Central American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the rooftop of the Hotel Milano this lively rooftop restaurant & bar serves up great and authentic Puerto Rican food in an informal atmosphere at great prices. The best Mofongo in Old San Juan. Buy 1 Get 1 Free Mojitos every day from open until 5:00pm! Come check out the best rooftop view of the Old City and enjoy great local food. Family Friendly!
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Family dine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The service was fast. The servers were very nice. The mofongos were very good either with churrasco, pork and shrimp. The best of all were the mojito's.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Claraynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,257
    400
    103
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Puerto Rican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had dinner there during my stay in old San Juan. It was the best Puerto Rican Cuisine I have ever had. The white fish wrap and mixed rice I had was just delicious! Unlike most of fried food in Puerto Rico Cuisine, the white fish was marinated in a special sauce to keep it tender and juicy. The cup of coconut Mojito I had was also very tasty. The food was very reasonably priced. I could tell it is a local's favorite place since a lot of local people eat there too. The restaurant takes reservation on the same day and fills up fast. If you ever plan to eat there, make sure you arrive there early to have your name on the reservation.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Authentic Caribbean Cuisine ....................”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

This is right across the cruise liners on a corner which makes it easy accessible.

The food and the drinks are just amazing, the interior is bit outdated and I preferred eating on the patio with breeze flowing and doing some people watching........

We had the Mofongo and wraps along with some fries and appetizers and they were just too good. The drink sizes are also neat specially their margaritas and Mojitos......

The service was also very nice and I will definitely dine again when I am in PR.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry37NewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mufungo fabulous!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

On a recent cruise port stop we were looking for an authentic taste of Puerto Rico. Initially, we were a bit concerned because this is located so close to the cruise ship dock. We thought "Tourist trap" No, no....this place seems legit. We noticed several locals eating there the day we were there for lunch. "Eat where the locals eat" That's our motto.....so that's what we did. We were not disappointed. Very good, 2-for-1 mojitos. I finally got to try mofungo and it was delicious. Great experience eating authentic dishes of Puerto Rico. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Mufongo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner tonight & it was our best meal in PR! Had the pork Mufongo with the garlic sauce -so delicious! Also tried the Argentian steak - loved that too! Don't be turned off by the lacking ambience or the proximity to the port. Would come back again

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stacy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing