We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar

Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #18 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Central American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the rooftop of the Hotel Milano this lively rooftop restaurant & bar serves up great and authentic Puerto Rican food in an informal atmosphere at great prices. The best Mofongo in Old San Juan. Buy 1 Get 1 Free Mojitos every day from open until 5:00pm! Come check out the best rooftop view of the Old City and enjoy great local food. Family Friendly!
Gastonia, North Carolina
1 review
“Great place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Take time to go and visit real PR food at this restaurant. Great food and reasonably priced. Will visit again on the next round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tja71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,263
    401
    103
    21
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was great and reasonably priced. I had the steak mofongo, which was delicious. We also got the two for one mojitos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holly_schumach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OMG!!!! YOU MUST EAT HERE!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hands down, one of the best places I've ever eaten. Please get the shrimp mofongo with garlic sauce. You'll see!!!! Great value and real PR food!!!! Happy eating!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pissyMcGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a top 10 restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The mojitos might be 2 for 1 but you are only served half of what you'd get elsewhere. Definitely not in the top 10 in San Juan or even Old San Juan. It's current ranking makes no sense except that it's right near the cruise dock so maybe having so many reviews from tourists boosts it's ranking. I live in San Juan and I wouldn't even put this place in the top 50. If you are hungry they will feed you but don't expect anything special. It really is just an average restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EasyE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in Purto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Based on other Tripadvisor reviews we drove in to Old San Juan to eat at Punto de Vista. When we found the restaurant my first thought was that if it wasn't for Tripadvisor we wouldn't stop here. It's on a busy street across from the ferry terminal. There is bus and other street traffic and the inside of the restaurant is barren.
But... all of that changed the moment we sat down. They were offering 2 mojitos for $8 and they were the best mojitos we had for the entire vacation. Then the food arrived and it was simply fabulous. The mofongo was moist and flavorable and the garlic sauce was perfection. Every dish was just perfect. The manager came out to see how we liked the food and it was clear that "quality" was the operating motto of the restaurant. If ever there was an example of not judging a book by its cover, Punto de Vista is it. It was not only the least expensive dinner during our vacation, but easily the best. We can't recommend it enough.

Our only downside to the dinner was when a homeless person came to our table asking for money. It can happen at any outdoor restaurant and there isn't much that the restaurant can do about it, but it seems that the homeless population is something that Old San Juan needs to address.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sfriedenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing