We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, value & staff”

Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #15 of 999 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Central American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Located on the rooftop of the Hotel Milano this lively rooftop restaurant & bar serves up great and authentic Puerto Rican food in an informal atmosphere at great prices. The best Mofongo in Old San Juan. Buy 1 Get 1 Free Mojitos every day from open until 5:00pm! Come check out the best rooftop view of the Old City and enjoy great local food. Family Friendly!
Cambridge,NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, value & staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Based on other's reviews we decided to eat here on our first night in P.R. It was a great meal at a reasonable price ( not to mention the 2 for 1 Mohitos). We went to Culebra and returned to Old San Juan on our last day. It was an easy decision to eat here again for lunch. The lunch specials
$7 - $9 are incredible. The Tostones are the best we had. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,296
    404
    104
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent, authentic local cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently ate here at the recommendation of hotel concierge. Food was excellent - tasty, presented well and less expensive than many other restaurants in San Juan. The location is near the water but it's essentially some tables on a sidewalk. The service is prompt and very friendly. Try the mofongo (they also have a vegetarian version) or the fish tacos!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curiousjayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAPPINGERS FALLS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Value Plus Great Food and Mojitos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Place was great, Had lunch (soft tacos) off the chart good with rice and beans,best I ever had for $7. buy one get one free mojitos. Great location. A must when in old san juan.Sit outside,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Puerto Rican food at a good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is great for authentic Puerto Rican food at a very reasonable price. The location is great in old San Juan and there is outside seating. The inside is pretty much just a bar, but the drinks are excellent. I highly recommend the mofongo and the fish tacos. The plantains were also great. A great find!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebrownieesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Go for the Food - overlook the location/ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were walking around Old San Juan looking for something tasty, inexpensive and had received good reviews. We are sooooo glad that we found Punto de Vista. The location is a bit sketchy - near the bus terminal, police station and tattoo parlor. Dining is outside on the sidewalk. Overlook all of this and enjoy a wonderful authentic meal. The fried pork mofungo was awesome. You can go out of your comfort zone with food here and not go wrong. If I was staying in San Juan and not 40 minutes outside of town, I would have gone there at least one more time before heading home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noranekko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing