We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply amazing”

Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 1,025 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $23
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located on the rooftop of the Hotel Milano this lively rooftop restaurant & bar serves up great and authentic Puerto Rican food in an informal atmosphere at great prices. The best Mofongo in Old San Juan. Buy 1 Get 1 Free Mojitos every day from open until 5:00pm! Come check out the best rooftop view of the Old City and enjoy great local food. Family Friendly!
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“simply amazing”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

the food was out of this world. i had no idea this little outdoor cafe made great tasting food. the service was excellent and very helpful. i would highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nykole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi ny1ki, we enjoy amazing people with our great food in a simple bar/cafe setting. We appreciate the review.. Ciao, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,381
    419
    106
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mojitos!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

2-for-1 Mojitos that were better than the fancier restaurants we tried. The kids liked the chicken fingers, which actually tasted like chicken! The decor is a little rough, but the staff were great. Close to the pier and has A/C.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montylnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi montyinc, we definitely lack the decor of the fancy places but as noticed we have great food and Mojitos. You are correct that Our chicken fingers are real chicken.. An ol fashioned concept. Thanx fr thenreview, Ciao.. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicioso!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The food was absolutely amazing and what a fun night with friends! Don't miss this one...The skirt steak and mofongo was prepared in true Puerto Rican style. The staff treated us like royalty, joining the fun at times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellsFree06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi shellsfree06, it was great to see your review of the amazing food not to mention how much fun you and your friends had while at Punto de Visa Restaurant. Ciao, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIshers, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fresh and Made to Order”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We loved this spot down by the piers! The food is fresh, made to order, and artistic in presentation. This is not a fancy place, but we were surprised by the high quality of the food! We ordered the Chicken tacos and also thoroughly enjoyed the buy one get one mojitos (offered in a variety of flavors). We liked this place so much that we went back multiple times. Try this one out (and save a buck too)!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi Chris C, It is great to see you appreciated the extra effort the staff makes to create each meal. The best compliment was you returned multiple times during your vacation. We hope to see you at Punto de Vista Restaurant the next time you are in Old San Juan, Puerto Rico. Ciao, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowlett
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Excellent service.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I ate here the night before we left on the Carnival Victory. The food was great! He had the steak tacos and raved! He didn't care for the plantains that came with it so our waiter brought plantains cooked another way and they were good! Very much enjoyed the mojitos too! Several of the wait staff stopped by our table and were very personable. This is a spot worth stopping at!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pdvosj, Owner at Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hi linda giles, I remember you and your husband as he was very happy when I switched his plantains for the ones he thought he had ordered. At times customers mix up the sweet soft plantains (amarillos) & the crunchy plantains (tostones). We appreciate the review and hope to see you on future travels to beautiful Puerto Rico. ..ciao, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Punto de Vista Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing