We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super Hospitality”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Natalia was friendly and a super hostess. We (my wife and two grown daughters) recently stayed there.for five days.
Every morning Natalia asked how we slept and if there was anything that needed improvement. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked great.
Natalia's breakfasts were delicious and filling. She was most helpful in advising us of good places to eat and things to do. She would ask us about where we ate and what we thought of it so that she could better advise future guests.
She has a preferred taxi driver Pedro who was most accommodating. We could call him and he would pick us wherever we were (B&B or Old San Juan) within 15 minutes or, if he was unavailable, call upon one of his co-workers to take good care of us.
When we return to Puerto Rico we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimG913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
112
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Casa Castellana and would go back tomorrow if we could. It is a beautiful older home on a quiet residential street that is only 2 blocks to the beach and bustling Ashford Avenue, which has shops and restaurants for all tastes and budgets. It is located in Condado, about 3 miles east of old San Juan which is easily accessible by bus, taxi, or, for the hearty, foot. We had thought about renting a car, but are glad that we didn't -- it really wasn't necessary in order to see all that we wanted to see in and around San Juan.

We were in the Granada Room, which, as others have mentioned, has a large, private bathroom that is located across the hall. It is a small but pretty room; the size and fact that the bathroom was across the hall was not an issue for us and is reflected in the room pricing.

A prior reviewer described Natalia as "extremely accomodating" and that could not be more accurate. In addition to providing maps, restaurant and tour recommendations and general advice about the city, Natalia went out of her way to make sure that we were well taken care of the entire trip -- from arranging taxi cabs for us to making a special trip out to provide an early breakfast one morning when we had plans that required an early departure, Natalia can and will do anything to ensure that your stay is enjoyable.

I am baffled by a prior reviewer who felt that Casa Castellana was expensive and that s/he was not getting much for her/his money. In my research, the nearby oceanfront bigger, chain hotels were more expensive and did not offer a full breakfast every morning, not to mention one that is cooked personally for you and consists of homemade jam and delicious local coffee. I also disagree with the suggestion that insects are a problem at Casa Castellana or in Puerto Rico in general, for that matter. The lack of bugs anywhere--including at El Yunque-- was a pleasant and unexpected part of our trip.

Casa Castellana is a true gem. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a fabulous stay in the Cordoba room for 10 days in the end of January. I was traveling for a conference and wanted to bring my family consisting of hubby and 2 girls aged 3.5 and 1yo. Natalia was extremely accommodating and set up a toddler air mattress on the floor of the sitting room and a pack and play for the baby which she borrowed. The room had plenty of space for our little family. Although breakfast was usually served at 9am up in the terrace, Natalia was very accommodating and prepared a continental breakfast for me at 8am on several of my early AM conference days which I ate on the balcony of the Cordoba room. Continental pastries were AWESOME! as were the home made tamarind jam. Breakfasts were very good too. Oh and Nina's chocolate chip and almond butter cookies were to die for! After my conference was over we stayed 4 days to have a vacation. It was a little pricey to eat out for dinner every night so some nights we brought back take out or made microwave mac and cheese for the kids to eat upstairs in the terrace. The location is very convenient, 2 blocks from the Marriott which was on the conference shuttle bus route. I had a minute walk to the Marriott to catch my shuttle and it was a 10 minute shuttle ride to the Puerto Rico Convention Center including stops to other hotels on the way. There are tons of restaurants of various cuisines and prices within easy walking distance form the B and B. We easily could walk to all of Natalia's excellent restaurant recommendations with one Bob stroller gerry rigged to tow 2 kids. Also, the Hotel Hilton Caribe was only a 20 minute walk with kids in tow and had live Peacocks, geese and a turkey on the grounds which the kids enjoyed, as well as the view. The Cordoba room was great. The king bed was comfortable and the adjoining sitting room was roomy enough to accomodate the 2 kids with plenty of play space on the floor. They even equipped the room with a few wooden toys that the girls really enjoyed and some beach pails/shovels that got good use. The roman style bath suite was great and the kids loved having 2 shower heads, as did we. I was very comfortable letting the kids crawl around on the floor in this very nicely appointed suite. We went to Escambron beach and it was just a 10 minute drive from the B and B.

I chose to stay in a B and B because I wanted my family to feel cozy and at home while I was attending my conferences and CC did not disappoint. Natalia and other guests were very helpful at breakfast lending a hand to my husband as he tried to feed toddlers on his own. Our family felt very welcomed and comfortable at CC and it really did feel like a home away from home. This is the kind of hospitality and homey feel that you cannot get at a big hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at this bnb for 3 nights . it was a last minute booking as most hotels were fully booked at this time. Natalia offered us one night in one granada which did not have an attached bathroom ,so that was a bummer.The next 2 nights were in another room, escalona which luckily did have an attached bathroom. They advertise that it has a private terrace but the door to the terrace is thru the bathroom and it has a metal bars across that dissuades u from opening it. On a better note the breakfast was great and Nina her daughter is very helpful.The location is very central and you do get street parking right in front of the house so it helps you save a few bucks.

Room Tip: try and get the bedrooms which have an attached bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greddy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacastellana, Manager at Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for the review and taking the time to write it. We appreciate feed back and feel it only helps to improve our business and future guest experiences. Our apologies for the late response, but we feel that any stay that is less than perfect does warrant a response to help with any concerns from possible guests.
It is unfortunate we could accommodate you in a room with an in suite bathroom for all 3 nights, as the review mentioned it was during the month of February which is busy for all hotels here and last minute reservations cause options to be limited at places like ours. We always inform guests that our Granada Room's bathroom is not connected so there is no misunderstanding. If there are any questions in regards to room selection, then please contact us directly by phone or email before you make your reservation.
The Granada bathroom is across the hall and completely private. Also the hallway it is located in is a very quite hallway with only two other rooms on the floor so you rarely see anyone else if at all.
Good to hear you found the next room more comfortable with the in suite bathroom. In regards to the porch access through the bathroom, we are an old Spanish Villa built in the 1920's. All our rooms are different and that is what gives these homes character. The door is antique wood and we use the bars so we would have had to damage the delicate and beautiful carved wood design on it to add a door knob.
Thanks again for your informative review and for staying with us during your visit to San Juan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I could sit on the rooftop terrace all day long and never leave. This place is exceptional in quality and also gives that "homestay" feeling I always long for while trying to taste the culture in another country. Stay here. And stay in the large suite....it's worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had higher expectations. Natalia is perfectly nice, although she did point out her 5 star TripAdvisor rating quite a few times during our stay; don't tell me, show me what you did to earn it. The breakfast was lovely, and the breakfast area is gorgeous. If only the rest of the house reflected the same artistic styling. A few things to note: The taxes add a significant amount to your total bill, and there are charges that are not initially disclosed. Check-in is 3 PM, breakfast is served at 9, although more like 9:15 when the plate is set in front of you. They haves several pets—for anyone with allergies, this may pose a problem. In our opinion, it was not worth the money. Our balcony room had a door with bars across it, and the gap in the door was significant enough to invite a fair amount of mosquitoes into our room. For a B&B, especially one with such a high price, we expected a little something extra. We left disappointed, and would not recommend this accommodation. There are several other places in the area that are a much better value—for a few more dollars, stay at the Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaydily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have been staying for 2 nights during New Year holidays. The place is cute but miss some details in the room: the toilet was not really confy, the bathroom had a door on a porch closed with two metals bar and not even sealed on the ground from bugs coming from outside. There are no screens at the windows so it was full of mosquitoes in the bedroom and in the breakfast room. Breakfast was nice but it was taking more than an hour to go over it. The owner is nice (but don't follow her suggestion for restaurant and night life), she gave us some discount, however, when our champagne was stolen by other people in the B&B, she did not mention it to us until I asked. This is a bit unfair but I understand it was not her fault but of the "fake" chic people which could not even afford to buy a bottle of wine on new years eve. Overall I think it is a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
casacastellana, Owner at Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Saludos!
Thanks so much for your past stay at Casa Castellana and for taking the time to review us!
Please forgive our tardiness in responding to your review posted in January of 2013.
We are saddened to hear you found the room unsatisfactory in regards to the toilet and an issue with the porch door. As far as I know these issues were never brought my attention nor that of my staffs. Therefor, we could not address them and do whatever we could to make your stay more comfortable.
In regards too mosquitos, we are in the tropics and mosquitos are inevitable. We do not have screens on certain windows because of the style of the windows. Also, breakfast is served in our open air terrace, again a few mosquitos are inevitable and we do all we can to control these flying menaces. This includes fumigating the surrounding area of the house and making sure there is never any standing water-which is breeding grounds for mosquitos. Bug spray, citronella candles, and other mosquito deterrents are always available on all porches and other outside areas.
We are also so very sorry the other "fake chic people" drank your champagne. That was very unfortunate, however if memory serves us correctly they were more than happy to replace the bottle as soon as it was brought to ours and thier attention. They had honestly and simply thought it was part of the "honor bar" system we use to have here. It wasn't stolen, we have never had anything stolen from guests or between guests, sorry that you were mistaken in regards too the circumstances.

Hope the rest of your year has been great and we wish you much happiness in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 48 in San Juan
923 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1218 Luchetti Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish Colonial style home from the 1920’s. Our surroundings are unique, and we offer guidance to our guests. We are available 24/7 to ensure that our guests have a great time while visiting Puerto Rico and discovering its cultural history, hospitable nature, and natural resources. PERFECT FOR A:• romantic getaway, • a family vacation, • for group travelers,• a relaxing visit before and/or after a Caribbean cruise. LOCATION: • Upscale neighborhood of El Condado, on a quiet side street, • walking distance to the:  beach,  night clubs, hotels, casinos,  restaurants,  art and cultural centers.TRANSPORTATION: • Public transportation,• Taxi route,• ten minutes by car to:  Old San Juan,  cruise lines  The airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Castellana Hotel San Juan
Casa Castellana Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing