We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is a great B&B. The owner Natalia was so pleasant. She helped a lot with advise on things to do in the area. The place was really clean and breakfasts were awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    15
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
112
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Cordoba Suite from May 29 - June 5, 2012 for our honeymoon. Our stay was a pleasure and the hosts attentive and extremely friendly. We highly recommend.

We decided to stay here after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor, and as a couple who enjoys being immersed in the culture of a society, we did not want to stay in a resort. After exploring Puerto Rico for the week, our opinion was this B&B reflects the charm of the island. Natalia, Nina, Sonja, and Chris were welcoming, friendly, and hospitable. My wife and I are in our early 30's and we felt very comfortable around them. The house dog, Lili, was well-mannered and a joy to have around. The pickup and drop-off at the airport was wonderful and timely, and not only did it save taxi fare, but it gave us a good idea of what driving in Puerto Rico would be like (it's not like the States folks!).

The Cordoba Suite in person was all that I desired when planning our honeymoon. Booking any room based on pics themselves is always a little nerve-wracking, but they were true to image. Daily room service was great, and the air conditioning was a savior. We enjoyed hearing nature come alive at night; the Coqui frogs are a treat when going to sleep. Our breakfast was wonderful and introduced us to native foods, many of which were bought at the local farmer's market. We were full from each breakfast and saving the money from going out helped. The entire house was clean, bed was comfortable, water was good, and we felt secure.

About the location: The B&B is only three blocks (think Main Street, USA, not Manhattan blocks) from the main drag through Condado, a main beach resort area. Walking to the main area during the day and late evening, we felt safe, but kept aware of our surroundings as any tourist should. The area south of the B&B on the other side of Hwy 26 was uncomfortable during the day and we only would recommend traveling through by taxi at night. This area is unkempt, has graffiti, and razor wire on fences is seen often. Again, THIS B&B IS NOT IN THAT NEIGHBORHOOD, just near it so if you want to walk around, stick to north of the highway. A taxi to Old San Juan was $15; to Isla Grande Airport (if you're going to Culebra or Vieques Islands by air), it was $18. Don't drive a car or walk to Old San Juan. Pay for a taxi because driving in Old San Juan is nuts and it would be a looooong walk. The hosts' recommendation for a taxi, Pedro, was excellent.

All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay here and have no problems recommending this B&B to others. If you want to experience Puerto Rico minus the Stateside big box influences, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our stay will always be remembered with fondness. The decor was beautiful and unique, yet cozy. Our gracious hosts and their staff went above and beyond; even helping my friend find another place to stay last minute because they were booked. Their recommendations were on the money. Every morning I looked forward to the fresh local fruit - some of which I missed from my childhood - and 2 items that were a wonderful discovery for me. We felt safe and pampered and hope to return some day soon. Miriam and Wilfredo

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The place was recommended to me and my friend by another friend and we had a very nice comfortable stay at casa Castellana. The homemade fresh breakfast was delicious Natalia Chris Nina and sonia and all crew were great hosts and helpful and you feel at home. Place is clean and comfortable. And above all they are very good tour guides. Had an amazing experience in Purto Rico and i m glad i got recommendation about this place)))))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you want to have a real Puerto Rican experience and avoid the usual Hotels, this is the perfect place to stay! Not only it has the basics...clean rooms, nice bathrooms etc. but it has the value of the great host Natalia and of her team (Chris and Nina among others)! You will find yourself projected in the life of Puerto Rico right from the start...with a delicious breakfast made of extraordinary local fruits! Natalia will also help you out with figuring out how to make the most of your trip and enjoy the Puerto Rican life! If I go back to Puerto Rico, there's no doubt I will stay with these new wonderful friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcedidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Toledo room for 4 nights recently. Wonderful experience!! Our hosts Natalia and Sonia were so helpful in giving us suggestions on where to eat, where to go out at night, what to do during the day... Homemade breakfasts every morning were amazing and a good way to start the day and discuss plans with Natalia and the other guests.

The room itself was very comfortable. It had all the usual hotel amenities, a cable TV, programmable AC, ceiling fan, etc. The Toledo room had our own private entrance which was convenient when staying out late. It also had a small private outdoor patio, as well as its own parking spot inside the gates, though there was always plenty of street parking nearby to park our rental car.

The location in Condado was great for what we were looking for. It's a couple blocks from a busy stretch on Ashford, where there are plenty of places to eat and drink, as well as a conveniently placed Walgreens. Most importantly, the house is less than a 5-minute walk from the beach!! A really nice beach, at that. Old San Juan was a short drive away, about $10-15 cab ride.

I would recommend staying at Casa Castellana to anybody, in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: The Toledo room has its own private entrance, separate from the main house where the rest of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelsheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wow, words can't express the wonderful experience at Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast. Nina, Natalia, Sonja, Mirium and Chris were absolutely fabulous and so much fun to be with. The rooms were comfortable, the food was fabulous and they were fun to talk with and learn about Puerto Rico. We all felt so at home and absolutley pampered. This is absolutely the place to spend a night or a week if you visit Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.5 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 1218 Luchetti Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CASA CASTELLANA BED AND BREAKFAST INN is a Spanish Colonial style home from the 1920’s. It is also the home of the owners, who welcome their guests. Our five rooms are named after famous Spanish cities and are furnished in different styles. A feeling of warmth and comfort are apparent in every room as are attention to detail and high quality furnishings. Our surroundings are unique, and we offer guidance to our guests. We are available 24/7 to ensure that our guests have a great time while visiting Puerto Rico and discovering its cultural history, hospitable nature, and natural resources. A full breakfast is served on the first floor: it includes a buffet of tropical fruits, cheeses, Spanish sausages, local pastries, followed with fresh orange juice, local gourmet coffee and eggs any style. As one of our guest remarked: "TO EXPERIENCE CASA CASTELLANA IS TO EXPERIENCE SAN JUAN!" We are also an Eco-Friendly Inn. PERFECT FOR A:• romantic getaway, • a family vacation, • for group travelers,• a relaxing visit before and/or after a Caribbean cruise. LOCATION: • Upscale neighborhood of El Condado, on a quiet side street, • walking distance to the:  beach,  night clubs, hotels, casinos,  restaurants,  art and cultural centers.TRANSPORTATION: • Public transportation,• Taxi route,• ten minutes by car to:  Old San Juan,  cruise lines  The airport. SOME OF THE MANY AMENITIES OFFERED: • Free Full Breakfast!• Flat Screen TV and DVD Player• Top of the line QUIET inverter A/C!• Free Parking• Concierge Service• Free Wi-Fi throughout the inn.• Cotton bathrobes,• Egyptian and Turkish cotton towels and bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Castellana Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Castellana Hotel San Juan
Casa Castellana Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing