We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like Birra e Pizza”
Review of Pizza e Birra - CLOSED

Pizza e Birra
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More like Birra e Pizza”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After spending hours wandering the narrow streets of San Juan and spending way too much time in the heat, my friend suggested we grab a cold drink to cool us down. He recommended a little pizza place that was tucked away in a little nook. We walked in and were immediately refreshed as the inside air temperature was about 20 degrees cooler than the outside. Outside seating is available but we chose indoors. Extensive selection of beers and several seasonal options. I went with a pumpkin ale and my buddy chose an IPA. We decided to split a large pizza with pepperoni, tomatoes, and black olives. Wait staff was attentive but not annoying. Pizza arrived with minimal wait time and our waiter brought over some fresh grated parmesan and crushed red pepper flakes. The pizza was cooked to perfection with a thin crust and you could tell the olives and tomatoes were fresh. We finished the entire pizza. Yum-O!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    99
    27
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great change of pace”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect Italian stop. Great pizza and vast selection of beers. Definitely worth a visit. It is kind of tucked away so look carefully when trying to find it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great beer list, great AC!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stumbled into this restaurant during the midday heat of Viejo San Juan, starving and overheated. The place has great air conditioning, free Wifi, and an extensive beer list for when you can't stomach one more Medalla. The BLT paninis we ordered were good and the chips were homemade. The pizzas looked and smelled delicious too. I would certainly recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank basteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Reminds me of the little pizza dives in the continental US”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were staying at the El Convento and ended up here twice during our stay. The service was wonderful and the food, especially the pizza, was awesome. Our last night there we had a pizza with carmelized onions, a non traditional sausage (I can not remember the name of it) and jalopenos. It was fantastic. They have a ton of different beers to choose from and is easily accessible from the street or the hotel.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stop!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Swing by for a break while walking old town, you won't be disappointed! 90 beer selections, a couple were 2/$5 and the pies are great! A/C is nice after walking in the heat all day. Great staff, too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank montylnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza e Birra also viewed

 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing