We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a wonderful experience...”
Review of Jose Enrique

Jose Enrique
Ranked #35 of 1,014 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Description: Located in the Placita de Santurce, the local farmers' market in the heart of San Juan and a very popular Friday night hangout among the locals.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Truly a wonderful experience...”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Visited Jose Enrique with some relatives that live in San Juan & we had one of the most delicious meals that I have ever had! The place is LOCAL, you will have to wait for a table. The food is absolutely unbelievable good & presented well. The service was stellar. Mixed crowd of young, older, business and hip! You will not go wrong here, trust me!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pepper1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    623
    102
    53
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good dishes and friendly waiter”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice food, in a place not easy to find. The menu is on a white board, which moves from table to table when you are ready to order. But it's in Spanish so you need the waiter to come around and explain to you. Our waiter brought us a shot for everyone at the end, and it was called "choclate cake".

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryofChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
162 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“High quality creative country cooking.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

After almost 29 years of marriage to a Puerto Rican and at least as many trips to the island, I was pleasantly surprised at the sophisticated combination of flavors and ingredients at this unpretentious, relaxed restaurant. A no reservation policy forced us to wait 25 minutes, but we were happy to people-watch in the nearby plaza that was teeming with locals out for the evening. From the not-to-be-missed ribs and inventive twist on fresh crab in miniature plantain mofongo shells maximizing abundant local herbs to the Churrasco and Corvina ("wheat fish") served with a light and delicate breadfruit mofongo, we couldn't decide which dish was the best. Even the Avocado side dish, tostones and rice and beans bear special call outs. We tried 3 of the 5 desserts each sporting multiple options, declaring the chocolate trio the winner, closely followed by the flan de cafe served with a light coffee foam sprinkled with crispy espresso beans. (The temblece was the only disappointment of the evening - lacking in both flavor and texture it is to be avoided!). Both red and white sangrias were delicious accompaniments, adding to the enjoyment of the evening. We will definitely be back. Don't miss it. It's worth the wait - if need be.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJMXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yum!!!!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were very surprised by the food we tasted from this very unassuming restaurant. We ordered 2 appies and 3 mains to share: chicharonnes, longaniza, mahi-mahi, sword fish, and another fish dish They were all AMAZING. The coconut mojito was also great. The money spent was all worth it. TIPS: They are closed Sundays and Mondays. We did not have problems getting a table for lunch on a Tuesday. The restaurant does not have a signage just look for the yellow house behind the market.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank metito4s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our first dining out experience in Puerto Rico followed by Marmalade and then Santaella the next two nights. As everyone has said, reservations definitely help. We were there on a Wednesday evening in a rain storm and there was still a 30 minute wait. It was well worth it though. The drinks were great but as we dined out more and more in PR, we noticed that pretty much every great restaurant has their own great drink menu. They all have their own version of a mojito and various other drinks. I'm not complaining about that, just more letting you know that you can find amazing cocktails at many of the top restaurants mentioned in these reviews. The appetizers here were some of the best we've ever had. The entrees were excellent and as other have mentioned, the coffee flan dessert was probably the best dessert we had in Puerto Rico. The service was very good. Overall, an excellent dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocRobert2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Enrique also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Jose Enrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing