We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jose Enrique

Jose Enrique
Ranked #38 of 991 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the Placita de Santurce, the local farmers' market in the heart of San Juan and a very popular Friday night hangout among the locals.
Monticello, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star experience”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Gordon Ramsey would be proud to visit this establishment! Super service, great menu translation, food is unique. Six people shared sword fish, mahi mahi, and tile fish. The appetizers were also very unique!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hdpdap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    98
    52
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
444 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“2.5 hour wait was worth every bite!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The wait was longer than I've experienced in the past but the food was outstanding. Our waitress was very knowledgable and on the spot. Fish bites appetizer is highly recommended. I had churrasco with rice and beans (yum!) and finished off with a coconut mousse - more like a pudding in mind. It was so fantastic I could have licked the platter. Don't let th wait scare you off...in my opinion this is the best restaurant in San Juan.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fun on a plate...”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great, fun, unpretentious, and maybe a little raucous restaurant that respects its local roots and cuisine and takes them to the next level, beyond homing cooking to well trained, inventive, whimsical and flavorful. Second visit, a year apart, special both times, does not fail to deliver a lively menu in a fun way. There are boatloads of cruise ships unloading diners looking for the abundant number of stupid places in San Juan, which are not hard to identify in the reviews. You want something authentic but brought into the new age of cooking? That's this place. Shhh--don't tell the cruise ship people. Oh, and put up with the wait to get in. Think of it as a device to weed out the Ruth's Chris crowd.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talkcineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville Al
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Restaurant - Best in Puerto Rico”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Jose Enrique is absolutely tremendous. When you step in to what appears to be a non-descript yellow house, you are transported to Manhattan. The interior is extremely elegant with very well-dressed business people, but we sat outside on the lovely patio and were comfortable in shorts. As with our first visit two years ago, almost immediately the other folks on the patio engaged us in great conversation about the restaurant, Puerto Rico, etc, and then we ordered a great meal. We had the Mahi-nuggets for an appetizer, and I had the whole fish (conifubbia, or something like that), and my wife had the salmon salad all of which were superb. You have to go to Joes Enrique!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreeceStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious worth waiting for”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hard-to-find restaurant (in an old home and without a sign) serves the best authentic Puerto Rican food in San Juan. Order a little bit of everything and share; you'll want to taste it all. Their homemade Sangria is out of this world.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camdou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose Enrique also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Jose Enrique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing