We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee - skip the food unless you are very hungry.”
Review of Caficultura

Caficultura
Ranked #2 of 27 Coffee & Tea in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Cafe, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great coffee - skip the food unless you are very hungry.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

In the week I was in San Juan, I must have been at this place 5 or 6 times. Most of the time it was just for coffee, but I also had breakfast once and lunch once. The food was ok, nothing great. The coffee is amazingly good, though. My boyfriend and I were once the first customers in there one morning and we were worried that our cortados would not be up to their usual standard, but the well-trained baristas made sure the machine was properly primed. The coffee art is very cute, too.

The cafe is airy and pleasant inside, with a comfortable mix of booths and tables. Outside looks lice, but there's too much exhaust from the cars.

Service is a little slow, but nothing unusual. It was really annoying to sometimes have the "Suggested tip is ..." circled on our bill, especially since we always tip. Maybe the cruise ship passengers don't normally tip, or the waitress was wary about my boyfriend's accent, but we got the German-tourist-in-New-York treatment at least two of the times we were there,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yabanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    177
    55
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Great cafe restaurant!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great restaurant, service, food and of course ...Coffee!
Also try the plantain breaded chicken...awesome!
And the french toast...got to try it!!!
;-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marislopez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
350 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Artsy tasty coffee”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Baristas designed mocha on the foam! Strong coffee to get you through all of that walking around old San Juan.
Get the brownie with chocolate ice cream! Ours came out right from the oven! Yum!
Walnut cookie was another nomnomnom !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLAbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Everything from their freshly squeezed orange juice, cafe latte's, spinach goat cheese omelets are amazing. During busy times food may take up to 30 min, get there early if you can! Worth the wait anyway!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great place to crash after exploring in the heat!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a really attractive place near the San Cristobal fort. I had an iced coconut coffee and hubby had an affogato -- both fantastic. It was a great place to flop down, cool off in the a/c and get a much-needed caffeine pick-me-up. The only reason I deducted one star is because, even by PR standards, the service was REALLY slow and leisurely -- though our waiter was friendly. Definitely don't come here if starving or in a hurry!
We didn't have a chance to try the other coffee places like 4 Sombras or Cola'o, so can't compare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffsdate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caficultura also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Caficultura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing