We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“dynamite”
other travelers have booked this property
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house. Casita courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house.
Casita courtyard.
View from the kitchen looking to the bedroom.
Kitchen is open from the courtyard. New cabinets give you lots more space!
Newly renovated kitchen with plenty of cabinet & counter space - designed for longer stays.
The French doors to the exhibition space are permanently closed so you have privacy.
Casita bedroom - large TV with cable, WiFi and computer stand.
Bedroom with king bed showing door open with view to courtyard and kitchen.
Windows have screens if you prefer open air sleeping.
Bedroom with king bed showing door closed.
Bedroom with bathroom door under the air conditioner and backup airco just in case...
Closet has robes (on request) iron/board, luggage rack and skirt hangers.
Casita bathroom. We have a hair dryer, so no need to pack yours.
Casita bathroom with shower, no bathtub.
Your courtyard is semi-covered so it does get wet in the rain.
Casa Museo de los Santos: Historic house with 3 one-bedroom rental suites, museum & art gallery.
Front door has bulletin board with upcoming events.
Lobby has 24/7 coffee/tea available. Extra linen and emergency supplies if you forget something.
Entry lobby shared by all three suites, museum and art gallery.
Quarters for the bus to Old San Juan are in the box under the mirror if you need to make change.
Reception and office is located in our private museum of folk art.
Antique tiles in the lobby.
Antique floors are original 1915 artisan tiles - hand poured cement that look new after 100 years!
Join us for a glass of wine and museum tour with the curator during your stay.
Lobby leads to Ellie Pruess Gallery under the traditional Carnival Mask.
Art Gallery located next to main lobby.
The antique blue horse points toward the garden passage to the 'Casita Suite' at the back of house.
Passage from the casita to the front of the house.
The gazebo roof opens at one end for lots of light and air.
Inspired by a local fishing boat - the gazebo roof adds lots of character and shade.
Casita - View from the courtyard to the font of the passageway.
Parking is available on the street in front of the house.
Our next door neighbors are the indie rock group Fantasmes - live upstairs/studio downstairs.
Fantasmes - its like having your own 'house band' - they normally don't practice past 10pm.
On the corner, is Abracadabra arts café - hipster coffee house, restaurant, jazz on Friday & more!
Abracadabra: theater, magic, circus arts, film festivals, jazz & famous weekend Magical Brunch!
Film crew in front of house during filming of Banco Popular commercial.
The museum set up for filming to promote Puerto Rican culture.
Kitchen with lots of work space.
Kitchen
Kitchen.
Kitchen is 2 stops down from the courtyard.
Kitchen.
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JimfromHo...
Duh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dynamite”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

first class
Stay here
The place was wonderful and Richard was a king
Class all the way
I went looking to explore parts of SJ I never saw before and I did SJ, I will be back,
Gracias Richard su amigo
Jim

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeaniggy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Cozy 1 bedroom casita hidden in the heart of Santurce PR. the place is clean, comfortable and well equipped with basically everything you can possibly need. Richard made us feel welcomed and allowed us to check in early. He informed us of the area, took us on a tour of the town and let us know of all the events taking place as well as hints on where to eat. I recommend the casita to anyone looking for a nice , cozy place that has its own character and stye. Not your typical apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JibaroTra...
Livingston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed on the first floor Casita. The building has two other rentals, a Museum and a business office.

Richard is a very considerate and gracious host. The apt. was furnished and equipped to make our stay very comfortable. His knowledge and insight of the area made our visit truly great.

We were here for a week and got to visit museums and travel spots. Everything is within walking distance or bus ride. We even took the Train Urbano. Santurce is close to everything in San Juan. The neiborhood is safe and fun to explore.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
264pat
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“1st Floor Castia was a fun place to stay!”
Reviewed January 7, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My husband and I have stayed in unique vacation rentals in Europe and Costa Rica. Our accomdations at Castia was the coolest. Our living area was an open air/covered patio with an outdoor kitchen. You slide open two huge wood doors to the sleeping room and find a comfy king size bed with a big flat screen. The well equipped bathroom is right off the bedroom.
You can see the neighborhood suffered from the 2008 real estate recession, but it is on the way back. No problem with crime and taking the bus into Puerto Rico was a breeze. You can walk to the beach. It's about a half mile. Lots of good local restaurants along the way. Food store about 3 blocks away.

Richard is an amazing host. We plan on coming back to Puerto Rico next Christmas to catch a cruise. We will be staying with our new friend, Richard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The unique accomdations.
Liked least: We didn't mind, but if you are not used to an urban environment you may want to pick a different location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyKrist...
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place for a unique and independent experience”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

The Casita was outstanding! The accommodations were exactly as described: a great little kitchen, comfortable and cool bedroom, and a 3/4 bath. The building was secure and easy to find. This property is located in an emerging neighborhood in SJ. We loved the easy access to the bus route, the eclectic public art, and the diversity of restaurant choices. Richard was an outstanding host. He's thought of everything you might need from bug spray to beach towels. Richard was also generous with his time and expertise, giving us great advice and a tour when we arrived. I definitely would recommend this property to anyone who would prefer to get a more authentic, less touristy experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jingyi S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience in San Juan”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The property is clean and has all the things we want. We lived at the 1st floor and it has a small kitchen in it. The equipments provided in the kitchen is more than enough for us. Richard even provide sun scream and first aid for us to use at the front door. We can see many details have been taken care of. Overall, a really good experience in San Juan and I would definitely recommend my friends to live here when they come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MomandDad...
Peterborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to call home during our Puerto Rico vacation”
Reviewed March 7, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

In a half hour tour of the neighborhood, Richard empowered us to enjoy San Juan like we lived there. He showed us the noteworthy restaurants in Santurce, how to use the bus, which way to go to get the beach and Old Town, the closest supermarket, the car rental in the neighborhood, everything we needed plus a load more info. The location of the rental meant that we walked and walked and walked during our visit, but we had some incredible meals and were so far from the beaten track that I kept asking my husband why no tourists came to PR. (When we arrived at the taxi line outside the SJ airport, the taxi driver wasn't familiar with Santurce and asked if WE had a map!)

Our part of the building (the Casita) included our bedroom, bathroom and kitchen and was certainly all we needed. RIchard does a really nice job providing the essentials (coffee, sunscreen, towels) that weren't practical to bring. The place is very secure with multiple locks/gates, but in a funny contrast is also open air, which was nice for us because we wanted every bit of tropical air we could get. Overall, it wasn't cookie-cutter or luxurious but it was comfortable, memorable, and we had a blast.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Getting to know a non-touristy part of a Puerto Rican city
Liked least: House band at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing