We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended 'taste of local life' in...”
other travelers have booked this property
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house. Casita courtyard.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
The sliding door to your bedroom.
Passage from the entry hall to the casita's courtyard gate - at rear of house.
Casita courtyard.
View from the kitchen looking to the bedroom.
Kitchen is open from the courtyard. New cabinets give you lots more space!
Newly renovated kitchen with plenty of cabinet & counter space - designed for longer stays.
The French doors to the exhibition space are permanently closed so you have privacy.
Casita bedroom - large TV with cable, WiFi and computer stand.
Bedroom with king bed showing door open with view to courtyard and kitchen.
Windows have screens if you prefer open air sleeping.
Bedroom with king bed showing door closed.
Bedroom with bathroom door under the air conditioner and backup airco just in case...
Closet has robes (on request) iron/board, luggage rack and skirt hangers.
Casita bathroom. We have a hair dryer, so no need to pack yours.
Casita bathroom with shower, no bathtub.
Your courtyard is semi-covered so it does get wet in the rain.
Casa Museo de los Santos: Historic house with 3 one-bedroom rental suites, museum & art gallery.
Front door has bulletin board with upcoming events.
Lobby has 24/7 coffee/tea available. Extra linen and emergency supplies if you forget something.
Entry lobby shared by all three suites, museum and art gallery.
Quarters for the bus to Old San Juan are in the box under the mirror if you need to make change.
Reception and office is located in our private museum of folk art.
Antique tiles in the lobby.
Antique floors are original 1915 artisan tiles - hand poured cement that look new after 100 years!
Join us for a glass of wine and museum tour with the curator during your stay.
Lobby leads to Ellie Pruess Gallery under the traditional Carnival Mask.
Art Gallery located next to main lobby.
The antique blue horse points toward the garden passage to the 'Casita Suite' at the back of house.
Passage from the casita to the front of the house.
The gazebo roof opens at one end for lots of light and air.
Inspired by a local fishing boat - the gazebo roof adds lots of character and shade.
Casita - View from the courtyard to the font of the passageway.
Parking is available on the street in front of the house.
Our next door neighbors are the indie rock group Fantasmes - live upstairs/studio downstairs.
Fantasmes - its like having your own 'house band' - they normally don't practice past 10pm.
On the corner, is Abracadabra arts café - hipster coffee house, restaurant, jazz on Friday & more!
Abracadabra: theater, magic, circus arts, film festivals, jazz & famous weekend Magical Brunch!
Film crew in front of house during filming of Banco Popular commercial.
The museum set up for filming to promote Puerto Rican culture.
Kitchen with lots of work space.
Kitchen
Kitchen.
Kitchen is 2 stops down from the courtyard.
Kitchen.
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
wiscgrand...
LaCrosse, WI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly recommended 'taste of local life' in arts/cultural district!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This was easily the best experience I have ever had traveling. Richard, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful-present always in the daytime and always a phone call away otherwise. He thinks of EVERYTHING from giving you a walking tour of the area, how to cach the local bus system (50 cents), provides all the comforts of home and more!! Very comfortable house decorated with fantastic furniture and art/folk pieces. House is restored to it's original condition and has beautiful tiles, stained glass, wrought iron. For less than a price of a hotel room we had two stories (duplex for two couples) of the home with full kitchen, dining area, patios, terrace, fountain, etc. The airflow through the house was fantastic-the design keeps it cool and comfortable so we never used the AC. We used the full kitchen to cook at least a meal a day and store grocery items. Grocery store right around the corner with good prices. Market with fresh fruits/vegs within 15 minute walk. Very well secured/safe. Richard has thought of any possible need of his guests and goes out of his way to help in any way he can. Just an excellent experience. Thanks Richard!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, getting a taste of local life, excellent host
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
born2succ...
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Quaint, Charming, Close to transportation, markets & restaurants”
Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Casita del Coqui was a very charming, clean and extremely well maintained and run by Richard Holm. We rented the Duplex Apartment which gave us the Guest Suite on the 2nd floor and the Penthouse Suite for 2 adult couples. It was very conveniet with parking in front (we rented a car) and was close to buses, a food market and restaurants. Richard was extremely easy to work with and very helpful with his guidance and suggestions. The kitchen was a full kitchen which allowed us to cook our meals. Located in the Arts & Cultural District, the Casita was an easy taxi drive from the airport or from the Cruise Terminal. Very centrally located for exploring all of Puerto Rico!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the Casita
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judybusy
Minneapolis
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique place in San Juan”
Reviewed January 27, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Richard, the owner, makes this rental very special. From upgrading us to the penthouse, meeting us at midnight after a long flight delay, to being available to give great advice on SJ, he was delightful.

I'll confirm the other positive reviews: The place itself is beautiful and well-kept. Happily, the reality was even better than the pictures. The penthouse is very comfortable to relax in, a great boon in a busy city such as SJ. There is a large walk-in closet to store your things, and the bedroom can be made very dark by drawing the curtains. We were lucky enough one day to get a viewing of the private, in-house santos museum run by a friend of Richard's, Billy. If you have the opportunity, do it. The history of the icons, as well as Billy's, is fascinating.

We will say that you must be OK in an urban environment to rent this place. We (a lesbian couple) felt safe even at night, but if homeless people, some empty buildings and grafitti make you uncomfortable, it may not be the place for you. We loved the neighborhood, though--we didn't take full advatage of it, which is why we are already planning to return in 2013. There is no question we'll rent the penthouse again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Richard's warm welcome at midnight--with wine , cheese and crackers!
Liked least: Not being able to keep doors open in early morning due to some street noise
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tabiko201...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2012 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I truly enjoyed my stay at this place in April 2011. The place is very clean & homy and centrally located -- close to a museum, market, grocery store, good restaurants, beach, and good access to public transportation (buses). Richard was very nice and helpful. When I arrived, he showed the neighbourhood, where to catch a bus, good restaurants and place to go, which street to take, etc.
I felt so relaxed and refreshed after this vacation. This is one of the best vacations! Thank you, Richard!!

I highly recommend this place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewed December 21, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yvonne812
New Berlin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was like a home away from home”
Reviewed December 2, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and I enjoyed staying at the Casita del Coqui. We liked the fact that we were able to cook some of our meals at the casita, and also walk to some neighborhood restaurants. There was a grocery store close by. We also liked the fact that the Casita was away from the typical tourist area, so we were able to experience more of the culture. Also, Richard Holm was a great host as he was available to answer any questions about the area. I would love to return with my husband in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to cook some meals, easy access to transportation
Liked least: Parts of the neighborhood were not very clean..
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Reviewed November 22, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing