We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a Great Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AireNumo - CLOSED

AireNumo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Native Puertorican Cuisine, Family friendly, children's & vegetarian menu. Enjoy Art Gallery, Bar Lounge and on weekends musical entertainment
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a Great Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We agree with those people who liked this restaurant. We were extremely pleased with both the service and the food. A word of warning: unless you are very hungry a single paella is enough for 2 people. Couple that with a shared salad and you will have an excellent meal at a reasonable price.

The only disappointment was the pineapple pie dessert which did not taste homemade and the background music which was 60-70s pop music. It would have been nice to have Spanish music to accompany the meal.

We would return when we wanted a good paella again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    38
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somers, New York
1 review
“Great for vegetarian, gluten free! Good service, very accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went to this restaurant in the afternoon, right when it opened, and were welcomed kindly. We were having a hard time finding vegetarian AND gluten free in old Puerto Rico, but fortunately we found this restaurant! Although here is no gluten free certification, they were very well informed and made us a "special" salad, vegetable mofongo (so good!), some vegetables, sides, etc. The owner had discussed our meal lengthily with the chef, making sure that it was okay for us. Although it was a little slow, the food was worth the wait (and note:the restaurant filled up fast!). Great food, great service!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AradnaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
328 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Good-looking place at the north end of San Juan serving a blend of Spanish and Puerto Rican dishes. Service was friendly but exceedingly slow and seemed haphazard ("we have enough lemons to make exactly one lemonade.."). But when the food came, it compensated for the wait. Paella (there are 25 choices) was really good and a generous portion, mofongo came with a very flavorful sauce, desserts were good and well-presented. Bathrooms need updating. Family-friendly. Prices were reasonable given the location but definitely not cheap.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

If only this place had reasonable prices for drinks, I would have given it a four. If I had stayed long enough to have dinner, maybe a five. I couldn't get past the appetizers. At this point, our small party of four, had just 6 drinks or beer and were already at $50.00. Two appetizers added another $20.00. A glass of 12 year old scotch on the rocks was $10.00, and I don't think it was even a full shot. What is this? Spain? For $10.00 I would have expected at least a half glass full of Scotch, not half a shot.

This is a shame because AireNumo is in a privileged section of Old San Juan. At the top of Plaza de la Barandilla just off San Francisco. I'm sure dinner would have been great just by the smells alone. But I'm in the habit of when trying a new place, to try the bar first for drinks and appetizers. See how that goes, then close the tab, and then ask for a table. Sorry, but $70.00 for 2 appetizers and 6 drinks, one of which was just a beer? No thanks.

There are other places in Old San Juan where you can get a good stiff drink for $6.50 or less, which invites you to stay and try more stuff. If AireNumo had better drink prices, I bet it would be much more popular. Maybe the owners don't want to cater to the drinking crowd, and that's fine. If you're not a drinker, give this place a shot. If you're like me who like to enjoy a great meal with good drinks, keep going.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AoSPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Food was really good tapas were full of flavor, great place, perfect location nice part of old san juan. Good prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lfmz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AireNumo also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing