We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panaderia Espana Reposteria

Panaderia Espana Reposteria
Ranked #11 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since our beginning in 1972 we strived to provide the best products to our new clients as well as to those that visit us on a regular basis. Even those travelers that during their brief stay in Puerto Rico, step out of the airport and visit us just to have a taste of the wonderfull things that they have heard of “La España”. Our menu is one that holds and respects an enormous tradition. From our daily baked bread to our coffee served hot every time. From our sandwiches made with the best products to that pastry that melts in your mouth. From that exquisite seafood paella, to that our very traditional galician soup. Many recepies come from past genetations and others we have given a personal twist, this way offering a unique product to those that enjoy our delicious variety. Our passion for quality is what drives us. We are in a constant lookout for better ingredients and products so we can always guarantee our best to every customer.
Guayama,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Sandwiches are good but the prices are highly expensive.Service is fast and the place is clean.Employees are not friendly and the owners on the back of the counters never smile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritín D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    88
    23
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isla Verde, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Way to expensive for the food they serve”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you want a great breakfast look for Abracadabra on Ponce de Leon Ave. This is a Spanish reposteria that have been there for ages and the only thing thats been upgraded is their prices. Bread its not good at all compared with what you can get elsewhere and pastries are old.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

First, if you're looking for a fancy place with a lot of fluent English speakers, this place isn't for you. But if you're looking for authentic food and a place frequented by locals --- this is a hands-down home run.This restaurant has it all: a small deli with serrano and iberico ham (yes, it's very expensive). A tremendous bakery that has cheese cake, bread pudding, flan, fresh bread; a small hot food station that had, when I was there, paella; and sandwich after sandwich. I was in a group of six and we tasted the mallorca con queso (a sinful sweet bread grilled crisp stuffed with white cheese); a cuban sandwich (ham, cheese, pernil, mustard, pickle on crunchy grilled bread); two empanadas (meat pies); and cafe con leche (the traditional coffee with hot milk). They also have a fairly full bar and sell wine by the bottle --- we had a tremendous bottle of Rioja for $19. I've spent a lot of time on the Island --- my father is a native --- and I've eaten at a lot of places. For the value and quality, this is among the best. Beware: If you're rushed, you'll be disappointed. It took more than 20 minutes for me to get our order, since there were so many others ahead of us. Keep that in mind. It's also a short (5-7 minute, $12) cab ride from the airport, so if you have a layover, this is the place to stop and get stuffed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayInOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Panaderia Espana is a great place for breakfast and lunch. Their Cuban sandwiches and Spanish pastries are awesome. Also, if you like good coffee, they make the best.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenaro45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My furst time here.It was recommended by a Person who i am purchasing a house.He lived here for 10 years and said it was excellent.You will not be disappointed.the food incredible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blakes8542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panaderia Espana Reposteria also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Panaderia Espana Reposteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing