We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience at a Hilton, DO NOT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Where to begin - When my pregnant wife and I arrived, we went to the outdoor pool restaurant for a late lunch. There were approximately 8 people at the restaurant. The first sign we should have left was when the waitress said it would take 45-60 minutes to get any warm food. We decided to stay, and received two medium warm burgers that were okay. That night in our room at around 11:15 we heard a ladies shriek, we thought someone was being attacked so we called hotel security. 45 minutes later, no one had responded still. At this point we had realized it was a no kidding party next door. I flagged down a security officer, and he knocked on the door and asked them to keep it down. At 12:30 PM the noise was still extremely loud, and we were advised that the guests next door pay for the room and "can do what they want". At this point the manager moved us to another room to sleep in for the night. The next morning we had to switch to a third room. In the third room the fire alarm kept going off, when we called downstairs they said it was "just a test". We received a call when the "test" was over. The next morning we woke up to the fire alarm was going off again, we called downstairs because it was 7 AM and they said they were testing it again. When I asked the manager, she said she was unaware of a test in the building. I asked her what she would do in a fire alarm, and she claimed she would not know what to do in a fire alarm because she had never been in one. That's comforting... Overall the staff is just flat out lazy and act as though everyone is an inconvenience to them. This was the worst stay I've ever had. What I will say is if you call and complain to Hilton Guest Assistance they do facilitate a partial refund on your room. I would suggest to everyone to take advantage of this, because it's the only way they will fix these issues. Until then DON'T STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ankur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations during your stay. We do strive to deliver excellent service.

We are always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 777 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is a good hotel for the price. The wait staff is very polite and helpful. The hotel gave me the feeling that at one time this was a very quality property. However, although still nice it appears to have seen it's better days. If money is a concern and you are looking for the best value for the price I would recommend this property. Since money is a concerning for me I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property. Your comments help us improve our product and service and better understand the needs of our guests. I will share your comments with our staff and see how we can better our product.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

After dealing with a difficult front desk person, I ended up having a great time with the rest of the staff and a great experience at the hotel. This hotel has so much to offer, wish I could of stayed longer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Raina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for staying at the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton while visiting beautiful Puerto Rico

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while at our property and we are delighted to read your stay was a pleasant one. Apologies for the desk service. Your comments help us improve our product and service and better understand the needs of our guests.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here for only one night pre-cruise, having already tried Sheraton and Hampton Inn as our booked hotel, Cervantes, was closed down when we arrived. Like Goldilocks, our 3rd choice was 'just right' and wish we'd been able to stay longer. The resort is beautifully maintained, with a lovely beach frontage including water slides and play area for kids, and big kids! Staff are unfailing helpful; usual reliable hilton level of service. Choice of restsurants which are not cheap but then this is true of many in San Juan. Free wi-fi for 24 hours, sea view villa rooms large and comfortable, altho to be fair the seaview was side on rather than fully facing. But the view straight ahead was the lagoon, which was just as good. The surrounding area not too good as not many shops or other restaurants but there is plenty to do on site and cabs waiting for trips into old san juan. And the best bit was the huge koi pond, swans, ducklings and turkeys! Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we are delighted to know your stay was a pleasant one.

We thank you again for staying with us and would be thankful to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beach was great, but hotel was not. The restaurants were overpriced and food quality was not great. The lobby bar was also overpriced. The New Year's celebration party was incredibly overpriced - the bar selection (which was included in the price) was extremely limited and there wasn't even any food unless you paid extra! I woill not make that mistake again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

Your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Room 7627 in Lagoon Villas....you're going to love this room if you love airplanes since it is on the flight path of a small airport. Also, industrial air conditioning that never goes away..so no island breezes. Sorry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. Your comments are important to us and I will share with the management staff in the hopes of looking for better alternatives.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here many times and loved it. This year was a disappointment. The hotel looked tired, the service from the pool restaurant was rude, and our kitchen in the suite had bugs!!! The beach is a great place for small children and most of the staff at the beach was very helpful, but a few were rude there as well! The staff needs to be retrained..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGMarcano, Manager at Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations and I will share your comments with our staff.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 48 in San Juan
4,935 reviews
0 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
7,214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#11 of 48 in San Juan
906 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
859 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: $227 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful and set aside, the Condado Lagoon Villas are close to all the Caribe Hilton resort amenities and can enjoy the flexibility of our villa accommodations, each divisible into three separate units or combined into spacious suites, perfect for families or groups. Guests at the Condado Lagoon Villas can also enjoy the convenience of a separate check-in exclusively for Villas guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condado Lagoon Villas At Caribe Hilton Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing